We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can not describe it!”
Review of Alaska Highway

Alaska Highway
Goreville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Words can not describe it!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I took loads of pictures, but it still doesn't do it justice. Alaska is a must see with your own eyes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaWheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level 6 Contributor
1,048 reviews
429 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,666 helpful votes
“A great road trip!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were four friends driving from Oregon to Fairbanks. We were on a fairly tight time schedule due to other commitments so unfortunately were not able to “dawdle” too much. One of us had made the trip numerous times, two had driven it several times, and I had driven it just once before – in 1996.

Wow, what a lot of changes since then! Back then, the Alaska Highway was winding, twisty, and only partially paved. There were hundreds of miles that were gravel and one section that was so bad we had to skirt boulders.

Now in 2012, the road is incredibly smooth for much of the length of it. We hit a section between Haines Junction and Beaver Creek that was under “re-construction” and had a few miles of gravel, and that was it as far as "rough" road. I was also impressed by the fact that the road was so straight and wide! The Canadian and American governments must have poured billions into this highway.

In some respects, some of the fun and “glamour” is gone from this long drive, because it’s so easy now. However, there are still great long stretches where you won’t see much human habitation. We saw black bear, grizzly bear, moose, bison, stone sheep and a whole host of smaller critters. Do heed the signs along the highway that warn of animals.

The scenery is gorgeous :-) I particularly enjoyed the areas around Muncho Lake, Haines Junction and Kluane Lake. I also enjoyed the many bridges we crossed along the route.

An absolute *MUST* for this trip is The Milepost!

Buy one well ahead of time and go through and highlight subjects that are of interest to you so you can quickly locate them in the book as you’re traveling. It’s not 100% accurate, but it’s pretty darn close. It tells you where to find gas stations, lodging and lists all kinds of attractions as well.

We used the west access through British Columbia. We started the Canadian portion of our journey on Highway 1, then took a lesser highway through Lillooet, then traveled the Cariboo / John Hart Highway 97. We opted not to go to Dawson Creek (Mile 1 of the Alaska Highway) and instead we cut across through the Peace River Valley and Hudson’s Hope.

We did not make any lodging reservations ahead of time in mid-June and except for one town (Watson Lake) had no trouble getting accommodations. For the most part, don’t expect luxury lodging though. Accommodations range from adequate to very good, depending upon where you decide to stop for the night. All of the smaller older motels we stayed in were clean, comfortable and had a microwave, refrigerator and free wi-fi in the room.

We carried a cooler with water, soft drinks and food. Most nights we were able to refreeze our ‘blue ice’ packs in the tiny freezer of the room refrigerator. Restaurants are few and pretty far between so I would suggest carrying lots of snacks to munch on. As with lodging, don’t expect fancy restaurants along the way, but there are many pubs and cafes so you won’t go hungry. Only the larger towns will have good sized grocery stores, so stock up ahead.

There are plenty of toilets along the road – but be aware that most of them are basic outhouses. Every one that I stopped in had toilet paper and was reasonably clean. We kept HandiWipes in the car and they came in very … well … handy!

Once we got north of about Prince George the traffic diminished and we saw relatively few vehicles on the road. There were enough so that we didn’t feel we were the last ones on earth, but few enough that we never worried about stopping alongside the road to take photos. You will see big trucks so be polite and move out of their way if you’re holding them up. Remember, they’re not on vacation!

If you plan on traveling in an RV, there are now a lot of RV parks and campgrounds along the route. I saw several very nice Good Sam parks in lovely locations next to lakes.

We found gas and diesel prices are much higher in Canada than what we were used to. Once you get to Alaska they drop some, but are still higher than in probably many states.

The Alaska Highway technically ends at Delta Junction, but many travelers continue northbound to Fairbanks. The road from Delta Junction to Fairbanks is called the Richardson Highway.

This is a great drive and even though it is much “tamer” than it used to be, it’s still an adventure. I highly recommend this trip and if interested, check out my reviews of our accommodations and dining along the route.

I look forward to the day that I can travel this road again and hopefully take more time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A road trip not to be missed”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Get 'The Milepost' & plan it - & then do it (in May).

I have done a few road-trip holidays (Route 66, Round Iceland, Alaska/Yukon.

Completing this one gave the most satisfaction.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Nedbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very Scenic and Remote Highway”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are only two main roads from the central part of the province of British Columbia to the border of the Yukon Territory. The two are the Cassiar-Stewart Highway (to the west) and the Alaska Highway (to the east). Both highways are very remote, but also very scenic.

The Alaska Highway is the longer of the two highers, and also the slowest of the two highways. In fact, the two highways are really about the same length, but there are many factors that make the Alaska Highway a lot longer from Watson Lake down to Dawson Creek.

The main factors are the abundance of wildlife, windy (often narrow) roads, areas where there is potential for landslides, and also a lot of areas where you can get out of your vehicle to take landscape pictures of the scenery. The wildlife that you may see along the route are: moose, bear, bison, caribou, stone sheep, wolves, foxes etc.

There are a lot of different areas on this highway, but not a lot of rest areas (especially in the winter), lots in the summer though. Some of the various areas along this stretch are: Watson Lake (full amenities), Liard Hot Springs, Contact Creek, Muncho Lake Provincial Park (fuel and accommodations), Stone Mountain Provincial Park, Summit Lake, Coal River, (Fuel and accommodations), Toad River Lodge, Buckinghorse Lodge,(fuel and accommodations), Fort Nelson, Taylor, Fort St. John, Dawson Creek (full amenities).

You also go by a number of provincial parks along this stretch as well, including but not limited to the following: Liard Hot Springs, Muncho Lake, Stone Mountain (summit Lake), Pink Mountain, Buckinghorse and Prophet River Wayside, Smith River Falls, Sikanni Chief Falls and Protected Areas, Taylor Landing, Beatton River, Charlie Lake and Kiskatinaw.

When you attempt this highway; be sure to go really slow and on the watch out for wildlife, and enjoy the scenery! It is simply beautiful. Pack your common sense.

I would recommend this highway to anyone! Food is available for purchase at various points along the highway, as is bathroom facilities, such as lodges, and rest areas.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Alaska”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

If you never do anything else in your life.......visit Alaska. Words are not enough to sum up this beautiful place. It's breath taking.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank maria14Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Highway also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing