We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timber Bay set the bar to the highest height.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fritz Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Addison, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Timber Bay set the bar to the highest height.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my first Bed and Breakfast experience and I have to say, Don and Sharon have set the bar pretty high. My Mom and I traveled to Homer over Memorial Day weekend 2013 and stayed three nights in the Airplane room. The home impressed me at first sight and the view took my breath away. We were lucky with the most beautiful weather while we were there and were able to enjoy the view of the mountains and glaciers every day. Our room was on the bottom floor, a walk out basement and even from that vantage point, stunning. Upon our arrival Don greeted us like we were old friends with the most genuine hospitality. After our tour, we felt right at home and with all the amenities we could possibly need. The house was so clean and organized with attention to every detail. The next morning and every morning after that started with the wonderful aromas of Don's cooking drawing us up the stairs. Once we were there, it was nice meeting the other guests and visiting with Don and Sharon. It is obvious that they love Homer and are more than willing to suggest things to do and places to visit, they were very helpful. Just thinking about all the delicious things we had to eat makes my mouth-water. I would with out a doubt recommend staying at Timber Bay, you will enjoy your stay and walk away with and unforgettable experience and new friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent two nights in the Bear Room and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Don prepares wonderful breakfasts. Don and Sharon were wonderful hosts and freely offerred suggestions on places to go and things to do when weather turned rainy. On clear days the view was wonderful from our room. Also made some excellent restaurant suggestions. Would definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photofan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Timber Bay B&B is the Best of the Best: Best Hosts, Best Breakfasts and Best Location. We stayed in the Bear Room, a room with a gorgeous view of 2 glaciers directly across the bay. Don and Sharon welcomed us with genuine friendliness, and were so very helpful in so very many ways. We took them up on many of their local Homer recommendations, each restaurant, shop and sight seeing spot were excellent and suited us. They seem to be able to personalize each guests stay to meet their individual needs.
Cheers to Don and Sharon for making our Alaskan Adventure Amazing, and yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brainss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don says it's all about the food, but there is so much more... The food is, of course, outstanding and astounding, but there is also Don and Sharon's unmatched hospitality, advice, and guidance, the beautiful, warm, inviting rooms and decor, and the unmatched, spectacular view from a beautiful, impressive, yes stunning home. We have stayed with Don and Sharon multiple times over the last three years and it is the only place we want to stay when we are in Homer. We now spend a week or more (10 days this year) in the apartment. We feel like a part of Don's family when we are there and through the year as we exchange e-mails during our trip planning. This is a wonderful, restful, thoroughly enjoyable place to stay with outstanding hosts. The B&B to stay at in Homer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNJnRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family found Don and Sharon to be accomodating and friendly. Don prepares an excellent breakfast and they both offer up great advice on what to do when you get here. When they made a suggestion on an activity it was a home run every time. The facilities are top notch, the hot tub is fun, and you can't beat the view of the bay and mountains with two glaciers. This was an excellent value.

Room Tip: The 5 of us stayed in the canine room which was fine for traveling on a budget. The large family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenFlag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupont, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As soon as our group arrived at Timber Bay Bed & Breakfast and were greeted on the porch by proprietor Don Cotogno, we felt like family. He and his wife, Sharron, built an absolutely stunning timber-peg style house for the bed and breakfast. Beautiful wood throughout and the view!! There are mountains from left to right across the entire panorama, as far as the eye can see. The mountains change continuously and we just sat and watched them. The first night we were there two moose came up from a ravine and grazed right in the front of the lodge. Don and Sharron are great hosts and make everyone feel like friends! We would recommend their B&B to anyone visiting the Homer, AK area. They are enthusiastic in their love of Alaska and are great sources of information on things to do and see. We would like to stay there for a month next summer!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just spent seven blissful days in this bed and breakfast. And we loved it SOOO much we plan to go back next summer. The views are incredible of the bay and the glaciers. We are bird watchers so hearing the multitude of birds every night with the windows open was delightful. We could go for long walks during the day. The sights and activities of Homer are not that far away-- well worth the short drive into "town". We did several day activities and Don was very accomodating with the breakfast timing.
His breakfasts were creative, enjoyable and delicious. Always fresh fruit and yogurt and then a total variety every day of delights from stuffed French toast with local syrups such as fireweed ( and of course real maple syrup-- both warmed up!). The truly best part was Don and Sharron's local knowledge of which guide would suit our desires for fishing or bird watching or photography.
The house is honestly immaculate.Totally pristine. They do have two very well behaved dogs which stay in their apartment but you really could not "tell" they had dogs otherwise.
They are such nice and welcoming hosts. We have stayed in innumerable B and Bs and this is our favorite.
We stayed in the "Christmas" apartment. Every room has a theme and they are very much into details of the decorations. This allowed us to do laundry, have a refrigerator and more room. Bed was very comfy, linens were nice. The kitchen is fine for general cooking. Has everything one might expect in an apartment type situation. They were most helpful-- we forgot ziploc bags to freeze our salmon we caught and they gave us some so we didn't have to go back to the store!
Overall incredible place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fritz Creek
14.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
13.7 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
13.0 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
311 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
13.2 mi away
Fisherman's Tales B & B
Fisherman's Tales B & B
#13 of 40 in Homer
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51310 Timber Bay Court, Fritz Creek, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Fritz Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fritz Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 14.5 miles from Homer, Alaska, where the mountains come closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing