We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Musky Inn

Double Musky Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Get there early! We waited about an hour in the bar to be seated. The place was quite busy, we arrived about 30 minutes after they had opened on a Saturday afternoon in an attempt to get seated early. Other diners who arrived 30 minutes after us were told 90 minutes to a 2 hour wait...the Girdwood Forest Fair (7-6-13) was happening at the same time and the usual tourist visitors compounded the demand for dinner seating as well. It was well worth the wait, we had 4 in our party, we did ask for a menu while in the bar to speed up our meal decisions before we were seated, it turned out to be a good idea for us and saved the waitress a trip since we ordered as the menu were given to us and she recited the specials...one special was the Prime Rib was not on the menu, but ordered by one in our party, two of us ordered the Peppered New York Steak while the last order was for Fried Shrimp. The Prime rib was a generous portion and superbly prepared to "medium" as requested, and just as described on the menu. The same goes for the New York Peppered Steaks, a rare and a medium rare ordered, cooked and served just as described on the menu, also generous servings...the service staff was very good considering the busy crowd and the tight quarters with a majority of the tables at capacity. All in all it was a very good meal and well worth the trip...we would do it all again...just get there earlier...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank huntak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    139
    70
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect meal in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Double Musky and it topped my first visit, which was an accomplishment! I had the Sockeye Salmon special, which was very special indeed -- succulent, melt-in-my-mouth deliciousness! I topped off dinner with a generous piece of blueberry pie. Delish! All the breads and sauces are homemade and not to be rivaled anywhere. If you have the opportunity, take the time to dine here. Well worth the wait, unless you get there early (5:00 pm opening).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pimadosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy Place, Good Food, Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had dinner for 3. Very busy place, but still able to be seated right away. Service was quick. Food was good to very good, value for your dollar is not.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaCay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Double Musky mmm-mmm-good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is by far my favorite restaurant in Alaska! The short drive to Girdwood from Anchorage is beautiful. I have tried almost everything on the menu and have never been disappointed. My favorite dish is the Garlic seafood pasta and my husbands is the Pepper Steak. They come in large portions so be prepared to take some leftovers home with you. The dessert menu is mouthwatering to say the least, our favorite, Double Musky pie is a chewy chocolate brownie type pie topped with whipped cream and not to be missed. Usually crowded unless you come right at opening time, it is well worth the wait so stick around and have a great evening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murrayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
303 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in an interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had an hour wait here and the time passes quickly as the place is so full of "stuff" on the walls and ceilings you barely notice time going by as you try to see all of it. This place is loud and busy. The menu has a nice selection of food and it is much more reasonably priced than anywhere else we ate in Alaska. I had copper river red salmon, which had just become available, and it was to die for. The portion was huge and I had no room to eat all the vegetables and potato that the plate included. Luckily I only had one piece of bread before the meal (it was hard to not have another) and we decided to pass on appetizers at the bar (good thing as we saw some orders and they were large - we wouldn't have been able to do our meal justice). Service was top notch - our water was refilled immediately, plates were removed when cleared, and our server stopped back frequently to check on us. This was the best meal we had during our trip and I'm trying to figure out how we can stop here again on our next trip to Alaska even though we'll be heading north. A definite YES!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EWR-NJ-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Musky Inn also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Double Musky Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing