We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Mountain Retreat”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Famous as a ski resort area, Alyeska is a great destination in the summer. When booking a room July 14th we were offered a summer special rate. Our standard king room was anything but standard. Warm and comfortable room with all the perks, robes, large towels, towel warmer, firm mattress, free WIFI, even Starbucks coffee in the room. We loved the details, etched elevator doors, beautiful lobby, specialty shops, spa and very friendly staff. Several dining options, and a bonus, a tram that takes you to a gourmet restaurant! Just a short 20 minute drive from Anchorage.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, very quiet. Higher floors have better view but may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    461
    127
    55
    33
See reviews for
622
824
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of our Alaskan trip. Attention to detail and making your stay enjoyable seem to be of utmost importance to the staff. The grounds are gorgeous with hundreds of colorful flowers. There is a cool fire pit near the entrance for warmth and decor.
The lobby has huge ceilings and interesting artifacts. The architecture is open and airy, and it has an Asian feel to it - minimalist, clean lines, beauty in simplicity. There is a wooden bench outside of each room, a doorbell, and lighted buttons to designate privacy which can be activated from inside the room. There are bathrobes and slippers provided, a heated towel rack, complimentary water, a mini-fridge and coffee maker, and chocolates appear on the beds by evening.

A Tram that takes you up the mountain to a restaurant and observation deck is adjacent to the hotel. It's about $20 and is 1/2 price after 7 pm (in July it stays light until about 11:30 ish).

The hotel has a nice selection of restaurants, a gift shop, and a couple of stores (one boutique and one that carries outdoor clothing and gear, backpacks, lots of North Face stuff and similar items).

For runners and hikers, there is a plentiful variety of trails for different skill levels. There is a great paved trail for runners that parallels the road but is much more scenic. For a more challenging route, you can hike/run up to the top of the mountain instead of taking the tram.

After a good run, there's nothing like relaxing in the large hot tub w/great views, and jumping in the pool or doing some reps in the fitness room. While in the hot tub, we saw a bear in the distance. Our room was on the 3rd floor, which was convenient to everything. A short walk down the hallway in one direction got us to the pool/hot tub/fitness area. A short walk in the other direction took us to the elevators and stairs to the restaurants and lobby.

I must mention Rachel, the Concierge who was extremely helpful and had terrific advice and recommendations. I asked her many questions before we even got to Alaska, and I really appreciated her expert suggestions.

As a side note, they do offer flat rate boxes if you need to lighten your load and mail something home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglefest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a rented motor home, so we were not able to stay here. But if we needed a place to stay, we would definitely be staying here. Was absolutely beautiful - the grounds & inside.

We went to go on their tram. I am afraid of heights & was not sure if I would do it. However, I was so glad I did. It was no problem at all going up in the ski lift that is completely enclosed. Very smooth ride and beautiful view while going up and down. Once you get to the top the view is breath taking. There are 2 restaurants at the top. Seven Glaciers is only open for dinner so we were not able to go there. But if they would have been open, they looked fantastic. We ate in the regular restaurant. Average food & how do you say expensive. $30 for 2 orders of chicken strips, 2 bowls of chili & 2 soda's. Ouch. But I guess you are paying for the view. Some people had taken their own food up and were eating at the observation deck where there were picnic tables. This would be the route to go.

I had found a coupon for buy one get one free in a "Passport" coupon booklet at a visitor center so be on the lookout for that. Looks just like a passport. There is also a coupon in the 2013 Milepost which i believe is for $5 off. The tram ride is $20 per person (adult). Well worth it.

When you get to the top if you want there is also a trail you can hike on.

We walked around in the resort afterwards. Very nice place.

As I said, we did not stay at the resort so I'm not rating on that, only the tram.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here on the last day of the land portion of the Celebrity Cruise cruisetour. The grounds and lobby were beautiful and well kept. The room was spacious and well appointed- luxury amenities. We were given a free ride ticket on the tram up the mountain, which was interesting.
The restaurant for breakfast brunch was adequate, nothing special and the service was lacking. The restaurant for dinner was wonderful with top notch service, and a varied and interesting menu- the desserts were large enough to share and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We we're RV'ing in Alaska and planned to meet friends in Girdwood for dinner at Seven Glaciers. Needing a break, we decided to book a room in order to sleep in a real bed for a night! After dinner, we had a few drinks in the bar at the resort. Unfortunately the service was slow, took 20+ minutes to get refilled from the bar. I think they were short staffed this night.
The room was clean and fresh smelling! Beds were so comfortable and check-out isn't till noon, which was a huge perk! The staff at the cafe for the breakfast
buffet totally made up for the bar service the night before. We were the last family let in and two young men that served us the morning of 4th of July were so attentive and pleasant! One even gave us to go cups with fresh, hot coffee in them before we left! Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Flying into Anchorage and sailing out of Whittier, this is a perfect stopping point for one or two nights. For nature lovers, this is an awesome hotel, offering hiking trails throughout the resort (it's a ski resort in the winter, but that's long over with come May). The ride to the top of the mountain on the aerial tram is beautiful; can see bears and other wildlife even from far above the ground. It's well worth spending a few extra dollars and having dinner at the Seven Glaciers restaurant. The view is gorgeous and it's a well-renowned spot for great food, having earned a 4-diamond rating for something like 14 or 15 years in a row.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mountain; facing the other way you won't see much more than the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruciatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Love this property--it has so much to offer with great pool area, spa, views are incredible, and the food is excellent at every restaurant. I will base all of my Alaskan fishing trips from this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
19 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
11 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
4 reviews
99.5 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing