We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food. Great view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pond Cafe

Pond Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Pond Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food. Great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food here was good, but the prices were very high. The buffet was $19.00 per person. A little high in my opinion. Unfortunately, it was the only restaurant serving breakfast in the hotel, so I had to eat there. I was very happy that they serve Starbucks coffee, and the food was good, just too expensive

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    26
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Alyeska for a week and we ate here 3 times in total. Kids buffet was the best deal at $10. Parents ate off the menu each morning at around $15 per each. Adult buffet was $20.

Beautiful views and very nice sized portions were what came us coming back. Service was a little slow and scattered. I think they were trying to serve too many tables with too few staff. But food was good. Our orders for the week included blueberry pancakes, salmon hash & eggs, salmon eggs benedict (my fav for the week), healthy omelette w parfait (wife's favorite).

Our alternate days we grabbed something simple at the coffee cafe near the tram entrance and we also at at the bakery down near the gas station (which i highly recommend for strudel and cinammon buns!).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dcrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
856 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Wow, the pork hash!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying here and wandered in for breakfast. The menu was interesting, and I surrendered to temptation...I ordered the pork hash, two eggs over easy and wheat toast. The service was a bit slow, but sincere. The flavors in the hash...outstanding mixture of nicely caramelized onions, red bell peppers, potatoes and tasty pork! The portion was very generous. I could have shared mine. My husband enjoyed his pancakes, eggs and reindeer sausage!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sit on the Patio for a Great View, Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a pleasant experience at the Pond Cafe, other than waiting for a table to sit at for breakfast. Seated on the balcony, I had great service and a wonderful view to start me off on my day. I ordered a Salmon Eggs Benedict which was good, but not great.

Other than the initial wait to sit down, a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another great view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had breakfast here and enjoyed the beautiful view and fun story about Scrappy the bear... Good food and service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank My4doggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pond Cafe also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Pond Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing