We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation, I've had in years!!!”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“The Best Vacation, I've had in years!!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2009

No matter if you go in the off season and during, your going to have a great time. It is a great getaway for the weekend or for an extstened stay!!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank huricaneree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    462
    128
    55
    33
See reviews for
624
824
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Every year I am in Anchorage for the winter, I MUST go back to the Alyeska Resort. It is so cozy and romantic, everything about it makes you feel happy. Maybe I just love the snow, maybe I just love the little iced-over pond to skate on; but in all my visits, I haven't once been disappointed. The rooms are super comfy with incredible views, and the pool is a nice treat after a long day of skiing and playing in the snow.

We always eat at Seven Glaciers and love it. The food is fabulous and the service is great. And the hotel bar is the best place to cuddle together and have some warm drinks.
The staff has always been courteous, and I'll go back every chance I get.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I come to Anchorage often for work and usually stay downtown at the Sheraton. I decided to stay here at Alyeska just to change things up. It's a nice resort and very comfortable. The drive down Seward Highway is gorgeous and you can stop often to take pictures.

It is mid-November, 2 weeks before ski season so its kind of dead around here, but glad I stayed to check it out. The tram is closed for maintenance at this time of year unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffany000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We booked the Summit Room so we could have a private dinner and the food was absolutely amazing! The staff was unbelieveable and we had florals, spa treatments, waiters, bar tenders, catering managers, bell hops, EVERYONE was great! Everything was great! The beds were SUPEr comfortable and the pool and hot tub was just what we needed then finished off with an hour massage!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGreen_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas City, kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

From the hiking and biking to the pool and the beds, this resort was luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckywinblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2009

From the staff, to the food, to the location, this was simply the best place I have ever stayed. The prices were very reasonable. The food, especially at the 7 Glaciers Restaurant, was outstanding, and it was easy to get to anywhere we wanted from here. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jblandshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at Alyeska resort during our first night in Alaska. We wished we had stayed their much longer! The resort is nestled amongst the mountains in a very scenic area. Though we passed by other hotels and B&Bs in Girdwood, we felt that Alyeska's location was unique, as its further away from the road, and closer to the mountains. The resort runs a tramway up the mountain, from where you get panoramic views of multiple glaciers and the beautiful turnagain arm. There are even some short hiking trains from the top, taking you close to a small glacier. Also, we saw a couple of bears from the tram.

We went during shoulder season, and were lucky to get a great package that included two tram tickets and two breakfast coupons. The breakfast was full service, and the restaurant offers relaxing and amazing views of the mountain.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
19 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
11 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
4 reviews
99.5 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing