We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tram, mountains, glaciers and views”

Alyeska Aerial Tram
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional...
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tram, mountains, glaciers and views”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

For my birthday some friends and I visited Girdwood and rode the tram up the mountain. The cost was a bit pricey but the views were outstanding. We picked a good day as the rain had abated and we could see across the valley to some glaciers, Turnagin Arm inlet (?), and down the hillside to watch a lot of racers running up the hiking trails for a charity race. It was a great view but the biting flies drove us back in to tour the gift shop and then down the hillside. If we had our bug dope, we might have considered trying a few of the hiking trails. We didn't try the food places as we had planned on eating in Girdwood. Also I am not sure that it is wheelchair accessible due to the stairs after you get off the tram. It was a great way to enjoy the sights of the mountain.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jav9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    194
    57
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great views friendly staff.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If the weather is in your favor to see some distance, an excellent way to see some scenery. The staff is very friendly. The museum at the top has som great information about avalanche abatement.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It's a tram!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great views and a nice ride to the top. My wife and I went in late summer 2012 on just a tram ride. I've ridden the tram during ski season as well.

However, to speak to the tram ride during the summer months, I will mention a few things.

It is expensive for what it is. You do get some great views, but there isn't much to do or see beyond that unless you plan a hike, to drop in with a mountain bike, or have dinner reservations.

Make sure that the museum is open at the top. It wasn't when we got there, and we were disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Views that Can't be Beat!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The tram ride was smooth and fun, and the facilities at the top of the mountain made for good viewing spots. The best part is the Seven Glaciers Lounge at the Seven Glaciers Restaurant where they make you drinks using ice from the glaciers....awesome!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birds Eye View!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The area is beautiful and we enjoyed the little town of Girdwood as nice stop along the Seward Hwy. We also stayed at a nice B&B just a mile or so down the road. If it's a pretty day I'd suggest a stop at the tram to "smell the roses" as they say. Great long range views! BTW, after 8 pm they only charged us $10 which is half off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank barrettsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alyeska Aerial Tram also viewed

 

Been to Alyeska Aerial Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing