We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay in wonderful Haines.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain's Choice Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines
oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in wonderful Haines.”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Nice place, nice location. The view is wonderful. Making the reservation was pleasant and they offered us a nice room with a great view and deck. It is great that they serve a continental breakfast. We rented a car from the hotel which was about $75/day for a decent but worn vehicle. But the process of renting the car was smooth and we were glad to be able to do it. Also, we arrived at the Haines airport and called for the "courtesy shuttle" only to find that there wasn't one that day so we had to wait for a cab....the only cab in town that charged us $20 a person for about a five mile drive. The driver was gruff and said he had just picked up beer and the liquor store (that's comforting)....when we got to the Captain's Choice we realized there was an ongoing issue with the cab service because he is the only cab in town and rips everyone off. The clerk paid me for 1/2 the cab fare, but I had asked for the second 1/2 since they had promised me the shuttle. But don't let this stop you from staying at the Captain's Choice though....it is a nice place.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank janinairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
22
35
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Captain's Choice has a great view of the bay and mountains, a nice deck complete with ravens who'd like a treat, and rooms that are clean and neat. Room decor is dated but that's part of the 'charm' of Alaska -- no big chain motels. Decent breakfast included with plenty of muffins, some yummy locally made raisin bread, juices and coffee. They have rental vehicles on site and across the street is the Bamboo Room, known for good food. WIthin walking distance of the small downtown area and welcome center.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katzundeberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2006

For the area this motel is worth every penny, compared to the others. Believe us, we saw two other motels and they were extremely sad compared to this one. It has wireless access and its a pet friendly place. We will stay here again, when we come back through Haines.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

I had carefully made my reservation and reconfirmed it, but when I arrived, they had lost it and although it was 9 PM, they said the rooms weren't cleaned yet! There were three seperate guests arriving at the same time and we all were told the rooms weren't ready. When I finally was given a room, it was not ready, i.e. no sheets, no towels. The desk was totatly confused. The motel specifically advertised that it had a wonderful new laundry facility, but when I asked for the key to it, I was told they would have to get the permission of the guest in an adjacent room for me to use it at 10PM. It's OK and the breakfast was quite good, but be ready for anything when you get there.

Helpful?
6 Thank fredcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 14, 2005

I had made reservations serveral days in advance for a car rental through the Captain's Choice Motel for the weekend. I called from the ferry terminal upon my arrival. The lady at the front desk said she was busy but would be out to pick me up when she was available. I waited 30 minutes and called again, she assured me that she was almost ready to leave to pick me up. I waited a total of SIXTY MINUTES before the van arrived! I wasn't impressed as I had stayed at the motel numerous times and rented a car also. I finally got my rental car only to find that the parking lot was very icy and I had heavy bags. I realized later that there are only two ferries a week into Haines this month and why did they only have one person working? Then my car doors froze up so much that I thought I was going to rip off the rubber seal from the doors. My next trip to Haines will be different.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2004

When I arrived for my weekend in Haines (arranged weeks in advance), I was informed that I had been moved from my pre-booked room (double/non-smoking) to a smoking room because the hotel was quite full. The room smelled like a nasty ashtry! I was very disappointed and ended up moving to another hotel.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2004

I spent one night at the Captain's Choice Motel and one night at the Halsingland Hotel. There is a world of difference. At the Captain's Choice Motel the check in desk personel were very rude, my room was not even close to "luxury" accomodations as advertised. I decided to spend the next night at the Halsingland Hotel in which I was impressed with their hospitality The all you can eat Mother's Day Brunch in the dining room was superb. The rooms were clean and updated to compliment the historic atmosphere and even cheaper than the Captain's Choice Motel.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
0.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
115 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
98 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Choice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Choice Motel

Property: Captain's Choice Motel
Address: 108 Second Ave. N, Box 392, Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Choice Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain's Choice Motel is one of Alaska's finest motels. Located in magnificent Haines, Alaska, our motel enjoys fantastic panoramic views of the ocean water of the Lynn Fjord, North America's longest fjord. Our beautiful rooms are luxurious, quiet and very comfortable. The panoramic views of the Lynn Fjord, Portage Cove with its small boat harbor, Fort Seward and the dramatic backdrop of the Cathedral Peaks will make a lasting impression. Our motel is AAA recommended. It is centrally located in Haines, within walking distance from all shopping and dining facilities. The Captain's Choice is pet friendly! Complimentary Continental Breakfast. CAPTAIN'S LOUNGE open daily at 5pm. Standard rooms: single, double, twin, triple, quad. Ocean view rooms with balcony: double and triple. Suites: ocean view or two rooms. Wi-Fi Access for a small fee Message center, photocopy and fax available. Up to 25 Person Facility for Meetings. Tour Arrangments Rental car fleet-UNLIMITED MILES Restaurants within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Captain's Choice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Choice Hotel Haines
Choice Hotel Captains
Choice Hotel Haines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing