We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was ample”
Review of The Bake Shop

The Bake Shop
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A touch of gourmet in the homemade. Serving Alaska's best breakfast for every visitor in Girdwood, Alaska, we offer delicious, cozy homemade breakfasts. Sit down and let the smell of fresh baked bread, bacon and steaming coffee fill your nose as you pour golden maple syrup over a stack of hot sourdough pancakes. Try one of our famous sweet rolls or take home a loaf of our homemade Alyeska Sourdough Bread. Perhaps you visit for lunch to indulge in a bowl of our hearty bottomless soup and a sandwich, all made daily from the freshest ingredients. Welcome to The Bake Shop experience! Stefanie & Michael
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
288 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Breakfast was ample”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Friendly staff, quick service and good food. Coffee was good too. All around good place to eat breakfast. It was crowded so seating was limited but service was great and the food fresh and hot. I had scrambled eggs and potatoes. It was good. We also met some local Alaskans and had a nice talk over breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    118
    38
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Girdwood's friendliest restaurant”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

As Alaska residents we've taken delight in stopping by this cozy restaurant at the foot of Mt. Alyeska for years, enjoying their wonderful homemade soups, sourdough rolls, sandwiches and warm and friendly ambience. Not only great food, but fun, and you never know whom you're going to run into, as The Bake Shop attracts an eclectic crowd, everyone from dedicated local skiers and hikers to visitors from all over the world.
Of late, we've discovered that they also serve excellent breakfast entrees, and one of the best is their generous bowls of outstanding oatmeal, which raisons, brown sugar and cream in their separate little containers on the tray. This is by far the best oatmeal I've ever eaten, and if you ask the owner, he will tell you just how to make it at home yourself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hookedonBristolBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great grilled pastrami and cheese!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great place for lunch! We had grilled pastrami and cheese as wells as grilled ham and cheese and plain old grilled cheese. All were great with generous portions of meat. If you are worried about fat or greasy stay away from these yummy sandwiches.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KanataCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I found this place deep in Girdwood from a sign on the main highway, Alaska Rt. 1, but not without some difficulty. We almost gave up a couple of times. In any event, we found it and had lunch. We could have easily split one of the Paul Bunyon-size sandwiches. Our sandwiches were very good, and the service was fine (bakery/deli style). I'd go back, now that I know how to order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quintessential Girdwood in Attitude and Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Bake Shop is a Girdwood institution (and they know it). The food is good with a heavy emphasis on a "breakfast all day" approach. The service, particularly by the owner, is less than friendly. Heaven forbid you present a credit card or ask why they don't take them. I challenge you to spend ten minutes in line without hearing that exchange. If the Bake Shop had more competition or depended on a more local population they would be forced to up their game with regards to service and friendliness. As it is they can get by on a captive population of tourists and skiers who don't have many other choices at the base of the mountain. That said, if you have cash in your pocket and you can tune out the poor service, grab the bottomless soup and a table outside. The view is free and doesn't cop an attitude.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bake Shop also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to The Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing