We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bells or whistles here, great service”
Review of Aurora Bar & Grill

Aurora Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“No bells or whistles here, great service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at alyeska a week ago, and we had at an amazing stay! We ate at several places in this wonderful town, and everything was great from seven G's to sprats, to Sakura...
When we planned to dine at the aurora we honestly didn't go in with huge expectations considering it's the hotel restaurant spot... Burgers quick italian pastas and cardboard pizza... But what really stood out for me, was the service. My server, trey, was so kind and genuine, with a great big smile and a guffaw of a laugh! He truly made our time there well worth it! I got such a great vibe from him and the way he spoke about Girdwood and the resort. It's rare in seasonal resorts-with it's rotating door of staff members, to find employees this genuine and who actually care beyond the basics of water and food ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _-rowdy_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    60
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Alyeska Resort Eats”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

When you're in Alyeska, choices are slim for restaurants much less good food. It was late and we didn't want to drive anywhere so because it was off season, choices were even slim here at the Alyeska resort. The Aurora Bar & Grill was the only place available to us. The environment was warm and comfortable with great chill music in the background and a lovely fireplace with a fire to add to the ambiance. Because it is a bar as well, there were 2 large flat screens with a game going on in the background with the volume off. We ordered a pizza and drinks. The drinks were pricey but good, but the pizza was just fair. What stood out was the service. A waitperson by the name of Taylor served us. Taylor gave us genuine courteous exemplary service. For service and quick no nonsense eats Aurora Bar & Grill gets kudos.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firepois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The crab gratin and the atmosphere were the best things about our visit. We sat at the bar and the bartender maybe spoke to us three times the entire time we were there. The seafood chowder was pretty bland. Also, a little pricey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 721elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“You have got to eat the Greek pizza!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

There are many places to eat pizza and drink beer, all of them pretty good, probably. This pizza, here at the Aurora Bar & Grill, the Greek pizza especially, was awesome!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were starving from walking around the hotel.. We didnt want to eat alot, and there were several choices, however this one was slightly smaller and fewer guests , It had a nice view.. We were waited on immediately and had bloody mary's from the bar, and then we split the tenderloin and dessert.. Just perfect

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trixie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Aurora Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing