We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendy staff”
Review of Eagle River Motel

Eagle River Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eagle River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle River Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eagle River
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Staff was very helpful and very friendly. Motel was nice and clean not luxurious but decent. Again its a MOTEL NOT A HOTEL! Highly recomended.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank leamonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2008

I have been using this motel for a number of years, during the Iditarod. It is clean and roomy, without Anchorage prices and the noise of the city. While large enough to offer more than the accommodations one would expect for a modestly priced property, the additional attention by the on site owner/manager makes it more like coming home than staying out.

The location of the property makes Anchorage a convenient 15 - 20 minute drive, yet allows commuting out into the Matanuska - Suisitna Valley a short ride as well.

Will continue to stay here as long as the Iditarod continues drawing me to Alaska.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Strwbrypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Positives:
1. Clean budget motel, spacious rooms.
2. Free wireless internet
3. Stove/refrig/microwave/coffee in room.
4. Free satellite TV (if it works -- see below)

Cautions:
1. Bring your earplugs:
a. Wood frame construction means you hear every step in the room above.
b. No elevator; End rooms hear every step on up/down stairs
c. Room AC via open windows -- cars parked 10' from windows; you hear every arrival, departure, loading, unloading.
2. Check TV immediately -- ours had expired Smartcard in the satellite box -- no TV until next day.
3. Sheets changed only after four consecutive days stay.
4. Don't get sick in the room -- notice says maids will not clean up after you. Also don't soil the mattress -- you will probably be buying a new one.
5. Don't lose the key. $56 (!) charge to your credit card.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank buckeyetransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We were a big party - 10 people including 3 children, and we wanted to save on the hotel costs since we were only going to be there to sleep. This place was our first stop in Alaska and we landed late in the night (technically early in the morning) for a three night stay. The staff was really nice even at that late hour. Our rooms were very clean, the breakfast was very good and filling (not nominal like in some other places) and the management was very pleasent. That is an experience that one would expect in any decent place, but we had some trouble getting the RV the next day after checkout, and the mangement let the children and my mother-in-law stay in the room till the evening. We were not the easiest of customers, for e.g. my nephew became ill in the middle of the night and we had to make some phone calls at that hour, but the service was always politely given, and I would recommend this place to anyone. This is far cheaper than staying in anchorage, has a people movers bus stop, grocery store and restaurants within a five minute distance. If you have children, the kitchenette is very good. For it's price, you can't get a better deal.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank family-traveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

The room was large and very clean. Also was quiet. Fridge, microwave, and coffe maker included. Some rooms have kitchenettes. The location is about 20 minutes from Anchorage. Great bargain compared to Anchorage hotel prices in the summer months. Don't let the outside keep you away. We spent little time in the room, so weren't looking for a 5 star hotel. This place was perfect for the price and the staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay again. Save money here and spend more on all the sightseeing adventures. Alaska was beautiful!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buddy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

My touring family group of eleven stayed at the Eagle River Motel for one night in July of 2006. Its not anything special to look at and some of the surrounding properties are a bit shabby but the motel itself is great. Its within a short drive of Anchorage but costs a lot less than most places in the city. There are three levels and not much excess parking. The rooms are very large for a motel. A laundry room is available on the ground floor. A PC is available in the office and the office has a selection of movies for use in the DVD players in the rooms. The beds were very comfortable. They have a nice breakfast available in the office and the owner was expecially friendly and helpful. The North Slope Restaurant is within walking distance and the food is great there. The Eagle River Nature Center is a few miles south and worth a visit. Overall, an excellent choice, especially if you are on a budget.

4  Thank woodsfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We (two adults, three college age kids) stayed here on our way back from Denali park. It is in the Northern suburbs of Anchorage, so it is a bit closer. Pleasant, older style motel. Modest, but clean and friendly staff. We stayed in a "suite" (one large room) on third floor that had kitchenette and three beds plus a fourth trundle (folding) bed that was a full-size twin. The kitchenette had a stove (but no utensils-- I am not sure if these were available from the office) as well as a refrigerator and microwave. The motel has its own laundry facilities for guests and rents videos at the desk. It is in walking distance to a major supermarket (Carrs). Not a luxury establishment, but very pleasant and a good value. Access note: I believe all access is via outside stairs - no elevator. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rtaba285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle River Motel

Address: 11111 Old Eagle River Road, Eagle River, Anchorage, AK 99577
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Eagle River
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range: $54 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Eagle River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing