We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Nice Suprise"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
nz
1 review
“"A Nice Suprise"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I have been meaning to write this last year .. so better late than never.
From reading the reviews I certainley had no intentions of staying here but the location was perfect as we had a 40th with not far to walk ,so thought we would give it a go as after all we only really needed a bed for a week..
We were really plesently suprised with our unit - it was tidy, awsome sea views, clean and the decor was good value for money.
Due to the wind and us walking in with sand I did sweep each day.
Karyn and Brian were always very friendly and helpful.
Remembering your on a tropical island the standard of accommodation is average unless you are prepared a to pay a alot more money for a top class resort.

  • Liked — value for money.
  • Disliked — Beach not that suitable for swimming.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    14
    17
    20
See reviews for
44
94
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We have arrived back from an 8 day stay. What an awesum place.I had read these reviews and thought immmm maybe not the greatest place to stay but we had to make our minds up for ourselves (as kiwi's do) We had a beach front unit. (Beach albeit rocky) it was so cool to have the sea right outside your bedroom. The guests Brian & Caryn were awesum and so was the on site house keeper Aroha. She couldnt do enough for us. The units are private and have all you need. Shower, kitchen fully equipped to stay in & cook, queen bed etc etc.
We would definitely return to Sunrise as you cannot beat value for money. If you want to have a 5 star hotel with another couple of hundred people staying where you are then this is not the place for you. You are a short walk to Muri Lagoon where we swam and Sunrise is close to a dairy, takeaways and restaurant (Sails).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland nz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Hi we would recommend the sunrise as we stayed for a family wedding at Edgewater. The hosts Caryn and Brian were very friendly and helpful, yes they enjoy a drink but by no means did they party hard while we were there. Caryn picked us up from the airport early hours no problems and took us to the markets the next day, organized a hire car for our stay which you need if you want the flexibility to get around to supermarket or resorts ect.
The bungalows were great for us, all one room comfy bed though sheets needed changing which you can help yourself to linen and do washing whenever you like so no problem, compact kitchenette, everything you need, nice cane furniture in little lounge area and roll away bed if you ask or need for child, deck fab with furniture plastic table and chairs though we did move cane furniture out there for comfy seating to look out at the view of yes rocky beach but fantastic blue water and waves rushing to the shore fantastic to listen to as you go to sleep. BBQ upstairs when family visited in the two story hut a different perspective looking into the water from above so clear you could see the rocks under the water with the blue green colour and sun reflections lovely. You can feed fish here though not the lovely coloured ones at other parts around island. We went for a 10 minute walk round the point and found a nice snorklling area and while the boys snorkled us girls sat on the grass and listened to the beuitiful voices coming from the church service across the road. We found that there was a lovely beach to swim at about 10minutes by car opposite the Queens residence, only 2 other people were there the times we were. In all had a lovely time, relaxed, great hosts when you need something, very well priced and you clean your own room every day if that is what you want or Caryn will clean once week. Fantastic shower pressure in the bathroom, we stayed in thatched bungalow on beachfront no 3 we nick named it our faulty towers of raro as the vanity though new was to big to allow the door to close so they had neatly cut out a bit of the door to slide over vanity no problem. Friendly dog on premises and would chase round further down the beach with reef dogs but would not let them up into bungalow area. Chickens sound early in morning, sunrise fantastic from deck area. Would stay again very happy with everything at faulty towers loved it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantailAucklandNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaioea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

What an fabulous place! The Sunrise is like a little touch of paradise. As four mature students seeking reasonably priced accomodation, we were absolutely delighted with our stay at the Sunrise. Talk about value for money!
Caryn picked us up from the airport, arranged a car for our holiday and was spot on with places/ tours etc that she thought might be of interest to us as Maori language students.
We loved the tranquility of the Sunrise. Our bungalows were awesome and right on the beach, the location and views were superb. No crowds! The sound of waves breaking on the reef added to its unspoiled and natural beauty.
Caryn and Brian were great hosts.They respected our wishes to do our own thing but were always there when or if we needed them.
Our 8 day stay at the Sunrise wasn't long enough, we are all planning to return very soon.

  • Liked — Loved the location, the peace and beauty of the Sunrise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bigger-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

It was the first time my Family and I had travelled together. My eldest Son was to join us in two days. We arrived to a flurry of friendly staff and singing at the Airport and no problems with customs. We were transferred by Caryn and Bryan without any problems. Arrival to our Beach Front Bungalows (Two for the price of One) was met with the sounds of the ocean close by and a very hot tropical wind. Our Hosts were very accommodating, where I was told very quickly that when it rains, ants, crabs and coach roaches will make their way in. I appreciated the directness, though something not needed on the first night. My Daughter and I had Bungalow Two, while my youngest Son headed for his Bungalow One until his eldest Brother arrived to stay with him. As the early sunrise morning showed, I have to share I was so very impressed with the Beach Front view. I loved the privacy and the closeness of the ocean sea breeze, sounds and reef. As I ventured around our accommodation (both bungalows) I was disappointed with how run down they were. Roofing and paint would have been good to upgrade the appearance. Everything looked tired and worn with the curtains having tears in them. Bungalow Two would definitely need another stove, this took ages to heat, though we ate out most nights. We didn't have a tv, so stole my sons one from his Bungalow One, only to find that there was one channel available. You’ll love the Toyota ad. We still have a blast with that one. Also common on the Island since you cannot buy land in Rarotonga owned by the People, cemeteries are visible in their front lawns. My Youngest was unaware of the urupa (cemetery) at his door entrance. In many ways this is the most natural practical process and one I accepted, however, he slept with us until his Big Brother arrived. We didn’t receive the free 3 day car hire. You definitely will be needing a rental car service as the Bungalows are too far away from everything. An issue of a temporary drivers license will be given, where you'll be advised to visit the Cook Island Police Station to apply for a Rarotonga license. No test required for cars, though you will be driver tested for scooters. Head helmets are not required. I strongly recommend Trader Jacks to relax and dine along with Salsa Cafe in town (we were careful of where we ate and always purchased our water). CITC is the main Islands Store, though the quiet spots in private Homes as you drive are nice to visit (stores). The People are very accommodating and friendly. For most Hotel Bars you’re able to drop in without being an in-house Guest to use their facilities. Palm Grove is nice. A MUST to attend is the HIGHLAND PARADISE Show.....you'll LOVE IT!!! Your picked up and deposited to and from your Accommodation via Bus. Also, if you’re a golfer, there is a Golf Course on the Island. Take a drive to the Hospital and receive picturesque views for photos from the Hill Top. Stunning!!!

With my eldest Son finally joining us, we were one big Happy Family until the rain set in. True to the word the ants and crabs soon appeared very quickly. It was only to the huge coach roaches and this reason alone that we checked out the next day. As we paid cash, there was no credit card transactions and that we were given cash back promptly for overpayment. Lastly, the most disappointing part to my vacation, was when my children were asked by Caryn to bring tobacco into the country duty free when they don't smoke. This I considered most unprofessional. Also note, these premises are not accredited. However in all fairness, Caryn and Bryan catered for our needs when asked. While Caryn is an intense person and speaks quickly, her heart is in the right place.....It's the premise that needs a 'place' of Right-(Mana returned).

Kia Orana.

  • Liked — ocean views
  • Disliked — premise worn and tired apprearance
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Aquarian_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2008

We wanted a quiet place on the ocean in a tropical setting and that is what we got. Caryn and Brian were excellent hosts, very considerate and kind. If you are expecting 5 star accomodations then stay somewhere else and pay the price. We enjoyed the simple setting, the constant ocean breeze and the ocean at our doorstep. When they advertise you are "on the beach", you really are so there will be salt spray and salty air. Salt corrodes metal so expect that.

We particularly enjoyed the fresh fish at the market Caryn recommended. A pan fry lunch every day with fish fresh from the ocean. The Saturday market is a delight, with interesting foods available throughout the week at the same location. Delightful island meal and show at the staircase Thursday night- ask Caryn what to do and where to go.

Some of the reviews are not kind, so I should point out that besides taking care of the cottages, Caryn helps a sick friend run their store. She is intense and talks sort of fast, but she is the kind of person I would like as a friend. She does enough work for 3 people every day, but always finds time to help out if you need it.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

We have been going there to the Sunrise for the past 5 yrs (inc this one). If you check into it you will be told that this is not a beach for swimming but beachcombing OK.
We love the bungalows right along the ocean so you hear the ocean and its very relaxing
We look forward to going again next year as this is our type of holiday for a month. Yes the bed sheets feel damp for the first night but it is so humid there, you get used to it if not you have picked the wrong country to go to
Caryn and Brian are just the best hosts they never bother you but are there if needed or not hard to find. Cant find something just ask and it shall be delivered or told where to look.
You cater to yourself with the cooking, restaurants not to far away but we like to do our own thing other then the great waffles at the market place on Sat.
Brian and Caryn have become great friends and our mark is there beside our bungalow and we cant wait to go back.
Agreaqt holiday , but they are what you make them and this is the best for us a far way but darn its worth it for the serenity and peacefulness away from the nustle and bustle of crowds THE BEST PLACE TO LAY BACK AND RELAX. BEST HOLIDAY EVER.
GREAT PEOPLE.
We even went through the storm that beached the freighter in the towns harbour in Jan/08.

  • Liked — The greatest place to RELAX
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Potion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.7 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Sands
Tropical Sands
#3 of 7 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.6 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
1.7 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Sunrise Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute oceanfront ocean and garden bungalows and 2 bedroom family house.9m from Muri Lagoon fully self catering bring yourselves and your bagsset in 4800 square metres of sand and garden privateswimming pool gas bbeque tour desk complimentary snokelling equipmentideal for groups families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Bungalows Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing