We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cinnamon Buns drew me in” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 33 Mile Road House

33 Mile Road House
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Haines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Buns drew me in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had read that their cinnamon/sticky buns were supposed to be amazing. They were fresh, they were big, we inhaled them it seemed, but I wouldn't say they were the best I'd ever had. We did try both the plain and pecan buns, and they were equally good... just not great. Maybe if they'd been heated a bit.
The restaurant is located in a place to get traffic - that's the only place to stop in miles. Found the owner friendly but somewhat overworked.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianJane1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The best pies and tarts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a super lunch here recently... with ample, hearty, filling 'road food'... and also some of the BEST strawberry-rhubarb pie and home-made cherry tarts we've ever had. Ever! Scrumptious... and definitely worth the trip to this interesting place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Burgers Anywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stopped here because 33 Mile Road House was highly recommended, and we weren't disappointed. We had the best burgers we'd ever eaten. The special sauce really makes it. The burgers are not prefrozen patties; they're fresh and delicious. The pie was great too. We would have stopped on our return trip from the Yukon to Haines (it was that good), but they were closed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaTravelLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Want a Burger? I do!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I grew up eating burgers here on special occasions, and it is darn good, finger lickin', good stuff. I haven't been here in years, but I have crazy dreams of their salty fries, toasted buns, mouth watering grilled beef patties, and a rootbeer float on the side. If you are in the area, stop by this awesome log cabin restaurant, and taste a piece of history. You can fill up on their expensive gas too, it might be the last gas for a hundred miles if you head through Canada.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haines, alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quality dropping with new ownership”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Granted their burgers are good, buns are smaller and tend to fall apart very easily.......salads are larger than before.....avoid the french fries !......greasy and droopy.......We often drove 33 miles for dinner, but after returning twice this summer with visitors who remembered eating there in the past, we will not be returning unless we happen to be out that way and are extraordinarily hungry.......one of our guests ordered pie and said there was no sugar in the pie at all.......service seems hurried and maybe the baker was hurried while baking that morning, as well......
There are a nice addition of specialty sandwiches each day......I had ordered a spicy south of the border chicken sandwich with avocado, cheese and bacon, only to have it dripping with sweet pickle relish as well......yuck, just did not go together......in fact if you are not a fan of sweet pickle relish, be sure to ask them to hold it, because they put it on everything !!!!!.......
Also be sure to ask for napkins......the burgers are very messy and you will only be given one napkin......I guess it is an attempt to save money, but they have taken the napkin dispensers off the tables........????

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mombear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 33 Mile Road House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing