We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this trip to everyone!”

Chilkat Guides, Ltd.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Float peacefully through the Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve!! The Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve Float/Rafting adventure will take you into the heart of the Famous Chilkat Bald Eagle Preserve, home to the largest congregation of Bald Eagles in the world! Float silently on our 18ft long, 8 passenger, ore-framed rafts, as your guide navigates you through the braided rivers of the Preserve. You will be surrounded by breath taking views of the Chilkat Mountain Range, as you watch for bald eagles, moose, bear and wolves that come to the river to feed on the spawning Salmon. Enjoy a picnic lunch on the banks of the Chilkat River after your float. There is NO WHITE WATER on this adventure.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would recommend this trip to everyone!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It was such a relaxing and informative trip if your ever in Chilkat you have to check it out. The guides and everyone you encounter love what they're doing. This was the first cruise and the first excursion we did and I think it spoiled us. Steve was fantastic we wanted to bring him home with us he felt like a part of the family.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We saw a lot of eagles, The view was amazing, CP and Andrew were fantástic and also Megan Who show us 3little Bears in our way Back to The ferry, thanks to all The Team it's a fantastic tour that You must take !!

A big Hi to Andrew....

Mauricio & Lizette from México.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizette-mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and plenty of eagles”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

All the guides on the rafting adventure were as friendly as could be. We booked this through the ship at the last minute and it was well worth it. We took a ferry to Haines and from there a bus to the rafts. We were given waders to wear in the rafts, but I took my camera as the rafts seemed very secure and they were; We weren't splashed at all. The river was low in spots so we had to bounce quite a bit and even had to get out at one point, but the scenery could not have been any better. Did see lots of eagles and our raft guide did an excellent job of pointing them out and giving out lots of knowledge of the area. There were six rafts and the front one did see a wolf cub. After floating down the river to our landing spot, we were served sandwiches, chips, drinks and cookies. Overall it was a great excursion.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank perepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun adventure in Haines”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a great time rafting with John Dinger. We saw several dozen eagles and got a good feel for the ecology of the area. Very entertaining bus ride from the port too. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank TWCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Wildlife.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a great time on the tour Eagle float. First you mtake a ferry boat trip to the port of Haines which is a very beautiful picturesque small town. After a short bus trip you get into a rubber zodiac type raft and float down the river with your guide doing all of the work in guiding the boat. there were lots of eagles and many other birds spotted on our approximately one and a half river float. The main guides name was cp and he was very funny and entertaining with lots of jokes. The guide in our boat was Paul who was very nice and informative, We enjoyed ourself very much and would reccomend this trip if you are on a cruise.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilkat Guides, Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Chilkat Guides, Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing