We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike!”
Review of Alyeska Ski Area

Alyeska Ski Area
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Turnagain Arm Tour
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular winter recreation resort for skiers that features 2,000 vertical feet of skiing on 27 trails.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel Aleska contracts hiking with Ascending Path. The desk clerks messed up my 10am hike. The concierge got me upgraded to an better Alpine/glacier expedition at 1pm, for no extra charge. Wow! Thank you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    76
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Alyeska Ahh”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well we spent the last night of our 17 day vacation at the resort. We had an awesome dinner on site at the grille, with rib eye steak, bloody mary's, and cheesecake for dessert. We took a, nice stroll around the grounds, and even took the summer ski Tram all the way up to 7 Glaciers and took several photos.
We went swimming in the salt water pool, had a hot hot jacuzzi, and a great night's sleep. the entire staff was welcoming and friendly
While we were there we happened to see a high profile wedding and it was stunning background.. just like a fairy tale

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“non-skiers”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

august was a nice time to visit the alyeska area. several things to do in the immediate area. the resort has restaurants, shops, beautiful views and is very quiet for visitors. i would stay here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marijane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views from the mountain top”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The area is beautiful. We took the tram up to the top of the mountain, from which you have great views of 7 glaciers in the surrounding mountains. There are trails available if you want to hike up the mountain, too. The lodge at the base is beautiful, although we just walked through it. Definitely worth the money to ride the tram up and see the view!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakley,mi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scenic views”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like nature and come to Alaska, this is a must. Depending on the time of year you can see skiers, snow boarders and snowmobilers or para sailers jumping off the mountain side. The view is nothing but breathtaking. Take the tram to the top and you will see where Olympians travel to train and practice. Absoulutely fabulous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alyeska Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Alyeska Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing