We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort in Alaska”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Resort in Alaska”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I drove from Anchorage for an overnight stay at the Alyeska. We took the tram to the top, just in time to see a rainbow. The restaurant and shop were closed for the season - only open on the weekends. The hotel staff recommended a local restaurant down the road, which was terrific and we had breakfast at the Bakery in the morning. Other than the resort there isn't much around - the so called towncenter of Girdwood consists of a small strip mall. There is a animal habitat for wounded animals that we wanted to visit but it was not open due to the weather.
I think this place must be wonderful in the winter with all the skiers.
We had a room on the 8th floor, which was nice..not 5star but clean, the shower was the best we had in all of Alaska - done right.
I would give this resort 4 stars. I think because it was the end of the season, it was very empty, except for a small conference and I did feel that the price was a tad over the value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco#55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyeskaResort, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Coco#55,

Thank you for posting a review of our resort. We are planning on opening the ski slopes November 21st! Visit our website for a schedule of events in our off season as well as the ski season.

Sincerely

Darren Hawes
Operations Manager
The Hotel Alyeska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    462
    128
    55
    33
See reviews for
624
824
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lockport,il usa
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel was nice and clean, beautiful views/ grounds/lobby-kind of pricey- but somewhat expected for Alaska and this resort. Rooms spacious, modern, refridge, coffee maker, nice views. tram that climbs the mountain, restaurant on top- ski resort in winter.
Rained alot, but pool and hot tub were large and warm, actually able to use salt water pool, unlike many places where the pool is just too cold. Hot tub has view of small lake and mountains. Not too much in town, but Portage Glacier and Whittier not too far away.
Does have a spa, but didn't use it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank econnelly8897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyeskaResort, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
econnelly8897,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our pool and hot tub. Next time you will have to try out our Spa to experience the Moroccan Glow Head to Toe, it’s quite the experience.

Darren Hawes
Operations Manager
The Hotel Alyeska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in August but unfortunately only for one night - would loved to have stayed longer. The place was clean, staff friendly and the restaurant food yummy. I also had a massage in the Spa and this was lovely. The room was all that we wanted and the bed comfortable. Lots of lovely walks in the area also. Would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Alyeska on RCCL land tour. We took the tram and had dinner at Seven Glaciers. The meal was good, I would not say 4-5 star, but good. The view was spectacular until the clouds moved in, but it was still beautiful. Would love to go back and stay a few days during winter!
I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here as part of a land tour package with a cruise line. Hotel was fully outfitted for relaxing, eating and enjoying drinks after a long day of touring. Well stocked bar, we ate at the sushi restaurant and really enjoyed the meal. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The outdoor areas were convenient, beautiful and well kept. The shuttle into town made grabbing breakfast and visiting the kids playground park easy. Highly recommend for a summer trip. No idea what it may be like in the winter during ski season.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent an overnight with friends at this hotel for one of their birthdays. The restaurants were fabulous, the pool/hot tub/sauna were good (though could have been open later in the night), it was clean and upscale. Parking was easy. There are plenty of hiking trails of varying skill levels. I went in summer, and don't ski but I have heard it is marvelous that time of year. the room service was a great value. My friends enjoyed themselves, and I did as well. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a driving holiday prior to cruise. Thank you for all those reviewers that enticed us to stay here rather than drive on to Anchorage. The setting is spectacular amongst the mountains and the resort is landscaped perfectly. Our king room was immaculately clean, deep soaker tub, luxiorious toiletries and turn down service with chocolates.In our short stay we used the hot tub twice because of the view from it. We cannot comment on the restaurants as we went out to eat. If time permitted we would have gladly spent more time here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
19 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
11 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
4 reviews
99.5 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing