We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, restful place”
Review of Crow Creek Mine

Crow Creek Mine
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Girdwood Canyoneering Adventure
Ranked #11 of 39 things to do in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crow Creek Mine is a family owned and operated Historical and Recreational Gold Mine. Nestled in a very beautiful mountain setting, Crow Creek Mine offers the oldest buildings in the Anchorage area, 1898, as well as some of the most popular recreational Gold Mining in all of Alaska. You will find everyone from your first time miner just hoping for a few flecks, up to actual gold miners who have been working these grounds on a very serious level. For those not intersted in the panning or sluicing experience, the property is very scenic for pictures and is a very popular wedding destination, it is even fun to just sit and watch some of the more experienced crews of miners as they work. While most visitors coming in for sightseeing or panning don't need reservations, we do offer private guided tours for those of you wanting a bit more out of your experience. Not only do you learn more about the property and gold in general, but the gold mining experience of our staff and knowledge of the property is always a big help in having a succesful outing!!! Feel free to contact us for any questions regarding our business or the Girdwood area in general. Girdwood makes for great day trips from anchorage and is on the way for anyone headed to Portage, Seward, Kenai, or Homer. Our road is a bit bumpy and unmaintained between October and May, but come June 1st every year the state does a great job of fixing it, you can always contact us for road conditions if concerned. Thanks for viewing our business, we look forward to meeting you soon,
Nyesville, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute, restful place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

With the beautiful weather it was a fun little side trip. Great variety of outdoor wooden structures, antique implements and trails. Would have liked a little outdoor snack place but they did offer canned sodas cooled off in a stream--great ambience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    85
    20
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Really cool thing to do with kids - we did find gold and it was a great morning out. Take some cold drinks and make a morning of it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a gem in Gridwood!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was an awesome day trip. Our family enjoyed the sites. Everything is beautifully maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We took our pans and shovel and spent the afternoon panning away. It was a great experience. Our daughter had fun and learned about mining. We would recommend this site.

Helpful?
Thank Emmy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice historical site, fun day trip from Anchorage”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is the third time my family has come out to Crow Creek from Anchorage. It was early in the season (very end of May, 2012) after a very rough winter with record-breaking snow, and the trails were muddy. Note to self: bring boots next time! Doh! Fee is $10 per person, and we had a brief lesson on how to pan for gold and headed down to the creek. I enjoy seeing the old buildings, going in the ones that are open, and peeking in the windows of the others (that are not private residence space, ha ha). It's a very pretty setting and clearly great care has been taken to make the old buildings have historical accuracy.

My son was frustrated to not find any gold in the creek, but as an Alaskan he knows it isn't easy to find gold. "Panning" the gold out of the bags of dirt and gold that we were given was fun anyway. I wish I had known that there are more trails and places to explore on the grounds, and maybe next time we can get a map or more info about this. I just learned about this from reading other's posts on this site.

This is a fun place to visit, a pretty setting on a sunny summer day, and makes for a great place to bring visiting out-of-state guests.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at the mine”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had dinner at Crow Creek Mine. The food was delicious and the miners we talked to were very knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank syazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow Creek Mine also viewed

 

Been to Crow Creek Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing