We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed at in Alaska”
Review of Moose Creek Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fritz Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moose Creek Cabins
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed at in Alaska”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

On our 10 day trip of Alaska this was by far our favorite place we stayed at. Ed and Sheryl were very accommodating and friendly. We splurged and stayed in the Log Chalet for two nights. It was all you could really ask for with a huge area of lounging around, a separate bathroom, a fireplace, and a sleeping area on the 2nd "floor". There is also a grill and some outside seating with a pretty good view of Kachemak Bay and the glaciers on the other side. There is an old school sauna nearby and also a very clean and comfortable hot tub. We never ended up using the sauna, but we did enjoy the hot tub. Our hosts had left us a basket of lots of assorted food, including granola, nuts, fruit, bagels, and some fresh baked breakfast bread that was perfect before our early morning halibut charter.

Only negatives (which aren't even really negatives) were the water pressure in the shower in the Log Chalet is a bit low (but definitely workable) and also if you plan on doing any cooking yourself, while there are plenty of bowls, plates, and cooking utensils (even some olive oil!) the knives are all very dull and I ended up using my pocket knife for a lot of our food prep. I used to work as a cook, however, and am spoiled by my normal access to very sharp knives.

Also note that this property is about a 15 minute drive east from "downtown" Homer. It was a bit further than I was expecting. I knew it was out of town, I just didn't realize quite how far. We also ran into construction on the road between the two which delayed us by about 20 minutes one morning (this seems to be a common occurrence all over Alaska in the summer, so plan accordingly).

Definitely would stay here again next time we are in Homer.

Room Tip: Chalet cabin was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

What a wonderful little cabin secluded, away from all the hustle and bustle of Homer. The owners were super nice, and very knowledgable about the area... where to eat, and what to do. The hot tub was such a nice treat. We stayed in the Studio sweet and it was super comfortable and quiet. They also provided a continental breakfast of fruit, bagels, yogurt, nuts and granola which was perfect for us to have before we went on our early morning halibut charter! We also saw some crane's hanging out in the yard one morning! A nice patio to sit on and have coffee in the morning. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who needs to get away and relax!

Room Tip: This property offers a studio suit located on ground level below the main house... one bed with a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Great location near Homer. Moose and Sandhill Cranes viewed on the property. Clean, comfortable, cabin well stocked, wonderful hosts. If I return to Homer, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We just returned home from our 2 week trip through Alaska. We stayed the last 2 nights in the Log Chalet and we just loved it. The cabin was the nicest one we stayed at during our trip.
The cabin is very secluded (a short foot path through the woods), however has a wonderful view on the mountains / inlet when you get there. The cabin was extremely clean, the kitchen fully equipped (including fresh fruit, granola, bagels, etc.), the queen-size bed and blankets really comfortable. We enjoyed the grill on the deck, the wood-stove, and the hot tube (also extremely clean). Would definitely stay there again and again...!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AfricaLover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The Cabin Suite was so cute and comfortable. It is very secluded and you have the use of the jacuzzi and sauna.
It was first class with all the extra touches. There was a large bowl with fresh fruit, granola and all kinds of other snacks.
The bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, soaps and many other items. The bed was very comfortable as was the pillows and sheets. The owner Ed was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place and when I go back to Homer, this is where I am going to stay.

Helpful?
6 Thank NvHotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

The owner Ed greeted us upon arrival and made us feel very welcome. He has done an excellent job building two small, but extremely clean and comfortable cabins and isolating them from all surrounding structures. A private road from his driveway leads into the woods to the Cabin Suite, which we stayed at for two nights. A small foot path lead from the cabin to another cabin containing a sauna and an adjacent, wonderful hot tub ready for immediate use. Ed's wife provided a large basket of fruit, nuts and other snacks for our stay. The cabins are designed for privacy and non-intrusion from the hosts, unless warranted, in which case, assistance is easily and readily available.

While the location of the cabins is a bit off the beaten path - about a 15-minute drive from the Homer Spit, the comfortable cabin and serenity off-set any slight distance inconvenience. In fact, there are two very nice restaurants on the main road to Homer, just a few minutes from the cabins. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend the cabins for those desiring privacy and don't mind a bit of a drive from Homer itself.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TCyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Had the opportunity to spend 5 nights at the Moose Creek Cabins located inFritz Creek, Alaska which is about 10 miles or so from Homer.
Our stay in the cabin was very nice and very private. Ed Sortello and his wife run a small facility that is composed of two cabins, one suite and a hot tub/sauna for the guests. We chose to stay in the small cabin and it was outstanding! The cost for our cabin was about $115 per night and was located at the end of a small country lane. During our stay at the cabin, we saw a mother moose and her calf and a large porcupine!
There are lots of good places to stay in Homer and nearby Fritz Creek but we would stay here again! I can't say enough about our host Ed and his wife. They are outstanding folks who enjoy sharing Alaska with those of us from the lower 48.

Helpful?
6 Thank alafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fritz Creek
10.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
10.1 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
744 reviews
3.5 mi away
Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast
Timber Bay Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Fritz Creek
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 28 in Homer
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Cabins

Property: Moose Creek Cabins
Address: Fritz Creek, HUTLER, Fritz Creek, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Fritz Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fritz Creek
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing