We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Alaskan treasure!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gakona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper River Country B & B
Ranked #2 of 2 Gakona B&B and Inns
Branson, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Alaskan treasure!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a beautiful, clean, cozy B & B! It was so peaceful and we enjoyed the gorgeous quilts, photos, & loved the indoor bathroom plus has a very Alaskan, totally quaint outhouse! What a treasure!! The flowers & yard with the bird feeders/ houses, BBQ, picnic area, & fire pit are a feast for your eyes and keep you entertained. Mary knows all the best spots to bird in the area and in Alaska! She is very well traveled and knowledgeable about the area & Alaska has been her home for many years! The area has great fishing for King and Red Salmon & Mary & her son are experts in this sport as well! You won't be disappointed in the breakfast food provided either! The fridge and cupboards are stocked with a variety of food & coffees/teas/hot chocolate. so for the cost of $150/night, you get a meal or two plus she treated us with yummy muffins she baked fresh that morning! What hospitality!! You won't be disappointed and you'll miss out if you don't stay at this treasure in Alaska. I can't say enough good about it plus we slept on the new Queen bed which was very comfortable! I'd stay here anytime & skip the boring, small hotel rooms in the area. Plus the hotels are the same price or more costly for no breakfast/kitchen/yard/ or super hostess! You'll love this place!! We did!!

Room Tip: New (September 2013) Queen bed (in the west room)! Very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our host greeted us with a warm welcome. We liked having our own kitchen; the fridge was stocked with milk, eggs, bacon, homemade preserves (made with local rhubarb!), & yogurt, and the pantry had cereal, pancake mix and other staples for breakfast. We baked a freshly caught salmon from the nearby Copper River for dinner!

The host has decorated the cabin with her homemade quilts and needlework -- a nice touch. A homey and friendly find.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iggytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewind
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Walking up the stairs and into this home was like returning to your own place at the end of a day. There were five of us, and the well kept two bedroom house was perfect for us.

There is everything you need to prepare whatever you bring, and the larder and fridge were stocked so as to provide the best "continental breakfast" you could imagine in the morning.

Some Alaskan mosquitoes greeted us outside, but the place is well screened, and in the event one is a real tenderfoot, some individual packages of insect repellant were evident for use.
If heat is needed, it can be quickly activated.

Thanks, Mary.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tradewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Mary was so kind and wanted to ensure our stay was lovely. The cupboards and refrigerator were stocked with food. The location was quiet and peaceful. What a great place to stay if you just want to sleep in and relax. Mary's quilts were all over the apartment, which made the place like home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestVirginiaBirdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gakona
6.1 mi away
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
23.3 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
13.1 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
21.0 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper River Country B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper River Country B & B

Property: Copper River Country B & B
Address: Mile 127.8 Richardson Highway, Gakona, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Gakona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gakona
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing