We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Haines”
Review of Halsingland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halsingland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Haines”
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I rated this hotel 4 stars comparatively speaking since it had to be the best hotel I saw/stayed in while in Haines. I was originally at the Fort Seward Bed and Breakfast which was inhospitable/overpriced with small rooms and a non-existent host. The Hotel Halsingland is an older style luxury hotel that hasn't been the best maintained over the years but is now in good hands. Don't be taken aback by the outside of the hotel; the rooms have been redone and are sparkling clean. My only advice is to ask for a good sized bathroom as they vary considerably and the shower stalls can be quite small. They have a courtsey van to and from the State Ferry. The Fireweed Restaurant is within walking distance of the hotel in case the menu prices at the hotel's restaurant are a little too steep for your budget.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MAWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    25
    17
    7
See reviews for
29
47
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crawford, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

The Hotel Halsingland is located in two large houses that were officers quarters at Fort Seward in Haines. The fort was built about 100 years ago and does not resemble a fort at all. A number of attractive buildings surround the former parade ground. These two buildings were converted to a hotel and linked together some years ago. The present owners took over in 2002 and have worked hard to bring the property up to date.

If you don't like old buildings and expect a Best Western type lodging, this is not the place for you. In Haines you won't find that. We've stayed at the Captain's Choice several years ago in Haines and didn't like it at all and thought it overpriced. Other lodging in Haines was worse in 2002 and the Halsingland had just been purchased.

The Halsingland is comfortable. We had a large room and it even had a separate access to the street, although it may have been the only one like that. It was homey and appropriate for Alaska's Inside Passage. There was a very attractive restaurant with nice views, but it had just closed for the season. The owners have a lifetime job ahead of them because old buildings are a big commitment, but we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Liked — Historic and comfortable
  • Disliked — Needs updates
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank CrawfordGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

What a wonderful town - Haines! Hotel Halsingland is a little quirky but I liked it - its an older building, the former Officers' quarters on Fort William Steward. Might want to call the Hotel for more specific directions - but still easy to find. We used the map from a Visitors guide we picked up along the way. We stayed for 2 nights Saturday, June 10-Monday, June 12, 2006 - 2 adults/2 children (ages 4&6).

Our room was on the second floor. Two seperate bed areas. Bathroom is a laugh - quite small with only a tiny shower. I had a bigger bathroom on the state ferry! Rooms great size - we were all able to spread out and not be on top of each other. Since its an older building you will hear people passing down the hallway. Kind of feels like being at someone's house. Staff quite nice. Huge grass area across the street (former parade grounds I'm guessing) great for the kids to run! Laundry facilities down the street.

Hotel is up on a hill so there's a wonderful view of the Bay everytime you step outside. The local library has free internet access which you have to sign up for - its a real busy library with a closed off childrens reading area. Had a great breakfast and dinners at The Lighthouse Restaurant. Loved our stay in Haines!

Helpful?
5 Thank TX_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 28, 2005

I stayed at the Hasingland Hotel for a week and enjoyed my stay. The historical buildings which now make the Halsingland hotel are clean, warm, and comfortable. If you like the charm of old buildings and high ceilings, the Halsingland is your hotel. This hotel is a pleasant break from many motels in Haines. Individual rooms do not have their own microwave oven or small refrigerator but the manager, Jeff, was gracious to place a microwave oven in the common area and allowed the use of refrigerator in the bar area. One day during my stay, Jeff's wife made a cake for guests and later that day Jeff served home made chocolate chip cookies!! All in all, I will recommend this hotel as the best in the town of Haines.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 25, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights.We had a very spacies and
clean room. Jeff and his staff went way out of thier way to make our visit
as nice as can be. Yes the place is older,but that is part of the charm. The
restaurant was also great. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2005

We stayed two nights at the Halsingland this June. Yes, the hotel is old. So get over it. That's the charm and the history. It's not a dump. We found the rooms to be clean and large, the furniture nice, and the beds comfortable. Bathrooms were a bit small. We also found the front desk staff to be bend-over backwards helpful with any problems, requests, or information. Most of the rooms have great views of the water, and the area is quiet. A laundromat is right across the street. The hotel is original, and is a constant work in progress. Look past that, and feel how cool it is to turn the same door knob that an officer did in 1910. Restaurant is very nice, food very good. It also has its own bar in the evening. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2005

Arrived at the hotel and originally was checked into one of the worst rooms I've seen in a while (draperies coming down, two double beds squeezed into two tiny rooms, stains on carpeting, plaster separating from wall for 109.00 US per night). Had to wait to check in while staff made personal call. Staff was accomodating and moved us to another building which was better. Description of hotel and photos are misleading. Yes, it is an old building but rundown. Claw foot tub was rusted around drain- not something you'd like to soak in, lino in bath was new, tiny sink, no towels when we arrived. Room was clean and offered some toiletries. Beds okay. Had to call down to turn on hot water- owner not aware that there were guests in the other building. Arrived to start water heater promptly. We were the only ones in the building- upon exploring this large maze of a building, we had a chance to look into open rooms. Most seemed to be undergoing work. Building felt abandoned but made for a little adventure. Did not eat in restaurant. Short jaunt to town (which is lovely). The area the hotel is in is interesting (Ft. Seward) with informational boards describing the buildings. Owner seemed friendly on phone, staff tried, but we would not stay here on a return visit at that price.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abbymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
16.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
16.5 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsingland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsingland Hotel

Property: Halsingland Hotel
Address: 13 Fort Seward Dr., Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halsingland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Halsingland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halsingland Hotel Haines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing