We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Portage Glacier
from $60.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
from $169.00
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
601
247
69
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
247
69
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride visitor center hour cruise top deck park ranger frozen lake forest service global warming blue ice salmon spawning day trip close view seward highway beautiful drive beautiful scenery beautiful area sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 931 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Take the boat to the glacier - well worth the cost - crew was excellent and we had a great time...................................

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank fletchfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to the Portage Glacier visitor center.the center is very nice. The employees are very informed & pleasant. They told us about the Portage Glacier Cruises. We sped over there & got to the boat just in time to board for the 4:30 trip. The Captain took us across the lake close to the glacier. It was amazing being so close. There were also some good sized Icebergs. The crew were great. This was a wonderful experience.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank 11JeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stopped here while on a tour because the driver said there was a huge iceberg on the lake. I was amazed at the color of the ice. It was so blue!!! The visitor center is very nice with exhibits. I watched a movie also which lasted 20 minutes. Definately worth a visit. Make sure to stop and see the spawning salmon at the viewing area!!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was very clean, excellent parking. The Visitor center was very nice and the staff could answer all your questions. I was a little disappointed that we couldn't see the Glacier from the Center without taking a hike.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Of everything we saw and did in 16 days in Alaska, this was one of the highlights. The small icebreaker took us right to the glacier where we got GREAT photos, It was absolutely beautiful with waterfalls along the route and spectacular scenery in every direction. I would recommend this over any other thing in the Anchorage area. The view was spectacular on the drive from Anchorage along the Turnagain Arm, where we saw a herd of Doll Sheep on a mountainside and a moose. Spectacular! If there were a space for Excellent-Plus, this site would definitely get that mark!!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank travltnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews