We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local history”
Review of Crow Creek Mine

Crow Creek Mine
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Girdwood Canyoneering Adventure
Ranked #11 of 39 things to do in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crow Creek Mine is a family owned and operated Historical and Recreational Gold Mine. Nestled in a very beautiful mountain setting, Crow Creek Mine offers the oldest buildings in the Anchorage area, 1898, as well as some of the most popular recreational Gold Mining in all of Alaska. You will find everyone from your first time miner just hoping for a few flecks, up to actual gold miners who have been working these grounds on a very serious level. For those not intersted in the panning or sluicing experience, the property is very scenic for pictures and is a very popular wedding destination, it is even fun to just sit and watch some of the more experienced crews of miners as they work. While most visitors coming in for sightseeing or panning don't need reservations, we do offer private guided tours for those of you wanting a bit more out of your experience. Not only do you learn more about the property and gold in general, but the gold mining experience of our staff and knowledge of the property is always a big help in having a succesful outing!!! Feel free to contact us for any questions regarding our business or the Girdwood area in general. Girdwood makes for great day trips from anchorage and is on the way for anyone headed to Portage, Seward, Kenai, or Homer. Our road is a bit bumpy and unmaintained between October and May, but come June 1st every year the state does a great job of fixing it, you can always contact us for road conditions if concerned. Thanks for viewing our business, we look forward to meeting you soon,
Canandaigua
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local history”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was closed for the season, but we drove in, and it seemed like it would definitely be worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank keerasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    84
    19
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great experience for our 10 yr old granddaughter”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Drive a few miles up the hill along Crow Creek til you get here. It's been rebuilt to look like an old mining camp, and there are several functions there like weddings, charity events, etc. You pay $20 and he gives you a demo with a pan on how to find the gold, and a little vial of sand "guaranteed" to have a few gold flakes in it. He gives you a pan and a shovel, and points at a trail to the creek. Then you walk about a quarter mile to the creek, and start panning. There were a lot of people there when we got there, some were obviously pretty serious, most were just tourists like us. PS: We didn't find any gold, except for some from the vial of "starter kit" sand. It was clear though, that there is still "gold in them thar hills!"

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowCreekMine, Manager at Crow Creek Mine, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Im glad you enjoyed your visit!!! Just wanted you to know that we didn't "rebuild" these buildings to look historical, they are the originals and are historic... Thanks for the visit, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to alaska as well! Nate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a hike!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A lovely drive to trailhead and because there was an overnight snowfall---called termination snow in Alaska talk---young people hiked four miles up to snowboard down the other side (and then they had to return).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a fun place, daughter and husband panned for gold for 3/4 of a day and I spent the time taking pictures of the buildings and plants that the park is covered in. We stayed at the mine the night before for $10, then spent the day enjoying ourselves.
It has a 10 fee to enter and to pan you add 10 more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun couple of hours.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very pretty area, and lots of options to take pictures among the historic items (ie buildings, equipment, etc). Everything has wildflowers growing around or in them. My daughters enjoyed panning for gold in the creek, and the workers were very helpful to insure everyone had fun and did it safely. Finished the day with dinner at the Double Muskey, and ride up the arial tram at the Alyeska Ski Resort.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mustang2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow Creek Mine also viewed

 

Been to Crow Creek Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing