We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will never stay there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Sitka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will never stay there again”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This place is not what it attempts to be. The fake "hardwood" trim should be your first clue. You will be served food that is at best mediocre quality and certainly not world class like they advertise. Steaks will be over done, over seasoned and staff won't bother to ask. All the seasonings were off, nothing fit well together and prices were high. In the rooms paint was peeling in the bathroom, the shower head was caked with lime, and housekeeping couldn't speak English. The front desk somehow deleted me from the guest registry causing the pool attendant to threaten to remove me as I was attempting to relax. The front desk staff was extremely rude, stuck up and again didn't bother to inquire how the stay was. My feeling is they were struggling a little to keep rooms full and maybe the staff was feeling pressure. For whatever the reason this place was a disappointment and I would never recommend staying there. If you want to ski the mountain get a place in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJohnson5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinProbasco, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apogize that you did not enjoy your stay. The Hotel Alyeska is always looking for ways to improve and values guest feedback. I have forwarded your feedback to our Food and Beverage Director and Director of Engineering. We apologize that the negative encounters you had with our staff. If you wish to discuss your stay further you may contact, myself or Darren Hawes, Front Office Manager. We can both be reached at 907-754-2111.

Kind Regards,

Kristin Probasco
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    434
    115
    52
    28
See reviews for
569
762
71
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Alyeska in early January.

We mostly stayed in Anchorage, and stayed in Fairbanks a couple of nights, but went down to Alyeska for some skiing one day, and it was the best hotel that we stayed at during our trip.

Great front desk staff. Very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The bell staff was great as well, and their valet service was very fast and excellent.

Overall the hotel is very clean, up to date, and we had a great view on the 7th floor. Rooms are also spacious, and the beds are also amazing.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing by Alaska, as it is the best hotel in the state.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akironman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The hotel is warm and welcoming. There are great nordic skiing trails within a 4 min. walk from the lobby. Moose meadow is a nice loop but keep on the look out for dog teams! The 7 glacier resturant at the top of the tram is fabulous. There is lots of room for your ski equipment in your room. The heated towel rack in the bathroom was a nice touch!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallaWallaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Love the hotel. Apparently is more than a decade old, but looks less than 5 years. Rooms are a little small but more than adequate. Good beds, nice furniture, good bath.

Can get to the tram from inside the hotel with almost no walking outside -- critical for cold Anchorage.

Lots of great restaurants on the property, especially Sakuru.

Some suggestions:
* Shouldn't have to call down to get a key to the boot benches outside of your room.
* Should have storage area for skis.
* Should allow 1h late checkout. Seem to deny this to everyone all of the time as a matter of policy.
* Should make it easier to compare/evaluate/book ski/stay packages on the hotel website.

Only trouble we had was with Seven Glaciers (power went out when we were up there and we were stuck and the restaurant manager was rude) and the gym (treadmills blew a fuse and interrupted our workout in a very unsafe manner).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Attempted to book a show for 1/1/11 the night before when tickets were a available and thought I had on line but found later no ticket and show is sold out. Attempted to contact the general manager Mark Weakland, but no direct line, not in the office and no where to be found. Overall service is lousy. this not a family oriented hotel, there is no day care, no child watch or monitoring, you have eat in two separate dining facilities to accomodate children and adults, the attitude towards my wife by hotel employees when asking about various child needs was abrasive and rude.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandyinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristinProbasco, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel Alyeska. I apologize for any frustration you may have encountered. I have spoken with our Concierge Rachel who assisted you with obtaining a ticket for the concert. She went out of her way to locate a concert ticket for you. Rachel even called you the next day to see how you enjoyed the show. I apologize our General Manager was unavailable while you were trying to reach him but we always have a manager on duty who is available to speak with guests. Rachel did provide you with our Front Office Manager, Darren Hawes contact information.

On property we offer many amenities that appeal to families. We have skiing available outside our backdoor as well as a variety of cross country and snowshoe trails close by. There is also pool and hot tub on property as well as a game room, All of our dining facilities accept children. Beyond the hotel, there is also an array of activities our concierge desk can assist you in booking.

We value guest feedback and please do not hesistate to contact myself or Darren Hawes to discuss your stay further. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Kristin Probasco
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2010

When I visited Alaska in April 2010, the low season, I traveled by air and had a wonderful time. The Alaskian Visitor Center via phone before my vacation was very helpful in all my travel plans, especially since a few things were not open since it was not a high season. I enjoyed best visiting Alaska unlike the way most people visit which is by cruise. There is a lot in Alaska to see and I hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana8263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at Alyeska for the last 2 nights of our trip. After seeing Anchorage, I am very happy about this choice. We pretty much liked everything here. The service was good and the staff stay out of your way, but are always there when you need them. It was nice to finally have internet. Dinner at Seven Glaciers was delicious. The room prices are very reasonable. Alyeska is close to many hikes and beautiful scenery. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1012hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
12 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
21 reviews
23.8 mi away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
71 reviews
24.8 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing