We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Girdwood
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ski Inn(Girdwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Whittier(Whittier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkwood Inn(Anchorage)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle River Motel(Eagle River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
120
20
8
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
20
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble muskyb bserved upstairsdirectly across the streetfriendly hostsalaskan wildlifecomfortable bedfamily roomstayed longerrefrigerator and microwavekitchen areaour night stayenjoyed our stayprivate bathdefinitely stay here againturnagain armthe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 152 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had the place with another couple we were traveling with and none of us were quite sure why we weren't offered breakfast. Other than that it was a very nice stay. The place is beautiful and our hostess very cordial. Her husband is an awesome builder.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Pharmwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We are so sorry these folks had a misunderstanding. We do offer the option of renting individual B&B rooms or taking the place privately as the Suite, without hosting or breakfast. In this situation the guests chose the Suite, as they were not sure about the "B&B experience" They booked several months in advance and forgot about choosing this as a private rental along with not noting the no-breakfast in the confirmation letter. We thank them for taking the time to write and so glad they enjoyed the place, we are just sorry about the misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Carriage House for 2 nights while in Girdwood. Beautiful post and beam home built by innkeepers husband. All the rooms are downstairs with a small kitchen in middle of space. The kitchen worked out well for my husband who gets up early and wants coffee. The rooms are a little small but has plenty on room for your bags. No sitting area inside room but you are in Alaska why would you want the sit in your room? Can be a little noisy if other guest head out early, come in late or move around common areas if they are not mindful of their environment. All the guess we met were extremely nice and easy to talk to. Rachel was a wonderful host. They have a lab named Stella who was really sweat. The upstairs area where breakfast was served was beautiful. Inn is very short walk to Girdwood. I would recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dez29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, the rooms at the Carriage House are cozy, but include everything you might need with the highest quality beds and bedding for a great nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just a wonderful feel to this place. You can't go wrong. Rooms are very nice, very clean, very homey. Then up to the dining area - - - WHOA! Breakfast was terrific and Rachel was very helpful in giving advise to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazungulaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

The dining area, originally designed to host diners for our horse-drawn carriage & sleigh rides, is a 30 foot vaulted ceiling exposing the massive post and beam timber frame structure with large windows exposing the gorgeous mountains and glaciers right outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I spent only one night in this stunningly beautiful house, presided over by the charming and welcoming Rachel, and would most definitely return. Our room on the ground floor was very comfortable with great shower (very useful was the shampoo/gel dispenser instead of messy little bottles). There was a small kitchen adjacent so we could make tea, etc when we wanted. Rachel provided excellent information and helped us get the most out of our short stay. Breakfast was taken in the large dining/sitting room and was one of the nicest breakfasts of our whole trip. The house is truly gorgeous, complemented by artwork and lots of interesting objects to enjoy. Thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaffyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We look forward to your return and so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our first stop in Alaska was this amazing bed and breakfast. Rachel was great, the room was perfect, and did I mention the blueberry pancakes! They are a great resource for things to do while in Alaska. We went to the Crow Creek Mine for a gold mining day with Spencer, drove down to Six Mile Creek for river rafting and hiked in the area. Close enough to Anchorage for a convenient first stop. We stayed three days. A definite must stay. Rachel was very gracious-did I mention the blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolt4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Accommodations - Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Girdwood is a great place to pick blue berries in August, but you have to share them with the black bears, so make noise while picking, or we'll do the picking for you and serve them in your pancakes =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews