We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and scenery and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fritz Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just spent seven blissful days in this bed and breakfast. And we loved it SOOO much we plan to go back next summer. The views are incredible of the bay and the glaciers. We are bird watchers so hearing the multitude of birds every night with the windows open was delightful. We could go for long walks during the day. The sights and activities of Homer are not that far away-- well worth the short drive into "town". We did several day activities and Don was very accomodating with the breakfast timing.
His breakfasts were creative, enjoyable and delicious. Always fresh fruit and yogurt and then a total variety every day of delights from stuffed French toast with local syrups such as fireweed ( and of course real maple syrup-- both warmed up!). The truly best part was Don and Sharron's local knowledge of which guide would suit our desires for fishing or bird watching or photography.
The house is honestly immaculate.Totally pristine. They do have two very well behaved dogs which stay in their apartment but you really could not "tell" they had dogs otherwise.
They are such nice and welcoming hosts. We have stayed in innumerable B and Bs and this is our favorite.
We stayed in the "Christmas" apartment. Every room has a theme and they are very much into details of the decorations. This allowed us to do laundry, have a refrigerator and more room. Bed was very comfy, linens were nice. The kitchen is fine for general cooking. Has everything one might expect in an apartment type situation. They were most helpful-- we forgot ziploc bags to freeze our salmon we caught and they gave us some so we didn't have to go back to the store!
Overall incredible place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just returned from Alaska, having spent five of our nights at Timber Bay. We enjoyed the spacious Bear Room. Don and Sharron are truly the hosts with the most! Don's breakfasts are exceptional, our favorite being stuffed French toast.
They go out of their way to make you feel at home away from home. They accomodate a schedule that might include an early start, providing a box lunch if requested. The whole B&B is immaculately kept. Not only are they very familiar with all things Homer and Homer Spit, they make great recommendations when they hear the other places you will be visiting.
It's a beautiful view from their front deck and if you check out the side or back you might well see a moose or two.
While they are located 14 miles out East End Road, it is well worth traveling the distance to use them as a home base in your travels through the beautiful area that surrounds Homer.

Room Tip: Don and Sharron are very helpful and choosing a room that will fit the needs of your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrijellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our group of four stayed one night in the Canine Room and it was fabulous. We really enjoyed the spaciousness of the room and the fact that there is a common area downstairs with a couch, table, computer and small kitchenette. It felt like our own personal floor since the other guest room downstairs was not occupied.
We really enjoyed Don's company, he and his wife have travelled extensively and he shared some great Alaska travel tips, as well as giving us new ideas for overseas travel. His breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit and yogurt, Captain Crunch french toast and Spam (yummy!)
Timber Bay was a wonderful place to experience the Homer area, from it's incredible views to it's gracious host, we would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: If you have a larger family/group, combine the Canine and Aviation rooms for a true suite experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pancho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This home is absolutely beautiful - we stayed in the canine room, which is cleverly decorated with every dog theme imaginable, down to sheets and shower curtain. The hosts are gracious and helpful. The views from the great room are just amazing and the breakfast was "indescribably delicious". Would love to return there someday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Don's breakfasts are worth the making a trip to Alaska for! Between the incredible view off their deck to the unbelievable breakfasts you won't be sorry you came! One morning Don made "stuffed croissants" for breakfast! OMG! They were AWESOME! Each mornings breakfast started with a huge bowl of fresh fruit with Vanilla yogurt on the side, served family style and then continued on with an amazing breakfast entree. Don even shucked and cooked the fresh oysters we bought one evening. You won't be sorry you came here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJN1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Don & Sharon quite simply the best hosts in the world. They make you feel as it is your home & they are the hired hand attending to your every whim & need. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for. The views are spectaculor. The hot tub was always heated and ready to go. Great bonus after a long day of fishing !!! If you are visiting Homer you are making a big mistake if you don't stay there at least one night. We were planning on doing that but decided to stay at Timber Bay for the duration of our stay as I don't think any other B&B in Homer can match up !!! KD

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kddougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Timber Bay B&B is a wonderful place to stay. Don & Sharon were wonderful hosts who were very nice and always very helpful with any questions or recommendations. Their home is a beautiful place with a beautiful view. Well worth the few extra miles drive. My wife and I spent a week there and it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile21012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 51310 Timber Bay Court, Fritz Creek, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Fritz Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fritz Creek
Price Range: $122 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 14.5 miles from Homer, Alaska, where the mountains come closer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing