We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING DAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chugach Adventures

Chugach Adventures
Ranked #3 of 11 Tours in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Chugach Adventures. We offer trips for all adventure levels, all ages & all abilities. Touch an iceberg!
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING DAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We caught the train in Portage, so it was a 20 minute train ride (if that). If you can catch the train in Anchorage or Seward, you will get a lot more scenery. Spencer Lake should not be missed if visiting Alaska. Rafting through a field of icebergs of all different shapes, sizes and colors was mind blowing. The float trip down the river was cool and relaxing. My 17 year old would have like more rapids, but he did enjoy the trip. We would do it again in a heartbeat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    7
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“What an Afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked this trip through Alaska Rail and chose it for the opportunity to get "off the highways". We picked up the train at Portage around 1pm. A short train trip up the Placer Valley to Spencer whistlestop and you are taken by your guides on an old bus out to the Spencer Glacier Lake. Here you help yourselves to a very well thought out lunch selection - an open air sandwich bar with hot soup & water also available. After lunch, the guides split the group into raft groups of 6-8 people and following a safety briefing everyone slides onto their raft for a wonderful soft adventure trip. Firstly we rowed (well our guide did) across the lake amongst the icebergs toward the face of the glacier. It was fascinating to see these icebergs up so close. We then turned for our run down the river - spotting wildlife and beaver activity along the way. On return to the dock the train (which has been to Grandview) picks you up for the journey back to your point of origin. We returned to Portage by around 5pm but train travellers going back to Anchorage had the option of staying on the train and returning via Whittier or taking a coach transfer directly back to Anchorage.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“take the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

this is an easy, easy day trip for visiting families and cautious river runners. You ride a train, float a river, see the glacier and just enjoy the outdoors--it's a beautiful journey with fun guides.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank seetheworld2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“For Alaska, this was average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The trip to Spencer Glacier/Lake involves a short train ride (depending on which train station you start from), a short bus ride down to the lake, and then a rafting trip partially around the lake, but mostly just floating down the river. Before actually getting onto the rafts, a nice little lunch was provided.

The lake area is a great site, especially having the glacier and many icebergs in the lake. The float trip, however, for Alaska standards, was very ordinary. The float was very very slow. It was scenic, but, again, considering other options in and around the area, it was a little boring.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tshell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska, USA
1 review
“Fantastic Float Trip with Great Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Went on the Glacier Discovery Float

Very cool that this trip includes the train ride from Girdwood or Anchorage. It's cool to get off the train at Spencer lake where no cars can access and then load up the raft and gear at the end of the trip straight from the river.

Spencer Glacier is fantastic and to raft among the glacial icebergs at the start of the trip rocked! We were able to get up close enough to the icebergs to reach out and touch them. The mountains along the river are really beautiful.

The guides were fun and knowledgeable. They managed the trip and group very well from the moment we made it to the train station.

I would highly recommend this trip for a fun & relaxing day in Alaska!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank AKRyanSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chugach Adventures also viewed

Girdwood, Anchorage
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Chugach Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing