We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place for an Intimate Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kakera Villa Apartments
Opotiki, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Place for an Intimate Wedding”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We chose Apartments Kakera for our wedding and honeymoon and it was a magical experience from beginning to end. Melinda, Andrew and whanau have created a very special place far from the impersonality of bigger resorts. We felt cared for as soon as we arrived: our hosts were attentive without being at all intrusive.

The accommodation (we stayed in the largest apartment, Karanga) is beautifully styled and designed to maximise its situation overlooking a beautiful and private coral beach. It has everything you could possibly need (including laundry facilities) with thoughtful touches like fresh flowers and a delicious complimentary breakfast the first day, and everything is spotlessly clean thanks to Melinda and the legendary Chris!

We loved the private coral beach fringed with greenery and have never before seen the electric blue colour of the sky before the dawn arrives: a stunning landscape!

We benefited very much from our hosts knowledge of the island, including good places to eat and the best snorkelling spots, and Melinda arranged hire of a great open-top car for us too. Another lovely thing we did (again suggested by our hosts) was to visit the white church along the road on Sunday for the experience of hearing those remarkable Pacific harmonies.

Our wedding was completely stress-free thanks to Melinda who organised everything from the fantastic photographer (Jenna Tere) and celebrant (John Whitta) to the most beautiful flowers. I felt completely pampered as Melinda again worked her magic with my hair and makeup on our wedding day.

We got married on the wooden deck on the beach with the sparkling sea behind us and the palm trees swaying in the wind: perfect! This was followed by a wonderful meal in our apartment garden: the food (all prepared by our hosts) was divine, with Melinda catering for anything we wanted, including our vegetarian guests. It was a truly special day and there is nothing that we would have done differently.

We cannot recommend Apartments Kakera highly enough and can't wait to go back! With grateful thanks to Melinda, Andrew and whanau for their kindness and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Craig_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stumbled across Apartments Kakera's website when planning our wedding in the Cook Islands and the first thing that appealed to us was that it wasn't a large resort. We were looking for a location a little more private and we certainly made the right decision for us.
We booked out all 3 apartments for a week (Pepe for us!) as we only had 7 guests for our wedding, we felt like we had so much space! The apartments were all very clean and contained everything you would have at home, from magazines, DVD's to kitchen appliances. Chris did an amazing job looking after us all week.

The planning by Melinda & Andrew was amazing (Melinda has definitely discovered her talent!), I was the most stress free bride for the entire week. Everything from the photographer, to the celebrant to the flowers (Andrew's archway creation & decoration was a work of art!), hair and makeup was perfect (Melinda is an artist!). The fact that Apartments Kakera have a private beach with a wooden deck, made an great location to exchange our nuptials, plus a great spot for photo's. Our day (well week) is something we will never forget.

Wedding aside, we felt right at home at Pepe, our outdoor area was beautifully manicured including our plunge pool which we made use of every day. The self contained apartments were perfect when staying a week as we grabbed a few groceries, so it really suited our needs.

Melinda and Andrew had so much local knowledge and we borrowed the snorkeling gear one day and headed to the far end of Muri for some fish spotting. Such great snorkeling, we ended up in the water for hours. The beauty of the Cook Islands is that it's not busy at all. We felt like we had the whole beach to ourselves.

All in all, we had an unforgettable time staying with Melinda & Andrew at Apartments Kakera and if we made it back to Raro we would definitely stay there again. We will also be telling all our friends about it too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Its so hard to describe how pleased we are that we chose Apartments Kakera for our wedding venue and holiday accommodation in Rarotonga. For us, it was completely perfect in every way. The accommodation is just spot on, and something that is unique to the island. We had booked out all 3 apartments for all of our family, with myself and my now husband in Apartment Pepe. It is very private, modern and a place that we could easily call home for the week that we stayed there. The deck on the beach is a great little getaway spot at the beach is really private, and it's very relaxing to sit out on and hear the waves crash. What made Apartments Kakera so special is the service provided by Melinda, Andrew and Chris- anything they can help with they will, even if it is just questions about what time things begin, or recommendations on places to eat. It was so nice not to be just another room number, they were willing to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable.
Even more amazing was Melinda's ability to create a wedding day for my husband and I that we will never forget. We had 37 guests at our wedding, all of whom have raved to us about the wedding day, including the great food, decorations and feeling of the reception area, all of which I can thank Melinda and Andrew for. Melinda had a great way of making me feel so calm about the day, and I had great confidence in her ability to do everything needed for our day. Things that I had never even thought of Melinda had sorted, and it was no problem to her when I had last minute requests, such as additional flower arrangements and hair. We cannot thank them enough for everything they did to make our wedding day so amazing. We really did feel a part of the whole family by the end of our stay, and we all can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome here. Nothing was ever too much to ask of Melinda and Andrew. We were here to get married and I honestly don't think we could have asked for a more beautiful perfect day. We never had a problem with roosters or children as I noticed some others had.we liked the feel of the place and the fact it was like home unlike resorts where u are crammed with others. Chris went above and beyond with the cleaning we wanted to clone him and bring him home. Overall we certainly left feeling like we couldn't have had a more perfect wedding/honeymoon. Melinda's hit cakes and prawn and paw paw salad are to die for. We will def be bringing the kids back :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannevirke, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Apartment PePe and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying. Melinda, Andrew, & Chris were excellent hosts and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a lovely place, right by a protected beach, each apartment has it's own pool, very refreshing after the heat of the day. Lovely staff, over all a lovely stay.
I recommend the snorkelling at the far end of muri beach

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qwertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have just enjoyed the most relaxing 8 days in the Cook Islands.
From the moment we arrived at Apartments Karkera, we were made to feel very welcome by the most lovliest hosts Melinda & Andrew and their family.

The location is great, not too far from the main town and close to the gorgeous Muri lagoon, where you will not find a more beautful spot to cool off.
There are small supply shops within walking distance, but a car or bike is recommended to get around and explore this wonderful part of the world. The cost for this is well priced and Melinda & Andrew were more than happy to organise it for us.

The apartment was so clean, spacious & comfortable, we felt like we were at home, if there was any thing that we needed though, it was attentively bought to our apartment.
Lots of little touches were waiting for us when we arrived & Melinda's pancakes the next morning were delightful.
The apartment is stocked with every kind of magazine ever published, plenty of DVD's & an assortment of board games, which we enjoyed playing together as a family at night.
It was great also to be able to wash & dry clothes when you are away for more than a few days.
The beach at Kakera is great for fossicking, a great deck to take the bean bags out, read a book & watch the waves roll in. Great for surfing, just a little way up is a sandy area for a paddle. There are reef shoes & snorkling gear avaliable to be able explore.

We loved living like the locals, finding places to eat & shopping for local produce. The bananas & paw paws are like nothing you will taste in Australia.

We found many great places to eat, the kids favourite was the "Flying Boat" which had the best fish & chips, beautifully battered local fish & golden chips.
The supermarkets were well stocked, the imported processed foods were alot more expensive than home, but is what you would expect on an island. We bought a suitcase full of munchies such as lollies, chocolate & biscuits with us, which we were pleased we did.
My husband & son enjoyed going to the local rugby matches in the afternoons late in the week, a bit of fun mixing with the local families.

There are a few adventures that you can do on the island, but we were happy just to completely relax and enjoy the sun & the sand. I have never had such a relaxing time on hoildays.
If you are like us and are a bit over sharing resort facilites with loads of others, Apartments Kakera are for you. We found that we explored more of Rarotonga by staying there, as you find when in a resort you tend not to venture out as much.

You leave Kakera feeling refreshed and relaxed, knowing that you now have special memories & friends from the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.0 mi away
Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Ikurangi Eco Retreat
#1 of 2 in Matavera
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
0.0 mi away
Te Vakaroa Villas
Te Vakaroa Villas
#4 of 17 in Muri
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakera Villa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakera Villa Apartments

Property: Kakera Villa Apartments
Address: Beach Side, Turangi, Muri | Ngatangiia, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakera Villa Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kakera Villa Apartments Rarotonga - offer four comfortable eco modern holiday home villas. A boutique private complex of self catering self service trendy villa apartments, some with private outdoor area & plunge pool. Set along side a natural coral reef surf beach at the foot of tropical mountains, two kilometers from the bustle of Muri, close to stores and coffee shop. Kakera Villa Apartments presents the perfect tropical vacation space for longer stay travelers, couples, family with teenagers and grown up children & groups of up to fifteen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kakera Villa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing