We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food”
Review of The Rickshaw

The Rickshaw
Ranked #38 of 102 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cosy Asian Street Style Cafe in Muri, serving Vietnamese, Indonesian, Chinese, Malasian and Thai dishes with a range of vegetarian choices and gluten free items on request.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had heard this place was good - and we weren't disappointed. We had a selection of dishes between the 6 of us, and every one was tasty, well presented; good table and drink service. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 50TicToc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are grateful to the owners Sue & Robbie Brown-Carruthers, of this new restaurant in Muri Village, we have waited a long time for such a place to open in Muri as we are locals and were desparate for somewhere we could easily stroll to. We have visited The Rickshaw many times since its opening. the food is always the same, never alters ie DELICIOUS. anad the service, and the atmosphere are inviting, the staff always remember us which gives us a feeling of a "village belonging" We enjoy the food so much we have also indulged on their takeaways which were all ready on the dot when we picked them up. There is also a comprehensive wine list sensibly priced. Please keep up the good work!!! Rickshaw is now "our local" Muri Residents

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank taakoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Sorry to see that the service we experienced is not due to an "off night". Our party of 8 under no circumstances could be accommodated even though our 6 seat table was right next to a 2 seat, so we just yelled and sang Happy Birthday (with a rousing Kiwi Hip Hip Hooray ending) from one side of the restaurant to the other! Fortunately the food, THE food, THE FOOD! Their amazing chef has just given me a whole new definition of delicious! The chicken and spinach in coconut should be regular offering as it is tremendous as is the much sought after Curry fish. Yes, we will be back!

Thank Manuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unfortunately I didn't even get a chance to dine at this new restaurant as I was so put off by the service. I had high expectations as this restaurant is owned by the Tamarind House owners and I've had only good experiences at Tamarind.

When I walked into The Rickshaw, I was abruptly told by the wait staff not to bother if I didn't have a booking. When I explained I was simply wanting to know their opening hours and if they had a takeaway menu, it was all too much for them. They couldn't tell me when they were open and seemed annoyed when I asked. I asked if the menu on the counter was the takeaway menu and was told 'yes', but when I walked away with it, the waitress chased me, yelling that I couldn't take it. It was just printed on A4 paper! She rudely took it from me and brushed off my husband when he told her that was a bit of an overreaction.

Not a great way to treat Rarotonga residents if you would like repeat business.

    • Service
1  Thank sms09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarind69, Owner at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We are so sorry to hear that this reviewer was greeted in such an unfriendly manner when visiting the Rickshaw, and that we were unable to offer them a table. Our tiny 24 seat Asian bistro opened on 20th August so it would seem that this reviewer visited very shortly after opening.
The Rickshaw has not advertised or promoted itself in any way, because as any restaurateur knows, the first few weeks are always beset with teething problems, upsets, faulty equipment, untried systems, and new staff. However, since opening, the Rickshaw has been full every night, which means that reservations really are recommended. If any of the staff were abrupt, it was no doubt due to being harried and under pressure, and still finding their feet, although of course this does not excuse any unfriendliness of any kind at all on their part.
Our menu is still on an A4 sheet of paper, printed off-site, so on this busy night there would have been no menus to spare. We also change our menu almost daily as we are still in the process of trialling our menu, to discover which dishes should become permanently featured. This would be the reason the wait staff asked for the menu back, although of course there is no excuse for their “over-reaction” as described by the reviewer.
It is always helpful to get positive criticism, as we can then address the issues where needed and endeavour to improve customer relations.
We do highly recommend that diners book a table to avoid disappointment, and hope to see these potential customers again in the future. I am confident they will have a good experience dining at the Rickshaw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank reisefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rickshaw also viewed

 

Been to The Rickshaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing