We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Portage Glacier
from $60.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
from $169.00
More Info
from $845.00
More Info
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveler rating
599
243
69
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
243
69
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride visitor center hour cruise top deck park ranger frozen lake forest service global warming blue ice salmon spawning day trip close view seward highway beautiful drive beautiful scenery beautiful area sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 925 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Of everything we saw and did in 16 days in Alaska, this was one of the highlights. The small icebreaker took us right to the glacier where we got GREAT photos, It was absolutely beautiful with waterfalls along the route and spectacular scenery in every direction. I would recommend this over any other thing in the Anchorage area. The view was spectacular on the drive from Anchorage along the Turnagain Arm, where we saw a herd of Doll Sheep on a mountainside and a moose. Spectacular! If there were a space for Excellent-Plus, this site would definitely get that mark!!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank travltnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Despite heading up in April, it was a wonderful excursion. We had the place virtually to ourselves as it wasn't yet tourist season. Had a friend come in town later and ended up going back to visit again. Was about 40-50 minute drive from Anchorage if I recall correctly. In early April the lake was completely frozen. The visitor center had a lovely gift shop and restaurant. Deftly worth stopping by the restaurant if only to view a variety of stuffed animals - including a wolverine - and some historic photos from nearly a century ago. The staff was lovely. You can eat at long tables and watch a video on the television of the area for free. It was perfect to be in the warm, cozy spot with friendly people and great hot chocolate. If you're headed through the tunnel, please be aware that it is a one lane tunnel and that you will need to pay attention to the schedule. They opened he tunnel to traffic every 20-30 minutes. Granted we only had 2-4 cars go thru in each direction each time. Whittier was beautiful but everything was closed. Need only about 30 minutes to see everything, go the bathroom, and get back in line for the tunnel. Very picturesque - bring your wide angle lens as you are surrounded by high mountain peaks that are very close (you almost feel like you are in the crater of a volcano). There were even some people out on the ice. A lot of people cautioned that it is often cloudy up here due to the microclimate and cold glacier. So we did have any expectations of a clear day which we ended up having!

In Whittier, we were delighted to see otters up in the water. Lots of boats and recreational craft - must be awesome in the summer but don't let this stop you from visiting during the winter!

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank SayCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Lake had a glacier coming right down into the lake which
was awesome but it was a dangerous lake as they had winds
over 100 miles an hour some days

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank kenlimberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We drove to the glacier in weather that was rainy and lousy, but we're so glad we did. We saw enough beautiful scenery that was like an appetizer which made us want to return to see it all on a clear day. The glacier was amazing, but the most incredible thing was the tunnel we drove through to get to Whittier. It's a must do adventure.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank WalterStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great views up close to the glacier - a little chilly, bring a jacket! We also saw floating glaciers that had "calf'd" off the glacier.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews