We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best around Anchorage”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best around Anchorage”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I enjoyed every aspect of the hotel but the biggest reason I liked it was that it was surrounded by the nature. I strolled through the forest to the hand tram which was a fun to ride and climbed the hill to have wonderful views around. The restaurant 'Seven Glaciers' offered a fantastic dining with delicious dished and impressive views over the window. I will go back if i can ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    447
    121
    53
    31
See reviews for
599
799
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Gorgeous grounds and location. We couldn't asked fore more. We enjoyed taking the tram up to the mountain and hiked the trails. Enjoyed the pool as well. Staff was very friendly. Just a larger hotel, in case you prefer smaller more intimate. I would return, excellent value and experience. I can't find a negative!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is an outstanding and memorable resort that your won't regret visiting... The scenery and accomodations are exceptional!!! The grounds were well taken care of.. the pond was exceptional with many different type of flowers... Taking the tram to the top of the mountain was the highlight of our stay in Girdwood. There are plenty of shops within the resort that have any and all sovenirs that one could imagine. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgrmotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean. The deluxe room was spacious and did I mention clean:-)? There is a Starbuck on the second floor along with shops and restaurant. The back of the hotel is very beautiful. I would imagine winter here is beautiful with ski slopes and all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This resort property is beautiful. The rooms have all of the modern amenities, including a towel warming rack! The pool, hot tub and the exercise facility are fantastic. One morning, we saw a black bear and her two cubs on the property. It was fun to watch them. They have numerous hiking trails and shuttles. Make sure you take the tram up the mountain! I highly recommend this resort. I am looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We decided to stay an extra night here after we arrived in Anchorage after our week long cruise. It was so worth it. The grounds are beautiful, a lovely pond, wonderful selection of flowers and has some wonderful hikes into the surrounding forest. We did not take the tram up the mountain.
The room views were wonderful we looked up the mountain while our parents looked down into the valley. I don't think there are any bad views here.
One thing I did not like was when we entered the reception area the fake smell of pine/spruce that was so overwhelming made you not want to hold your breath...gagging (honest I am not kidding). Mentioned it to the door guy and he said it was some deodorant they pump out (could smell it a little in the room but luckily could open the window).
Anyway not to harp on about that. The rooms were super the bed was comfy and the shower was great. Nice and roomy. We ate lunch at the hotel food was very good.
If you want to eat in Girdwood make a reservation...had dinner at hotel as everywhere was full and would be 2 hour wait.
Have a very good breakfast menu and buffet and not too ridiculously priced.
We drove out and stopped along the way on Prince William Sound and watched the Bore tide come in...how lucky we were to be there! Also saw a bear way up in the mountain in a meadow..through binoculars. An amazing drive.
Why rush home after the cruise spend a night or 2 here you won't be disappointed.
Oh yeah only a 50 minutes drive from Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelingkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel on our way to Seward to pick up our boat. The rooms were well appointed. The food was excellent. The location is second to none. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
16 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
8 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing