We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Parking lot camping here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tolsona Wilderness Campground
Certificate of Excellence
concord, nh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Parking lot camping here!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Tolsona Wilderness Campground is what one would expect an Alaskan campground to be, trees, river, wildlife abound and fishing. The sites are very well spaced out as the river winds through the property. The bathrooms are squeaky clean and the showers are long and hot for only 25 cents. They offer laundry facilities, WiFi and a quiet place for road warriors to relax and regroup. There is hike up to the Mud Volcanoes (rubber boots and bug spray recommended!) marked by cds nailed to the trees. Its a quick hike, maybe 2 hours round trip but the views are impressive and well worth the effort. Traveling with two sons and a husband, I enjoyed the peaceful surroundings while they enjoyed the fishing. A great place to camp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmitch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here in May. This campground is fantastically beautiful. Even when there was an incredible flooding scare. The spots are spacious, perfectly situated upon the "creek" which was more like a raging river due to the snow melt! But it didn't affect our stay...it actually made it more exciting! They have wi-fi, showers, dump and water, laundry. The showers and laundry are coin-op, but you can use the shower in the RV if you are worried about spending a couple dollars as they have direct water hook ups at each site. Sites with power are 30a, but they do have a few 50a if needed. Wonderful place. We will return some day!

Room Tip: From what we could see and where we were, spots 3 - 10 were the best view. But.. I say that not bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MungFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed during the Labor Day weekend. It is a hidden little treasure. I'm sure that June would be a bug feast, but no bugs in September. The owner has well planned camp sites with water and electric and individually next to Tolsona Creek. There is a dump station for your RV on the way out. I really like how it was away from the highway. We are already making plans for next year. The place is for sale, but the owner still keeps the place clean. The wifi can be a little spotty, but we don't go camping to use the Internet. I didnt care for the extra charge for my children. I could certainly understand $2.00 more per extra adult, but not for kids that gives an initial impression of being not Family friendly...although we had no problems beyond that. It's just South of Glennallen about 15 miles. It's really not a "destination", spot, but one of the nicest and most peaceful campgrounds in AK. We will be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GlennMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesendangen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This campground was so excellent that we decided to stay 4 nights instead of the planned stop over. Extremely clean, very nice hosts, superb campsites (most of them next to the small river which goes through the campground), quiet, perfect for hiking up to a very nice spot called mud springs (moose gathering spot) and good for relaxed jogging because of no bears;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is one of the prettiest campgrounds I've been too. It was crazy clean, the camp ground host was lovely and each spot is so pretty! But the park has some weird rules . First of all it was half empty meaning that any money would be good money for the camp ground. However there were so many spots that you couldn't camp if you have a tent (we have an rv) but if half the RV spots are empty and a tent camper wants to use and pay for an RV spot they should let them, the owner was not allowing it. Also, if you have an RV and you have more than 2 people you are charged more per night. $2 more per person in fact. I've never seen that. There were a lot of "no's" for a half empty camp ground. But they do have free wifi and showers are only 25 cents for 5 minutes. The owner could have been nicer but his place is really pretty and really clean. Also, they don't take plastic, cash only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Only stayed one night on our way to Valdez, but wish we had scheduled another day or two. Campground is well off the highway and really quiet. All spots seemed private and lots of separation with trees and shrubs compared to some of the Alaskan "parking lots" we had stayed in. Buildings a little worn, but clean and well maintained. River through most of the sites...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Tolsona Campground is almost perfect! It's beautiful. Campsites are thoughtfully positioned next to a creek, and the entire campground is well-groomed. It is quiet (no highway noise). Restrooms and laundry room are clean. We were warmly greeted and well taken care of. WiFi available. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squirrelgirl727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glennallen
24.7 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
14.6 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
18.3 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#8 of 10 in Copper Center
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
52 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#1 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolsona Wilderness Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolsona Wilderness Campground

Property: Tolsona Wilderness Campground
Address: Mile 173 Glenn Highway, Glennallen, AK 99588-0023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Glennallen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Glennallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful full service campground with 50 waterfront RV sites in a real Alaska setting. Prices from $25 to $45. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Tolsona Wilderness Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing