We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be pleased”
Review of Halsingland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halsingland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
A TripAdvisor Member
“You'll be pleased”
Reviewed June 22, 2005

We stayed two nights at the Halsingland this June. Yes, the hotel is old. So get over it. That's the charm and the history. It's not a dump. We found the rooms to be clean and large, the furniture nice, and the beds comfortable. Bathrooms were a bit small. We also found the front desk staff to be bend-over backwards helpful with any problems, requests, or information. Most of the rooms have great views of the water, and the area is quiet. A laundromat is right across the street. The hotel is original, and is a constant work in progress. Look past that, and feel how cool it is to turn the same door knob that an officer did in 1910. Restaurant is very nice, food very good. It also has its own bar in the evening. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    25
    17
    7
See reviews for
30
49
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2005

Arrived at the hotel and originally was checked into one of the worst rooms I've seen in a while (draperies coming down, two double beds squeezed into two tiny rooms, stains on carpeting, plaster separating from wall for 109.00 US per night). Had to wait to check in while staff made personal call. Staff was accomodating and moved us to another building which was better. Description of hotel and photos are misleading. Yes, it is an old building but rundown. Claw foot tub was rusted around drain- not something you'd like to soak in, lino in bath was new, tiny sink, no towels when we arrived. Room was clean and offered some toiletries. Beds okay. Had to call down to turn on hot water- owner not aware that there were guests in the other building. Arrived to start water heater promptly. We were the only ones in the building- upon exploring this large maze of a building, we had a chance to look into open rooms. Most seemed to be undergoing work. Building felt abandoned but made for a little adventure. Did not eat in restaurant. Short jaunt to town (which is lovely). The area the hotel is in is interesting (Ft. Seward) with informational boards describing the buildings. Owner seemed friendly on phone, staff tried, but we would not stay here on a return visit at that price.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abbymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in the summer of 2001, when we had planned on camping but the rain started to fall. The hotel itself is a little rough around the edges; some of the walls had luggage marks, and the accomodations themselves were a little worn. Despite this, our room was clean and relatively comfortable for the price we paid, which was well below the posted price. (We called from the ferry depot and were quoted a price $45.00 cheaper than shown in the guide books).

We enjoyed our room, being on the first floor with a private entrance, and having windows that looked across the parade grounds to the water. The hotel was quiet and free from traffic and noise.

The service from the staff was unremarkable in either the good or the bad sense.

The hotel is fairly conveniently located, if you don't mind walking about ten minutes or so into town; also, the hotel is located uphill from town, so the walk back is a little more tiring. If you are travelling without a car and have people with limited mobility (little children or elders) you may want to stay somewhere more central to the restaraunts, etc. The hotels is close to trails that take you to hike along the water, which was convenient for us and provided a good afternoon's exercise and entertainment. Also, since we rented a car in Haines to drive to Fairbanks, we found having the car rental in the lobby to be very convenient as we headed out of town.

Overall, my husband and I found the Halsingland "okay." If we were to return to Haines, and could find a good price at another hotel, we would probably try somewhere else, but anyone who stays at the Halsingland will get a decent stay for their money.

  • Stayed June 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tankerraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 28, 2004

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Haines! We liked it so much we’re going back this winter. I usually don’t make public my disappointment in accommodations, but I feel I need to make an exception in the case of the Halsingland Hotel. The saying goes, “a picture is worth a thousand words”, so beware of websites and advertising with photographs taken from a distance and no pictures of the actual rooms! The hotel looks good from a distance, but the rooms themselves leave much to be desired. Next time I’ll try a little bed & breakfast.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2003

This hotel is really two one hundred year old houses with lots of character, connected by a staircase and hallway. It was originally the commanding officer's house and the bachelor's quarters for Ft. Seward.
Don't expect Victorian lace and chintz. It is a rambling old fashioned hotel, but not that kind of place. It has undergone many renovations through the years and this process continues with the new owners. That being said, it is a true hotel with all the basic hotel amenities and some not so basic, such as Bath and Body Works products that were replinished daily. Our first floor room was very large and had an outside deck which suited us well since we are smokers. It was really three rooms including a large bathroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. Rooms run the gamut in size and amenities. Some upstairs rooms share a common bath and are inexpensive. The rooms on the front have a view across the parade grounds at Ft. Seward all the way down to ocean to snow covered mountains beyond. The same views can be had everyone who walks out the front door, and most of the larger first floor rooms that were original to house and don't have this view, but do feature the original fireplaces. The owner, Jeff Butcher and his staff, were very helpful and friendly. They seem to work day and night, never intrusive but always available. Haines seemed more like the real Alaska than most southeastern towns. A drive up the Haines Highway and a drink at the Pioneer Bar or the Fogcutter will convince you. The only gas station in town that has a real person operating it will pump your gas give you free coffee and popcorn. In evenings or mornings in the early fall, drive out to the Chilkoot River to see the Alaska Brown bears feeding on salmon as they run. Wild Strawberry offers an awesome food, but I would not miss dinner at the Hasingland Hotel. The food in restaurant could only be described as wonderful. September 2003

Helpful?
4 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 21, 2002

The food is spendid, I loved Halsingland salmon it is wrap in philo pastry and stuffed with cream cheese it is absolutly devine. The waiter Jeremy Huffman was so incredibly entertaining which was good because we had been with quite a few stuffy people. Thanks for such a great time.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
16.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
0.6 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsingland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsingland Hotel

Property: Halsingland Hotel
Address: 13 Fort Seward Dr., Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halsingland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Halsingland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halsingland Hotel Haines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing