We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
16
40
35
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
40
35
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedcar rentalnice ladycoffee barterrific viewfree internetguest laundryin towngreat roomcruise shipstayed two nightsbed was comfortableavisdowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 124 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here 6-21-12.The room was clean and we had a deck with this Wonderful view. We were there two nights. The staff were very helpful.I would stay there again.Betty and Lynn Smith from West Tn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 56Betty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location and staff that really makes you feel welcome. The view is phenomenal. Freshly brewed coffee in the Lobby is most appreciated on a freezing October afternoon. Coming from Anchorage to catch the Ferry to Bellingham the next day, this is the place to stay in Haines, Alaska. It is a bit spendy, but worth it
Check out is @ 11 am (as in most places) but we were welcome to hang out until early evening
Lobby is inviting, so is the little bar. We stayed there on a Football Monday and got to watch a game in the bar where they offered free snacks (crackers,cheeses,cold cuts, dip)

This is a place where locals hang out as well and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and the opportunity to chat and to share stories.

Thank you

Room Tip: Corner Room facing the canal is our favourite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AkTourguiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we changed plans to stay over in Haines so we could go to the Kroschel Films Wildlife Center (see tip on that), we also changed car rental and our hotel. Captain’s Choice offered a shuttle to/from the ferry, so that made a good option, and their cars are unlimited mileage – important when sightseeing and we were doing the Golden Circle Route from Haines-Haines Junction-Whitehorse-Skagway and back to Haines via the ferry. The e-mail responses that I received were friendly and prompt, and totally helpful. We were given, as promised, rooms on the top floor off the balcony with gorgeous views out over the water. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities that we needed. No free wifi, but there was a package available which was usable in other communities. The breakfast was self-serve, wonderful raisin toast, and cereals, tea & coffee. As we arrived in the morning, our rooms weren’t ready, but we were allowed to leave our bags in the lobby until we returned, around noon. The motel is walking distance to the shopping, and easy to drive out to the Salmon Run, or up the Haines Highway. I would have no problem recommending the Captain’s Choice to anyone. There were comments about it being dated, but we both felt that the décor was part of the charm and character. If we wanted modern, we’d have stayed down in the Lower 48 and Canada!!!
We were very pleased with the car, a Subaru Forester, good for the 2 of us, our gear, and the 3 days travelling we did. Very importantly, it was, as mentioned, unlimited mileage, and it was good having the shuttle to pick us up at the ferry dock and then to take us back when we returned the car. Cannot reiterate enough how helpful and friendly the staff were at Captain's Choice.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room - lovely view, and main floor made getting luggage in and out easy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CanadianJane1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Perfectly/centrally located, walk to anywhere in town. Helpful, friendly staff... courtesy shuttle to and from the ferry... in-room fridge, microwave... nice deep bath tub with piping hot water, luxurious towels, great bed pillows, good mattresses (although the bed frames themselves were kind of creaky-sounding)... guest laundry facilities... and quick-and-easy car rentals right on the premises. Roomy basic accommodations with plenty of space for our considerable gear. Perfect for our needs, all the way around!

Room Tip: Annex rooms have nice views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My cousin and I recently visited Haines as a stop on our Alaskan cruise. While there, we didn't want to pay for any of the excursions organized by the cruise ship. We asked a few Haines residents where they would go if they had a free day in their town, and they all agreed that Chilkoot lake was the place to go. So, we walked up to the Captain's Choice Motel (only about 1/2 a mile from the cruise ship dock) and rented two mopeds to take us on the 10-mile trip to Chilkoot.

Captains Choice provided helmets, and all equipment was clean and in great condition. The service was very friendly.

The trip to Chilkoot lake, as promised, was wonderful! A 10-mile ride (most of it along a very wide bike lane on the side of the highway) along the coastline with mind-blowing views brought us to the glassy, secluded lake surrounded by rocky peaks. A river running from the lake down to the Inside Passage was full of the summer's last salmon traveling upstream to spawn. The salmon attracted several bald eagles, and even a grizzly bear! (Seeing the bear was a awesome experience, but visitors to Chilkoot should always be very bear-wise.)

Thanks, Captain's Choice, for helping us have a wonderful day in Haines!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Crowned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews