We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I visited the Hotel Alyeska for a too short one night stay last week and once again enjoyed this great hotel. There is no other place I've stayed in my travels that combine such an excellent location as well as amazing comfort and service. Visited the Pond Steakhouse for dinner and had an amazing steak and then in the morning took a swim in the indoor pool and sat in the hot tub with a view of the mountains. After that it was back to Oregon and the winter rain. I'm already looking forward to my next visit to Alyeska! Make sure to check the website to look at what services are available if you are visiting in the off-season, as they do shut them down for maintenance, but still plenty of options available.

Room Tip: I've stayed on both sides of the hotel, and you have a good view either way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbridemikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    465
    128
    55
    33
See reviews for
626
827
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. The interior is beautiful and the views onto the mountain quite scenic. Our room was spacious and well appointed and we found the restaurants in the hotel reasonable and the food very good.

Room Tip: A view of the mountain would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at this hotel while visiting Alaska to run The Mt Marathon race in Seward. The natural beauty surrounding this hotel is incredible. The hotel design does a wonderful job bringing the outside beauty into the resort with windows everywhere. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The concierge directed us to some wonderful hiking trails that took us up to Raven Glacier which is a must do if your in the area. Fianlly, the Seven Glaciers Restauraunt which sits high above the property and is available via a scenic Tram ride or vigouous hike, is not to be missed. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A pleasant place with a few choices of restaurants, proximity to the aerial tramway, and shuttle buses available. Room was pleasant with a great mountain view and clean.The only drawback was reception who were less than helpful when asked about our tour leader and room entry. Eventually they found the note from our leader and gave us room entry but only after we became very insistent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of an Alaska/Denali cruise/interior package. Would happily have spent a month there! Fantastic surrounding country,hiking/cycle paths and skiing.Cable car(free to guests) to top of Mt.Alyeska right from the back garden!! Rooms very spacious,comfortable with great beds (2 kings in our room)and this hotel is beautifully appointed.When you enter the lobby,look up! Superb rendition of the Aurora,complete with Polar Bear! Do not miss the life-size sculpture of salmon downstairs,just awesome skill. Food excellent and reasonable. For us,best feature was the swimming pool/hot-tub. The pool is THE best we've ever been in,and we've been in A LOT!! Very warm,beautifully lit and scrupulously clean. The hot-tub looks out straight onto Mt.Alyeska. All in all,100% recommendation-couldn't fault it,only praise it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I loved this place. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and we had a great view of the mountains. The indoor pool was fabulous. My husband said it was one of the best pools he was ever in. The tram ride was great (in fact we went twice in one day). The staff were very accommodating. Anything we needed was brought up right away. My only complaint was the fact that you could not regulate the temperature in your room (it was too hot for us). We solved that problem by opening the window and using the small fan that was provided.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystaldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel for only 2 nights, and wish I had for a week! The hotel has a lot to offer, the tram up the mountain, nice dinners, pleasant employees, and a lovely spa. I have to say for Anchorage this place is top notch and the scenery is gorgeous..

Make sure to take the tram up to the top to see the seven glaciers and try out the great services in the spa. The spa rivals any 5 star spa in New York City. We'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: We got a suite for just a few dollars more and it was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_traveler_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
19 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
298 reviews
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
4 reviews
99.5 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
23.8 mi away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing