We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy [belated] Valentine's Day”

Bud and Carol's B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bud and Carol's B & B
Ranked #3 of 10 Girdwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Thanks to Carol for being so accommodating! (our travel [airline] plans got changed twice, and we had to arrive in Girdwood at ~02:30in the morning ; also DW says ‘Thanks!’ for letting her borrow some snowboots, until our luggage arrived much later that day…!). Room & bath were great ; breakfast was wonderful (gotta love the fresh baked bread…!). Great location for skiing (Carol makes a great ‘Mountain Guide’ for skiing too). Couldn’t ask for a better Hostess!

Room Tip: Arlberg Room is the larger of the two (w/ a futon & large closet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very nice B and B, the breakfast had a lot of variety and was very filling. We never actually met Carol, but spoke with her several times over email and the phone. She seemed very nice and accomodating! She gave us lots of information on local restaurants and things to do. The room was VERY clean. I was impressed. The location is convenient and walking distance to several restaurants. We would stay here again. Definitely check out Portage Valley, hike to Byron Glacier and the Alyeska Tram.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meggoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a purpose built B&B and it really works to perfection. We were two couples travelling together,we each had our own large room with ensuite which was very clean and comfortable with good quality linens. We also had use of a full kitchen with everything we needed to make a meal, so nice not to have to go out looking for somewhere to eat.

Carol had been in early and left us fruit, eggs and fresh bread, we could help ourselves to cereals, yoghurt, milk, tea, coffee and juices. She popped in later to meet us and chat, delightful lady. Some other establishments could take lessons from her, Carol, you should start a B&B school.
What an absolute pleasure it was to stay, we only wish it was for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent one night at Bud & Carols in Girdwood, AK during our Alaska vacation (Aug 12-20, 2013). It was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Carol was really nice and she shared some great places to see while we were in Girdwood. Her fresh made bread was incredible. We will definitely stay there again.

The small black bear roaming the streets in the morning was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nowlinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed one night and would recommend this B & B. i was able to mail clothing I needed for a wedding prior to my arrival and it was waiting for me on my bed upon arrival. I was having back spasms and Carol allowed an early check in and offered me ice packs. Its clean, tidy and private. The only bear sighting on my weeks vacation was at the B & B, right beside my vehicle. I would come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanaBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Girdwood is a peaceful small town just off the Turnagain Arm, surrounded by mountains in a real alpine setting. It makes a welcome change after the hustle and bustle of Anchorage. It is well situated for hiking, a trip up the mountain on the Alyeska tram and for a cruise from Whittier/Portage. Carol and Buds is a delightful B&B - there are two rooms both with all facilities including TV, and a well equipped communal kitchen. Carol even makes fresh bread every day for her guests. Carol is a lovely bubbly lady and spends just enough time chatting to her guests and passing on advice on things to do. Sadly Bud has passed on but Carol has enough energy for three people!
Carol and Buds can be recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Carol's for 2 nights and would recommend this place. It's clean, new, spacious, nice bathroom and we loved the idea of sharing the kitchen. We hike and need lunches so having a refrigerator is a must. We also cooked our dinners. Carol supplies a breakfast of cereals, eggs, fruit, juice, yogurt and a loaf of fresh bread. I liked that she changed the towels; and such nice fluffy towels. She's great too! We hiked Crow Pass which was our favorite hike.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venusalberta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girdwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bud and Carol's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bud and Carol's B & B

Address: 211 Brighton Road, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587-0767
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Girdwood
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bud & Carol's B&B has been accommodating guests in the beautiful Girdwood Valley, home of Alyeska Year Round & Ski Resort since 1999. Bud & Carol's is located just 45 minutes from the Anchorage Ted Stevens International Airport. Bud & Carol's is located at the base of the ski area & on the free Glacier Valley Transit route which transports guests throughout the Valley. Bud & Carol's has 2 bedrooms & a fully equipped kitchen. Each bedroom has a queen bed, cable TV, private bath. Bud & Carol's is ideal for 4 guests who wish to rent the entire facility--2 guests in each room. Lots of space & privacy!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing