We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alyeska
Nearby Hotels
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Inn(Girdwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,318)
Filter reviews
2,318 results
Traveler rating
1,543
527
143
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,543
527
143
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglaciers restaurantski resorthiking trailsmountain topbeautiful hoteltram ridedouble muskyhot tubpond cafeaurora barturnagain armcable carlift ticketsmountain viewski seasonski liftnorthern lights
Filter
Updating list...
1,836 - 1,841 of 2,318 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed one night in mid September and loved the location. The room was great but most of the staff seemed tired of tourist and slightly irritated by our presence. Too bad. Great location coupled with great staff could make this a special place. Average experience as currently managed.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pdquandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel Alyeska was a beautiful place. The resort was tastefully decorated, with plenty of meeting rooms and large spaces for weddings and other functions. On the second level, there were sitting place where clients can gather together comfortably or to access free WIFI internet since it was not available in the guest rooms. Walking through a corridor franked by souvenir shops and coffee/snack places, one would exit the back to a garden with a round about for the local shuttle bus into the town of Girdwood. From there, one can also take a tram to the top of the mountain where a ski resort and a great restaurant “Seven Glaciers” was located. (I would be reviewing the restaurant separately.)

The room we stayed in was spacious, well serviced and quiet, offering the residents a comfortable stay. The furniture was clean and arranged harmoniously with the room’s existing wall color and carpet, making the room a relaxing place to rest. I really could not find anything detracting us from enjoying our stay in this resort. We also had a chance to walk around the ground around the resort where the horticulture was carefully arranged, providing good photographic spots. The only disappointment was the lack of tourist spots around the resort’s general vicinity. The skiing up the back mountain must be beautiful in winter months, but during the warm months, there was not much to see and do for us. The town of Girdwood was small and lack of any meaningful shopping. There were a few nice restaurants with good reputation, but no much more than that for visitors.

Room Tip: We did not have much of a choice for location of the room since we were part of HAL tour group. We were lucky to get a good view, and the room we asked for, a king-bed room was spacious and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolivitaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Alyeska Hotel in Girdwood on our way back to Anchorage. September is a great time to travel in this area as the trees are turning colour and look fabulous. The hotel is well worth a visit, they have some beautiful bronze sculptures of native animals in the grounds and a great stuffed Polar Bear in reception. The Cable Car up to the top of the mountain is well worth a go. (They call it a Tram over there.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Husband and I stayed for only 4 days in late Sept. We realized it was an off-time (priced accordingly) but wanted mostly to relax. The resort itself is beautiful, room was beyond our expectations (only criticism I can think of, bathroom a bit small). The entire place was quiet and restaurants were a treat and not too pricey. The staff was very relaxed and friendly. We swam twice in the beautiful indoor salt-water pool, took the tram a few times, went into Girdwood for dinner one night at awesome restaurant. Some of the on-site (mountain top restaurant) and off-site activities (wildlife conservation) were closed for the season but for the short time we had there, it was absolutely amazing. Too much rain in the area caused some problems (certainly no fault of the resort), but the rain was soul-soothing to us. Picture a beautiful lobby, leather chairs & lamps, fireplace, huge windows facing the mountain, and a good book. mmmmm.

Room Tip: I would recommend the mountain-view rooms, the higher the better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaRFairmontOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My girlfriend has time share, and this was our option for our Alaska trip - lots of great things to recommend about the place - the view was amazing, and the staff was overall very nice ~ let us switch rooms (our first room had an obstructed view of the mt...). Heated towel racks, great water pressure, flat screen TV in the room. Good place to eat breakfast, as it was cheaper than local options in Girdwood. Free coffee, fridge in the room, (buy your food in Anchorage, MUCH cheaper than the local store). Great salt-water pool, hot tub, fitness center. Weird things: the 'info' book for the hotel did NOT include hours of operation for the various restaurants and facilities. If you don't have a laptop, internet access is $7 for 15 minutes. Depending on the season, only some of the hotel restaurants are open (Aurora is year-round). No fans in the bathroom? If you want to ride the tram, $20/person, unless you hike up (trail washed out while we were there, desk staff not helpful in that regard, as they didn't even know), or, you can make a dinner reservation for the Seven Glaciers restaurant - awesome food, but pricey. Cheaper if you skip the wine... stick to beer. Shuttle bus service came in handy... renting a car AT the airport added 28% tax - cheaper if you do it off-site. Overall, the place is great. Would like to return during ski season... .maybe....

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 424 - view blocked by shed on roof. Make sure you face the mt!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keerasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyeskaResort, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Keerasel,

I am glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We are now starting to hand out an info sheet at the Front Desk that has the current hours of operation and any events that may be going on. I recommend contacting our Concierge to set up transportation to and from the airport as we can provide a better rate and follow-up confirmation. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely

Darren Hawes
Operations Manager
The Hotel Alyeska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews