We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay anywhere but here”
Review of Caribou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glennallen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glennallen
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Sadly, in the off season this can be the only hotel open in the area. Still, I would recommend you keep driving. Its over priced, dirty, the walls were paper thin and the water was orange. The food in the restaurant seemed to be simply reheated microwave meals and were over $20 per plate - not worth it. The staff were nice, but the Caribou is expensive and not good value for the money.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
8  Thank Lilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We knew from Trip Advisor that this place was terrible but we need a stop before Valdez.
We are a family of 4 and we need first of all a clean palce to stay : there was a used toothpick the sofa, the kitchen was stinky and the bathroom has never seeen bleach.
But the final straw was when , at 11 pm at night, somebody tried to open the front door.
My children were terrified and I think it wouldn't have been a mistake because there were only 2 rooms on that floor.
The receptionist apologized but for me it was enough...
Believe me, never book there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ornitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On my trip to one of the glaciers of Mt Sanford, Wrangell-St Elias National Park & Preserve, we got weathered out and were not able to fly VFR so we had to spend the night in Glenallen. The New Caribou Hotel is the only game in town, so it's here or the back seat of your car!! The Hotel is an old lodge circa the construction of the Glen Highway & was booming during the construction of the Alaskan Pipeline. When you enter the hotel, you pass a fibre-glass moose decked out in a cool paint job of Alaskan flag, fire-weed & other native art. The walls above the reception are covered with the sad faces of animals killed long long ago; moose, mountain sheep, caribou and the the counter has a 'gator head from one found in these parts. The staff are friendly, the rooms comfortable, but basic. Tub/shower is separate from the wash basin so concurrent activity for ablutions can occur. Rooms have TV and telephone but we didn't use either one. Rooms are quiet & you don't hear any corridor noise so it is conducive to sleep. Air conditioners are provided and windows open for the fresh air fiend in your party. Travellers come from all over the world, so different languages can be heard in the corridors & the lobby. Complimentary coffee & hot water are available in the mornings. Gas station, restaurant, gift shop, & laundromat are handy to the Hotel. Ample parking if you are hauling a trailer! I had gotten everything wet including my boots, & I was able to "borrow" a pair from the lobby. The laundromat is open 24 hours, but the coin dispenser was not working, so the hotel keeps coins on hand for the coin operated machines. Free internet is available to check your messages. Basic accommodation, but clean & warm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ranger170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Pro's
AAA Discount
Staff very friendly
Suite was spacious and nice to have full kitchen
Bedrooms spacious & both had walk in closets

Con's
Suite not clean, you could write your name in the soap scum in the tub
Some of the chairs in the dining room were broken
Nothing to do in area. Ok town if you just need a place to crash for the night, but nothing for site seeing

Now it did look they were doing some renovating/updating in the room so if depending on when you go from when I wrote this review they may be done and things will be in better shape.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

It's a very basic roadside motel, lacking all amenities any average motel offers, but charges as if it was best in town - well; they seem to be the only one, so this must be it. In addition to the preposterous US$ 149,00 for one night you must pay almost US$ 9,00 to have WiFi access. Ridiculous...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHKRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

After driving in the cold pouring rain on our Harleys, we were first grateful to have found accommadations. We were told there was only one vacancy and it was a two bedroom apartment. Since we were two couples, we thought it would do. When we pulled in the drive, we spoke to another customer who had just got a room and said we were in luck he was just told they had more rooms. When we went to check in, the young man said the 'apartment' wasn't even there on their grounds near the restaurant but down the road. If we wouldn't have been so cold and tired, we'd had gone back and told them what they could do with their 'apartment'. What a dump. Their wasn't even a light in the hallway to go up the dark stairs. The next morning the lady at the desk rolled her eyes, smiled and said "They should have 'told' us about the condition of the apartment." Then she offered us a $5 certificate for their restaurant...for 4 people. What an insult. These people have you at your mercy and they simply don't care! Keep driving, don't stop here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindaMillersburgOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I travelling from England, stayed here during our tour of the Yukon and Alaska as a stopover between Seward & Tok, (about the only place to stay), our advice – keep driving, thank goodness it was only 1 night we could not wait to leave the next morning! The room (in the main hotel on ground floor), had 2 queen sized beds, one of which had been repaired with a piece of 4x2 wood which was sticking out of the side of the bed just handy for knocking your ankles on, stubbing your toe on, or tripping over, and the whole bed itself wobbled when you sat on it. The venetian blinds were bent and broken, really handy for keeping out the “midnight sun”! The bathroom was very small and the shower area very dingy but then when I looked at the state of the shower curtain little wonder they wanted to keep you in the dark – it was absolutely disgusting, green and black mould all over it. The towels were beige, well I guess that was meant to be the colour, each one of them was frayed and smelt a bit musty. There is no coffee/tea making facilities, air conditioning or hairdryers in the room, although there is free coffee etc in reception, however not the best place if you fancy an early morning coffee maybe before you get showered and dressed! Everyone is welcome to their own views on religion but we did find having the bible left open on the bedside table and sweets with wrappers saying “god saves” was a bit too much!
We did however have an excellent steak in the restaurant but be aware that this place does not sell alcohol as it does not have a “liquor license”, so after our 6 hour drive a beer or glass of wine with our steak was a pipedream! Apparently there is a law that they cannot sell liquor within the city limits or within 5 miles of any liquor store, and there are 2 of those, one 8 miles out in one direction and another about 8 miles out in the other direction, so our advice is don’t stay here at all or if you do and fancy a beer stop at the liquor store first. As Glennallen is only a small place we did not expect 4 star but this was awful, we wished we had kept driving straight through to Tok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HotelinspectorSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glennallen
15.4 mi away
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
13.2 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
14.5 mi away
Klutina Kate's B&B
Klutina Kate's B&B
#8 of 10 in Copper Center
3 reviews
13.2 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#9 of 10 in Copper Center
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Hotel

Address: Box 329, Glennallen, AK 99588-0329
Location: United States > Alaska > Glennallen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glennallen
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caribou Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Also Known As:
Caribou Hotel Glennallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing