We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, convenient location”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at Hotel Alyeska. Having traveled there for a meeting, we received a great rate per night. The location of our room was not ideal, and we didn't have a view, but it was understandable because of the number of hotel guests. The breakfast buffet is not worth the money...not many options. There's an omlet station but no pancakes or waffles available. Recommend ordering from the menu. We rented a car during our trip and found that the hotel was very conveniently located to many great excursions. We did not book any through the hotel, however. We booked directly online and drove to our excursions. The hiking trails behind the hotel are excellent. Try the north face trail to get all the way up the mountain. For beginners it will take about 2 hours. It leads directly to the museum and restaurant on the top of the mountain. We ate at the restaurant and rode the gondola down. After our hike, we wanted a massage but since the couples massage at the spa was so pricey we went to Andie at Aurora Bodywork in downtown Girdwood -- near the Mercantile -- about a 5 minute walk. She was fabulous!!!! And a fraction of the price. Highly recommend. Also, for breakfast away from the hotel, I recommend The Bake Shop, which is about a 15 minute hike from the hotel. Just follow the Blueberry Pancak trail to the ski lift and cross the little bridge near the creek. Delicious breakfast!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amicabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Glaciers is awasome for food. The hotel is very nice with a great spa and pool area. Ski shop is fully loaded with everything you need if you have nothing. Easy access to ski lift and bus service all over the place from the hotel at no cost. Nice

Room Tip: Dont have the buffet for breakfast. Had it two times and two visits and both time was terrible. made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just returned from eight nights in Girdwood Alaska where we stayed at the wonderful Alyeska Hotel and Resort. An extremely quiet and comfortable room, great staff, and amenities such as a salt water pool, hot tub, a fully-equipped exercise room and sauna (dry heat, which we do not enjoy). A great little Starbucks snack bar was perfect for those who do not want heavy breakfast food, and the Aurora Bar had great food and drinks. Try the "Mary Go Smoked" bloody Mary! Definitely splurge one night and enjoy exquisitely prepared food at Seven Glaciers, a short ride up the tram. Views are amazing, and as we sat down at the bar to enjoya cocktail before dinner, a mother and her cub were climbing their way up the mountain that is seen behind the glass windowed bar. Bartender David also kept us entertained. The North Slope hike will take you from the lodge to the restaurant, which we did, but not on dinner date night. Took a train to Whittier and missed our public transportation on our return. A call to the hotel had a van there in less than ten minutes. For those who enjoy the rugged outdoors but the comfort of a great hotel, the Alyeska Resort cannot be beat!

Room Tip: We simply asked for a room at the top floor that was open as we do not want the slightest noise abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Alyeska is a gorgeous place, nestled in the midst of the mountains with plenty of good hiking trails and bike paths--we loved it!
The room was nicely decorated with good amenities but a bit cramped.
The pool was to die for! We had it to ourselves most of the time and it overlooked those mountains. It was wonderful.
We ate at the Japanese restaurant for dinner (expensive with slow service) and the breakfast buffet (not great with good service, but hard to complain as it was included with the room)
It is a large hotel so you don't receive a lot of attention from the staff--you feel like an anonymous guest. This is compounded by the fact that it is full of cruise ship travelers. For us it was not a big deal because the rest of the resort was terrific and in late summer it was a great value! Far nicer than the hotels we stayed in in Homer and Seward for a similar price!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Alyeska when visiting the area on vacation. I was very excited to get to the resort based on the reviews as well as beautiful pictures I saw online. Unfortunately, my husband and I were disappointed and would have rather spent our money at the Embassy Suites that we stayed in while in Anchorage. I felt that Alyeska was lacking several things, and for the price should be greatly improved.

1. I took a shower as soon as we got to the resort because we just spent the day hiking and needed to clean up. I got into the shower and there was hair all over the place, and appeared dirty. The fixtures in the bathroom, and the room were very outdated and old.

2. There is a small refrigerator in each room and coffee pot. I had take leftovers from dinner (from one of their restaurants!) back to the room, not remembering that there wasn't a microwave. When I called the front desk they stated that there wasn't a microwave other than in the kitchen, and this was not available for public use. I think this is silly, as most modern hotels have this as convenience for their guests. Typically if there isn't a microwave in the room, there is one in a public area that can be used by guests.

3. There is no WiFi available in the rooms, and is only available on floors 1 through 3. You will notice crowds of guests sitting on the first and second floors in order to use their cellphones or other devices. I think in 2012 that Wifi should be an expected amenity, especially for the price of this resort.

4. There is a small convenience type store on the second floor that sells gifts and snacks. We stopped in and got a small container of ice cream as we wanted to relax in our room for the night. When we checked out and asked for a spoon, the woman working there looked at us like we were crazy and said they didn't have anything for us to use to eat the ice cream that they sell in their store. We went to the front desk where the front desk worker was able to scrounge up one spoon for the both of us to use.

All in all, Girdwood was a beautiful place and we had a fun time exploring. I only wish that this resort would take the time and money to do some basic updates so that guests could get their money's worth! If Hotel Alyeska could take some time in making sure that their guests are more comfortable it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyeskaResort, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Elizabeth W,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Alyeska. We do have future plans to have wireless in all of our rooms. Our website states our current internet availability and our printing services.
I apologize that the Sundry Shop had run out of spoons when you were there. Our staff is more than willing to supply utensils at your request.
We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and we look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Sincerely

Darren Hawes
Operations Manager
The Hotel Alyeska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Alyeska Sep 4-10. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. We dined at the sports bar and the burger was great. We also had dinner at 7 Glaciers on top of the mountain. It is a little pricey, $125-200 for dinner. Dinner was great and the views amazing.

We used the hotel as a hub to visit Portage, Whittier and Seward. It worked out well for day trips.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was by far my favorite hotel/resort that we stayed at during our recent trip to Alaska (and was not part of a cruise). The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful. We ordered room service because our view was fantastic and we were too lazy to walk to the restaurant...food was superb. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Alaska.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
28 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 126 in Anchorage
10 reviews
11.6 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
8 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range: $146 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing