We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in summer”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

On our way back from Anchorage, we stayed two nights in Gakona Lodge in Gajkona. We selected this place for several reasons. It is a historic building and had cabins which were more attractive to us than rooms. We were planning to visit Valdez and Gakona village was a good place for us to do a day tour to Valdez and come back to spend the night.
This place is run by a family, Greg and Valori. When we went there, there were three girls, including Valori’s daughter, working at the lodge. They are there, only during the summer time. Our cabin was quite roomy and had a functioning kitchen. The beds were very comfortable. They also provide a basic breakfast which includes muffins. Wi fi was not working in the cabins, probably too far away from the wireless router. You can go to the restaurant or the hotel lobby if you want to use Wi Fi.
The hotel is in a good location. Gakona river is flowing only a few metres away from the cabins. The Copper river is running less than a kilometre from the lodge. First night, we had dinner at their restaurant. The food was quite tasty. Greg is managing the bar and attending to house keeping work while Valori is doing the cooking. Second day we went to Valdez and came late only to sleep.
There are mosquitoes and other insects in the area and it is advisable to keep the door always closed to prevent them coming into the cabin.

Room Tip: Basic cooking facilities and a working gas cooker is available in the cabins, if you like to prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Lunas, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just finished a 5 night stay at the lodge in one of the cabins. We had a private bath and kitchen. The cabin was very clean and rustic, and staying there felt like a true Alaskan experience. The food in the Carriage House was excellent, as were the breakfast muffins every morning. Greg and Valorie and their staff made us feel like family. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Gakona Lodge is a little slice of Alaska, an original historic roadhouse. Easy access on the Highway 1. A quiet, rustic, lodge, and rooms are exceptionally clean and fresh. Delicious food, great cook - best continental breakfast ever - fresh homemade muffins and gourmet instant oatmeal. Oh, and try their cheesecake - best we've ever eaten. Can she cook! Greg and Valori do their best to make your stay worth the stop. Wonderful real life stories. Maybe next time we can get in some fishing - sounds like it could be worth our while.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Gakona lodge, after hiking in Wrangell-St. Elias national park. The rooms in the historic building were cozy and clean, and the downstairs common sitting area was also nice and useful. The red salmon in the restaurant was great, thanks to Valery, the owner and chef. After dinner we headed to the adjacent tavern, where owner Greg (Valery's husband) tended bar. Greg's generous personality and gentle humor attracted a number of cheerful local regulars who regaled us with tales of rural Alaska and bought us more drinks than we could handle! Overall our best experience - we really felt like part of the local family.

Becca and Omer

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Owners were very friendly.
We stayed at an historic log house dating from 1905. Felt like little house in the prairie...
We got a room overlooking the Gakona river, with private bath.
Located near awesome Wrangell NP. No restaurants, no shops. Just nature...
Breakfast = delicious mufins and coffee.
Thank you Valory!

Room Tip: The one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guid0vanleuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The cabin, bar, and restaurant separated building have its own charactor. It gives us the expereince of real Alaskan frontier with 5 senes of place surround us: peacful sound from the old wood and the river behind, smell of the cabin (not like bad old stale), charming log built, clean/nice to touch and good food (asking Valori for Alaskan cream was the best along with her eneric menu)

If you are pianist, try playing piano there on the living room. I've played on various rooms and environments, but I've never play inside and under the old cabin roof. It was a great feeling of refected vibrantion.

Bathroom has a good light and clean, full with all kind of shower condiments as need. Great and friendly couple own and run such the warm welcome hospitality

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akewaratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We went to Alaska with very little planning and were traveling between Anchorage and Fairbanks when we discovered this lodge. I found it to be one of the coolest old places that we found in Alaska. They, by chance, had a room available for us. Greg took us fishing for Reds on the Gulkana and we had an exceptional day topped off with some of Valori's great cooking and a drink at the Trapper's Den. It was enjoyable meeting some of the locals. If your interested in meeting Alaska this place is a great start.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gakona
18.6 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
21.4 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Sawing Logzz
Sawing Logzz
#2 of 10 in Copper Center
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gakona Lodge & Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gakona Lodge & Trading Post

Property: Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
Address: Tok Cutoff Rd., Gakona, AK 99586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Gakona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gakona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gakona Lodge & Trading Post 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continually operating roadhouse in Alaska (National Register of Historic Places), Gakona Lodge and Trading Post offers its guests an authenticly rustic yet comfortable Alaskan experience in one of state's last remaining historical treasures. It consists of the main lodge, three cabins, the Trappers' Den Tavern and the Carriage House Restaurant. Located at the confluence of the Copper and Gakona Rivers, Gakona Lodge also offers guided fishing and sight seeing river trips. The main lodge has nine upstairs rooms of assorted size and bedding arrangements that share bathrooms.The three cabins are composed of one, two or three bedrooms. The two and three bedroom cabins have full kitchens and a common room in them as well. WI-FI, a continental breakfast, and all taxes are included in respective accommodation list prices. For most vacationing couples, small groups, or families, we recommend looking into cabin availability first as they provide the best combination of privacy and economy for your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gakona Lodge & Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing