We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Quality at an Affordable Price”
Review of Manea Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manea Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Having stayed at one of the larger resorts for our wedding last year, we were keen to return to Raro & stay in Muri Beach, but wanted somewhere a lot more affordable... Initially sceptical due to the 2.5* rating of Manea Beach Villas in the brochure, we were immediately put at ease & rest by an amazing Host (& owner), Grace, together with exceptionally comfortable & very clean accommodation.

Grace met us personally from the shuttle bus when we arrived & also go up early at the crack of dawn to see us off when we sadly departed. She was full of great information & local knowledge of what to do & where to go - even where to hire cheap scooters from!! :)

We stayed in one of the 1 bedroomed bungalows, which is fully self contained & has its own deck & BBQ, so you can stay "home" & cook for yourself if you want to. Eating out is a breeze too, as there are plenty of restaurants close-by.

Housekeeping came every day, even if you didn't need them; unlike the larger resorts, where if you say no & they go away, at Manea Beach, the wonderful housekeeping ladies at least insisted that you have a clean set of towels!!

We didn't want for anything at all whilst we were here, the only thing Manea didn't have & the 4+* resorts do was a bar & it's own restaurants, although, there is even a very good one of those in the same driveway. There's internet available (if you really want it - and why would you???); there's a laundry on the premises which you can use, a pool, the accommodation is right on the beach, there's snorkelling gear & kayaks for use.... This accommodation is worth SO much more than 2.5* and should NOT be overlooked!!

All in all - amazing value for fantastic accommodation in a stunning location!! Grace - we'll be back before you know it!!!

Jan & Linz, New Zealand

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have very similar reviews to a lot of the other good reviews already posted.

Our family (3 adult couples) stayed in 3 bedroom, beach front villa in July 2011– it was absolutely fantastic! It is simple, but very homely, clean, comfortable, private and relaxing. Sitting out on the big balcony every night overlooking the beach and lagoon for happy hour was easily one of the highlights of our trip, the location is perfect – only a few minutes walk to all action on muri beach, but secluded enough to feel like you are on your own private beach!

Our villa was serviced every day by lovely cleaners and we always had a never ending supply of clean towels. Also, being able to use the snorkel gear / reef shoes and kayaks is great – as well as the laundry, bbq, pool / lounge chairs.

Grace and Dave were absolutely fantastic hosts and went out of their way to make our stay as hassle free as possible – they recommended and organised restaurant bookings (and excellent recommendations they were!), organised us a private lagoon tour on Aitutaki through personal contacts when everything else was booked out, and were more than happy to help with any other little query.

We would recommend Manea beach villas to anyone and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villa is right on the beach (the sand is underneath the balcony). All the other villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank general_jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have stayed at Manea Beach Villas twice now and would happily go back again. The location is excellent, private but not out of the way and you couldn't get a more obliging hostess than Grace.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have just returned from 5 awesome days in Rarotonga, staying at the Manea Beach Villas. We are seasoned travelers but this was our first time to Rarotonga and we couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay.

Grace and Dave are excellent hosts and extremely helpful & friendly. They were able to advise on things to do, where to eat, shop, the local markets and even organised a Game Fishing trip for us.

We stayed in one of the 1-bedroom units which was just perfect for us. Clean, tidy and being self-contained we were able to prepare our own food which makes it a very affordable break away. We even had our own BBQ outside.

The Villas are set right on the lagoon at the northern part of Muri Beach which allowed for easy access for swimming and snorkeling, without being on the busier part of Muri Beach. The Villa's pool is in a great spot to soak, have a beverage and look out over the lagoon. If staying in Raro, Manea Beach Villas provide the best of both worlds. They are quiet, more personal and if for any reason you want the large resort pool and restaurants etc. you can just pop down the road to one.

We loved our time in Rarotonga. It’s so laid back and all we did is swim, lie in the sun and zip around the place on the scooter we hired (a must do!). Scooter and car hire is even available from just across the road.

We will definitely be back – both to Rarotonga and Manea Beach Villas.
If you're extra lucky, you may even get to sample some of Grace’s world famous Banana cake! Thanks Grace and Dave and we hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DUNCandMINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

August to September for three weeks.Grace an Dave great hosts,there for us on arrival and departure. Go out of their way to help point you in the right direction.Accommodation was excellent room serviced every day clean towels what bliss!So many things to do in Rarotonga ,from swimming in the Lagoon.Which we had a view of from our Villa,and swimming in the pool on site.Also in walking distance to Restaurant and Cafes corner shop and bus stop.Loved the flowers Grace put in our Kitchen every week.The 28kg Wahoo fish my husband caught,Dave arranged fishing trip.All local Tourist Attractions near by as well.Reasonably priced and highly entertaining.Everything is so relaxed Rarotongan time they call it.No one is in a hurry,a real relaxing holiday.With breath taking scenery.Well be back to do all over again.Kerrie an Gavin

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missapim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

After a small stay at another bigger hotel we found ourselves looking around for something more personal and found it here. Dave and grace were the perfect hosts and were a massive help when it came to pointing us in the right direction on what to do on the island, where to do it and who to do it with. Thanks to them we ate and drunk in all the right places and really did have the perfect holiday. We were left alone to enjoy the beauty of this small paradise but able to join Dave and Grace to drink and BBQ if we wished. To say they looked after us would be the understatement of the year. We even decided to re book our flights, grovel to the bosses at home and stay a few more days just to live the dream just a little longer. Dave, Grace thanks for the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorted888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Thanks Dave and Grace for a wonderful time! I came to Rarotonga with my boyfriend and left with my fiancé. Dave and Grace at Manea Beach Villas provided us with wonderful accommodation and helped my fiancé set up the perfect proposal! They are awesome people that go out of their way to make your stay in Rarotonga the most enjoyable holiday! Dave and Grace you guys are the best! We will be back for our wedding and will be recommending your place to everyone! Thank you again for this unforgettable experience! We can't wait to see you again. Nicole x

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickivdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#33 of 80 in Rarotonga
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manea Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manea Beach Villas

Address: Ara Tapu | Muri Beach, Ngatangiia District, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: $146 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manea Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Manea Beach Villas, Cook Islands accommodation located on the edge of Rarotonga's beautiful Muri Lagoon. Manea is the Cook Island word for beautiful, which sums up the villas and location on offer. We cater for all holiday seekers, be they the single traveller, honeymooning couple, senior travellers, groups and families ... all are welcome at Manea Beach Villas! Our absolute beachfront location means you can lay on your private deck and gaze at the vibrant turquiose lagoon, only metres away. We are a small accommodation, offering intimate surroundings on Muri Beach with a personal touch. Our staff are a 'family', and will make sure you feel a part of Manea while you are here and long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Manea Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manea Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing