We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alyeska
Nearby Hotels
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Whittier(Whittier)
$179
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$189
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$166
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Inn(Girdwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,266)
Filter reviews
2,266 results
Traveler rating
1,505
521
142
62
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,505
521
142
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglaciers restaurantski resorthiking trailsmountain topbeautiful hoteltram ridedouble muskyhot tubpond cafeaurora barturnagain armcable carlift ticketsski seasonski liftmountain viewnorthern lights
Filter
Updating list...
2,042 - 2,047 of 2,266 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This place is not what it attempts to be. The fake "hardwood" trim should be your first clue. You will be served food that is at best mediocre quality and certainly not world class like they advertise. Steaks will be over done, over seasoned and staff won't bother to ask. All the seasonings were off, nothing fit well together and prices were high. In the rooms paint was peeling in the bathroom, the shower head was caked with lime, and housekeeping couldn't speak English. The front desk somehow deleted me from the guest registry causing the pool attendant to threaten to remove me as I was attempting to relax. The front desk staff was extremely rude, stuck up and again didn't bother to inquire how the stay was. My feeling is they were struggling a little to keep rooms full and maybe the staff was feeling pressure. For whatever the reason this place was a disappointment and I would never recommend staying there. If you want to ski the mountain get a place in town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJohnson5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinProbasco, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apogize that you did not enjoy your stay. The Hotel Alyeska is always looking for ways to improve and values guest feedback. I have forwarded your feedback to our Food and Beverage Director and Director of Engineering. We apologize that the negative encounters you had with our staff. If you wish to discuss your stay further you may contact, myself or Darren Hawes, Front Office Manager. We can both be reached at 907-754-2111.

Kind Regards,

Kristin Probasco
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Alyeska in early January.

We mostly stayed in Anchorage, and stayed in Fairbanks a couple of nights, but went down to Alyeska for some skiing one day, and it was the best hotel that we stayed at during our trip.

Great front desk staff. Very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The bell staff was great as well, and their valet service was very fast and excellent.

Overall the hotel is very clean, up to date, and we had a great view on the 7th floor. Rooms are also spacious, and the beds are also amazing.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing by Alaska, as it is the best hotel in the state.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akironman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The hotel is warm and welcoming. There are great nordic skiing trails within a 4 min. walk from the lobby. Moose meadow is a nice loop but keep on the look out for dog teams! The 7 glacier resturant at the top of the tram is fabulous. There is lots of room for your ski equipment in your room. The heated towel rack in the bathroom was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallaWallaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Love the hotel. Apparently is more than a decade old, but looks less than 5 years. Rooms are a little small but more than adequate. Good beds, nice furniture, good bath.

Can get to the tram from inside the hotel with almost no walking outside -- critical for cold Anchorage.

Lots of great restaurants on the property, especially Sakuru.

Some suggestions:
* Shouldn't have to call down to get a key to the boot benches outside of your room.
* Should have storage area for skis.
* Should allow 1h late checkout. Seem to deny this to everyone all of the time as a matter of policy.
* Should make it easier to compare/evaluate/book ski/stay packages on the hotel website.

Only trouble we had was with Seven Glaciers (power went out when we were up there and we were stuck and the restaurant manager was rude) and the gym (treadmills blew a fuse and interrupted our workout in a very unsafe manner).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Attempted to book a show for 1/1/11 the night before when tickets were a available and thought I had on line but found later no ticket and show is sold out. Attempted to contact the general manager Mark Weakland, but no direct line, not in the office and no where to be found. Overall service is lousy. this not a family oriented hotel, there is no day care, no child watch or monitoring, you have eat in two separate dining facilities to accomodate children and adults, the attitude towards my wife by hotel employees when asking about various child needs was abrasive and rude.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RandyinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinProbasco, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel Alyeska. I apologize for any frustration you may have encountered. I have spoken with our Concierge Rachel who assisted you with obtaining a ticket for the concert. She went out of her way to locate a concert ticket for you. Rachel even called you the next day to see how you enjoyed the show. I apologize our General Manager was unavailable while you were trying to reach him but we always have a manager on duty who is available to speak with guests. Rachel did provide you with our Front Office Manager, Darren Hawes contact information.

On property we offer many amenities that appeal to families. We have skiing available outside our backdoor as well as a variety of cross country and snowshoe trails close by. There is also pool and hot tub on property as well as a game room, All of our dining facilities accept children. Beyond the hotel, there is also an array of activities our concierge desk can assist you in booking.

We value guest feedback and please do not hesistate to contact myself or Darren Hawes to discuss your stay further. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Kristin Probasco
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews