We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”
Review of Double Musky Inn

Double Musky Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Fairmont OK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent place hidden in the area. Great Staff. Huge, tasty Pepper Steak-excellent quality beef!!! They offer a good selection of cajun food but not what we chose. Good attention of the staff. Could be a real party place with a group, but we were just a couple. Great ambiance in the bar area. Took shuttle bus there from Alyeska Resort and the drop-off/pick-up service was exceptional. A real unique experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarciaRFairmontOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    145
    73
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Cajun cooking in Alaska”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I lived in Baton Rouge for several years and had the good fortune to eat at John Folse's restaurant, Emeril's and other restaurants in the French Quarter. Much to my surprise and pleasure I found a restaurant that is equally excellent and it's right here in Alaska!! The Cajun stuffed mushrooms, and crawfish fondue was world class. The filet mignon, crab stuffed halibut and jambalaya were top notch. And you definitely owe it to yourself to have a slice of their Double Musky pie for dessert. The atmosphere and service are the greatest. If you ever find yourself driving the Seward Highway to or from Anchorage, take the time to stop in Girdwood and treat yourself to an authentic Cajun meal. You won't be disappointed, I guarantee. (Justin Wilson said it best)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ordered to go but had drinks and a great time looking at all the items collected from travelers over the years. It's like a veritable museum!

The food was delicious and plentiful and the price was actually LESS than what we pay in the San Francisco area!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WomenOutForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of going back just for the halibut!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The wife and I found the Double Musky almost by accident. Turned out to be the best meal we had in Alaska during our weeklong visit. Was surprised to see a line because this place is really back in the woods. As soon as we saw all the cars parked there we knew we had to give it a try. Had some Halibut Bites as we waited at the bar for a table to open. Man they were fantastic! I loved the truly eclectic nature of the place and the staff there made you feel completely welcomed. Food was fantastic. Have been recommending the Double Musky to anyone we know that will be tyravelling to AK and we can't wait to get back there ourselves.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“OVER HYPED and OVER PRICED!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Restaurant is noisy and gaudy. Food is mediocre and service is rushed. Gumbo was awful, as the roux was burned, so it had to be sent back. Entrees had little flavor other than too much Cajun seasoning, and they were greasy. For the best food in Girdwood go to the Hotel Alyeska's Aurora Bar & Grill. Food is much better and less expensive, service is excellent and the view is wonderful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Musky Inn also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Double Musky Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing