We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manea Beach Villas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$230
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$181
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$364
$199
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$267
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
86
37
12
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
37
12
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villathree bedroomgreat decksfree kayaksriverside villahousekeeping ladieswalking distanceclean unitclose to shopsyour doorstepbasic accommodationbeautiful lagoonperfect locationkayaks and snorkelling gearair conself containedawesome holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 143 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife Leanne, our daughter Georgia 12, son Levi 7 and myself stayed seven fantastic days at The Manea Beach Villas in Rarotonga recently.

We chose the lagoon front three bedroom, two storey, two bathroom villa which is poised literally above the lagoon with unbelievable views out to the islands in the lagoon and the reef beyond. The villa was clean, tidy and extremely comfortable and functional for a family of four, so much so we could have taken more.

The lagoon as you can imagine is crystal clear, very safe for swimming and full of great wildlife.

Our hosts Grace and Dave were great, providing us with grade one hospitality and advice of where to visit, eat and explore. The fact that we decided not to go to a full on resort this time proved to be a stroke of genius as The Manea Beach Villas allowed us to feel as if we were in our own holiday home in paradise.

Thanks Grace and Dave!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DroseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

What a terrific time our extended family had over Easter here. We were impressed by the warm hospitality of Grace & Dave who were keen answer any questions and deal with any queries we had. Our Villas were well appointed self contained units with air conditioning and only seconds from the beach. Didn't expect to have our beds made each day ! Snorkel gear and kayaks were freely available. The Villas are only minutes walk from local shops and bike/car rentals.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at the same Villas when we visited Rarotonga in 2005 and loved it, so we came back to for our 2011 wedding anniversary.

The rooms are still the same, so a little dated, but still very acceptable. We were informed that the whole property will be getting a makeover soon as there are new owners.

There is also new management and they are GREAT!
Dave and Grace tended to our every need - bigger cocktail glasses, lots of ice, recipes for freshly caught fish etc etc..
They suggested places that we might like to visit on the island that were new since our last stay.
They even hosted a BBQ party one afternoon that lasted late into the evening ;-)

The property itself is quite small with only a few 1 bedroom and a few 3 bedroom villas.
This ensures the property is not crowded and you can enjoy the surroundings and beautiful lagoon in peace and easily unwind from the stresses of normal life.

Just a few minutes walk down the beach are many restaurants and many more a few minutes drive.

In summary- Manea Beach Villas is a great place to stay - tidy rooms, peaceful setting, beautiful Lagoon and great hosts!

Dave and Grace made our holiday truly memorable and we felt like we were staying with friends rather than at paid accommodation :-)

We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We arrived at 2.30am in the morning to a sprightly manager called Grace who welcomed us in. We had a tropical food and drink pack in each villa containing yummy cake and watermelon, juice, milk and water in the fridge. I had arranged with Grace to purchase extra water on my behalf before we arrived in which she was more than happy to do so.
We were a family of 15 ranging from 16 - 79 and were celebrating a reunion of my partners family as they had lived in Raro during the 1970's for a couple of years on a christian church mission. Since then no one had returned so it was a dream of my mother in laws that we all went back. We had booked a 2bed villa originally, but it was shut down for refurbishment and we were given x2 1 bed Villas for the same price. We allocated these to our older members of our group and they were able to sit on thier deck and look at the sea through the palms, perfect for them, there were 2 people in each and they had thier own microwave and kitchenette. We also had x2 3 Bed Villas with 6 and 5 people in them.
The 3 beds were very roomy. Not flash but very comfortable and clean and tidy. Only 1 bedroom is airconditioned with ceiling fans in every other room including the lounge and kitchen. Villas are serviced daily with fresh towels and sheets and tea towels too. The surroundings outside is what makes Manea Beach Villas unique, to the left we could see our family across the river in thier villa, and the river had eel, koura and fish in it. We could see palm trees, fragapani flowers and land crabs popping out to say hi every now and then. To our right we could see wandering roosters, mum, dad and baby goat feeding, a hen and her chicks wandering around, and a dog and pussycat too, all clean animals. If you don't like the sound of roosters in the morning, than I recommend you pack ear plugs.There is a free laundry, complete with soap powder too (I took my own and left it there) pegs and an extra line if you want. In the laundry there was also free use of snorkelling gear, fins, and aqua socks.Next to the laundry there is a free telephone so you can ring and book any tourist attractions.
The beach was less than 50m away from our villa, and about 10m away from the 1 bed villas. There is a pool by the beach, altho not huge, refreshing all the same, we did at least have 10 in it at one time with no probs. From the pool you can see out to the beautiful lagoon. There are 3 kayaks free to use and several loungers to lay back on. Great snorkelling at low tide around the coral, beautiful coloured tropical fish and you don't even have to go out that far.
At the end of the driveway (100m) there are several little shops, one that made fresh donuts every day and at 50c each, we were there every 2nd day. Location was fantastic, approx 20mins from town with a couple of well know resorts close by. Right next door there is the Flame tree Restauarant in which family members dined and said the pork belly was to die for.
Would I stay here again, without a doubt. You could never experience what we did in a fancy resort, and I have stayed at quite a few places before and members of our group couldn't speak highly enough of the managers Dave and Grace as they went out of thier way to make our stay as comfortabe as could be. If you want to know the best places to go to, ask them because the locals always know. This trip was booked through an agent because of the size of our group, but I would not hesitate to book direct with Manea. Keep up the fantastic work, because repeat business will definitely come back your way. Please feel free to email me and ask questions, I would be more than happy to answer them.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mumblesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 7 days at the end of Jan 2011 - Feb 2011.
The villa we were in although nothing flashy was comfortable and clean (and had air con in the room which was definately needed). It had everything we needed and because it is somewhat secluded was nice and peaceful. The managers Dave and Grace were so accomodating and welcomed us into there home on more than one occasion for dinner in which we enjoyed some grouse food (apart from the sushimi haha - which i heard was very nice but not to my taste) and some great laughs. We would definately stay here again and have already suggested it to my parents, so if you're looking for somewhere that has everything you need without being flashy then this is the place you want to stay. It is on the nicest part of the island (Muri Beach) and we went out on the kayaks which are available to use, and in the lagoon for a swim and snorkel. The pool was used by us a couple of times with drink in hand, and was a nice relief when it got too hot and sweaty.
There is alot of animal life around with a cat greeting us on our arrival, dogs following us back from the beach, geckos outside and in the rooms which my partner loved taking photos of (and also turning the air con off in case they got too cold...????), fish, crayfish, crabs and a huge eel thing in the ra'ui up the drive, and the fish life in the lagoon straight out from the villas is amazing (note: don't leave full drinks down on the beach while snorkelling or swimming - the local miner birds loved our midori and juice)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spex_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews