We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unhappy with it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eagle River
1 review
“very unhappy with it”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

the maids never vacuumed or dusted, if your key card did not work they were giving out master keys that opened any room, never have I heard of any place doing that. did not feel very safe

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    59
    70
    51
See reviews for
92
52
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
248 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is an older hotel that is in need of serious upgrades HOWEVER they had THE CLEANEST sheets on a bed I have ever experienced - even compared to higher class hotels. so kudos for that. Now, I would recommend asking for a room away from long term guests and workers if you are wanting a quiet night sleep or if you have a family. The staff is very friendly though. I think if some changes were to be made it would be great! It's close to everything in town with a short drive to Anchorage so you are away from city traffic and noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danihinkkanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The place is a de facto halfway house for people recently released from mental institutions, jails, drug and alcohol rehabilitation clinics, etc. so you may have people in adjoining rooms literally bouncing off the thin walls and ceilings. If you complain to the staff about the constant pounding noises, they'll humor you, make excuses or label you crazy, depending on which clerk you're talking to.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Customer411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

do not stay here. not a hotel its a zero star dirty motel. staff is nice but doesnt make up for the rooms.
was given a room key and when we opened door the room was occuppied!!! has constant traffic at all hours. very loud. it was super hot but window had no screen so it was either sweat or get eaten by bugs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cattivodancecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was awesome. The beds were terribly hard and the free breakfast was limited to bagels, muffins and cereal. We could hear the person in the room next to us snoring as if they were in our room. Overall it was an acceptable visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Urine smell in the elevator and halls. I was on the second floor and I chose to take the stairs instead of the elevator. The stairwell smells like mildew. The bed linens were yellow, no blankets. The towels had holes and there was a disgusting gray ring around the bathtub. The front desk clerks smelled heavily of smoke and the night clerk stood at the desk talking in very loud foul language on the phone to another employee while I was trying to buy fabric softener sheets for the guest dryers. I too have not been in a hotel in over 20 years that did not have a hair dryer or coffee maker. Paying over $90 per night for a bare bones room was stupid. I had no other choice as I was in town to see doctors that I had established when I lived in Eagle River. I drover two days from Skagway to live in very poor conditions. Oh yes forgot...I was taking a shower and the whole faucet shot off and the pipe what just shooting out water...I was able to screw it back on but seriously

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE...go into Anchorage and find something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
16.7 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
13.6 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#48 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Address: 13049 Old Glenn Hwy, Eagle River, Anchorage, AK 99577-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Eagle River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Anchorage Area -Eagle River Hotel Eagle River
Microtel Inn And Suites Anchorage Area -Eagle River
Microtel Eagle River
Eagle River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing