We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a Ball”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manea Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manea Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
“Had a Ball”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a lovely 1 bedroom chalet that was clean and well presented and a big thankyou must go out to Maryanne and her staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The location is picture postcard stuff and the people are "real people"
Will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    30
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our group of five enjoyed staying at the 3bedroomed chalet overlooking the little river. Watching the crabs, chickens and local dogs was entertaining. At first it seemed to be too rustic and the arrival breakfast was not adequate enough to feed 2 teenage boys and three adults, as there was everything but bread. We discovered later that the shop at the end of the drive was actually open early morning and we could pick up some fresh bread for toast. After that we enjoyed the chalet. It was really clean, the beds were comfortable, the linen was great and we had space to spread out over the week. Kitchen facilities enabled us to buy and cook some of our own meals. The pool, kayaks, snorkeling gear and lagoon right onsite were fabulous.Very easy walking access to buses, car hire, restaurants, Muri beach and local shops too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked the 3 bedroom beach front villa for our family of five and stayed 11 nights. The location is absolutely breath taking however access to the beach area is obstructed by large boulders. I realise these have been placed there to stop erosion. However it is dangerous especially for the elderly and young children to gain access to the beach.
The decking around the swimming pool is rotten and falling down. The tiles around the swimming pool were loose and extremely sharp in places as they were broken.
We enjoyed the kayaking until one filled up with water and had to be dragged home. This is because they are dragged over rocks as there is no suitable path to the beach.
The villa needs vast amounts of maintenance. A few examples are bolts attaching hand rails to the deck are 100% corroded to the point where the nuts have corroded away. Parts of the hand rail are not even attached and swing freely as our 8 year old son discovered. We had to keep the children off the top deck due to the condition of the hand rails.
The kitchen had the basics but we had to buy a sharp knife. The stove had elements with thermostats that did not work. We did not try the oven as someone else was already using it as a home - A RAT!!!!!! Not only one but we found TWO!!!!! They were properly caught by Soni (who is a champion). However I feel that if management and money was put in place i.e. a maintenance regime for staff to follow then all these issues that we and other people have mentioned on trip advisor would be kept to a minimum. I understand that the world is not perfect but a rat running around on the kitchen bench while our children are making toast is not ideal especially for the money you pay to rent this villa.
The house keeping staff are fantastic. They supply a lot of fresh towels and linen. They are very friendly and welcoming. Our children loved them. Soni went out of his way to show us some great snorkelling spots. Bale was exceptionally kind to our girls when they were sick.
The best thing about the property was a dog named Cookie. Our children adored her and did not want to leave her behind. We had endless hours of fun with Cookie and her mates. We love you Cookie.
We will return to Rarotonga but not to stay at these villas. We will visit Soni, Bale and Cookie as they are genuinely nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maneabeachvillas, Manager at Manea Beach Villas, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Guests experience is important and we value and thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take on board your comments regarding the villa you stayed in.

We are pleased to advise that we will be upgrading our pool and decking area in early March 2014 and this includes easier access to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked this accommodation for a significant family birthday celebration. After the recommendation from our travel agent and also through reviewing trip advisor we decided to proceed with the booking. We wanted something that had the option of self catering, slept 5 adults comfortably, beach access, a pool and was based at Muri Beach. It seemed to tick all those boxes. We booked the garden villa and upon arrival was extremely disappointed in its shabby appearance, including curtains hanging off their hooks. What was our biggest concern was the very unsafe deck railings and dodgy decking boards. On the final night of our stay, our father put his foot through one of the boards, confirming our concerns! Fortunately he was not injured but a very nasty accident is waiting to happen. We did not even consider going out onto the deck upstairs as it looked so unsafe. Similar dodgy decking and broken railings were evident at the swimming pool too. The place definitely needs some serious maintenance work. For the price we paid, it is shameful. We paid $3717 NZD for 9 nights.
The place advertises that it is beach front, but in order to get down to the beach you must clamber down over rocks. This is unsuitable for anyone visiting who maybe unsteady on their feet. The poolside area was in a great spot however, with a lovely outlook over the lagoon.
The property offered a complimentary breakfast welcome pack on arrival. This comprised of coffee, tea, juice, milk, weetbix, jam sachets and a small pack of butter. There was no bread or fresh fruit, which seemed a little bizarre.
The kitchen was very poorly equipped for self catering. There was only 1 large sharp knife and a bread knife. No smaller sharp knives. Only 1 small salad bowl and no dishes for the microwave, or to place food in for serving. There were adequate glasses, plates and cutlery.
There was a daily service (except Sunday) and we were supplied with plenty of fresh linen and beach towels. The beds were comfortable.
The cleaning and gardening staff were absolutely marvellous (more on this later), but the management appeared rather indifferent in her manner. When we arrived, we asked the manager what the swimming was like. She was quite condescending and she said she didn't know as the locals don't swim at this time of year. You would have expected a bit more enthusiasm in her reply.
Basic things do need to be attended to by the management. An example is the information pack is falling apart with a broken folder. There is no information in this folder also, about what to do in the event of an emergency . Also attending to the safety issues around the property.
The villas are well located in Muri, and there are some great places to eat nearby, such as Sails and The Moorings. Our parents ate at the next door restaurant, The Flametree, and were very disappointed and felt it was overpriced.
We enjoyed visiting the Woman's Co-operative Shop, and found Chantel and her products to be fantastic.
While we are critical of the facilities and close environs of the garden villa, the highest of accolades go to Soni the gardener and his wife Bale. They were warm and friendly from the word go even bringing us pawpaw from their garden. When our father took very ill during the night, they could not do enough for us the next morning. Their care and attention was fantastic. They are the gems of this establishment.
We will definitely return to Rarotonga and Muri Beach, as it is a lovely spot. But we will look out for alternative accommodation that is of better value and standard.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units do look in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MezzyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Certainly the 3-bedroom beachfront villa was perfectly located for a Rarotonga stay for a family with young adults. Staff and management were helpful and friendly, and the facilities just fine.
Despite a week of strong wind blowing directly into our front door we didnt let it stop us getting around and enjoying more sheltered spots - it would be just idyllic under normal weather.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Pay more more the beachfront - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffkendrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place, lovely family holiday, great management and very friendly staff couldn't have asked for much more. Great location with easy access to the lagoon thumbs up to a good holiday.Local shops and restaurants were within easy walking distance so it made for a very relaxing holiday. Safe place for the young ones and Cookie the dog made friends with all of them. Would certainly revisit again as it is had everything you needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Manea villas is the PERFECT location, amazing snorkling right at the door basically! Will def stay again when i come back! The locals are so friendly and easy going! The best holiday EVER!!!!! Two very enthusiastic thumbs up and huge smiles! Was sooo depressed to leave!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelmelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.3 mi away
Muri Shores
Muri Shores
#3 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Te Vakaroa Villas
Te Vakaroa Villas
#4 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manea Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manea Beach Villas

Property: Manea Beach Villas
Address: Ara Tapu | Muri Beach, Ngatangiia District, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manea Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Manea Beach Villas, Cook Islands accommodation located on the edge of Rarotonga's beautiful Muri Lagoon. Manea is the Cook Island word for beautiful, which sums up the villas and location on offer. We cater for all holiday seekers, be they the single traveller, honeymooning couple, senior travellers, groups and families ... all are welcome at Manea Beach Villas! Our absolute beachfront location means you can lay on your private deck and gaze at the vibrant turquiose lagoon, only metres away. We are a small accommodation, offering intimate surroundings on Muri Beach with a personal touch. Our staff are a 'family', and will make sure you feel a part of Manea while you are here and long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manea Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manea Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing