We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Attentive and tactful hosts, awesome balcony and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Full moon rising over the Pacific Ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full moon rising over the Pacific Ocean
These whales were spotted directly in front of the house. Whale season is from late June to October.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Full moon rising over the Pacific Ocean
These whales were spotted directly in front of the house. Whale season is from late June to October.
View from the living room
Sunrise from the deck. Take your early morning coffee with you
A few minutes earlier on the sunrise
Tropical hardwood floors
This is the floor plan for upstairs, for those interested in the size and lay out
Full moon rising
Downstairs, self contained studio
Kitchen
Second bedroom
Main bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Afternoon delight
They are on a 4,000 mile journey en route to warmer seas to mate, give birth and to rest., ,
Reef fishing literally at your doorstep
View from upstairs deck
The downs stairs studio
Downstairs Studio
Downstairs studio
The ocean deck
Fresh coconut juice for breakfast
Fresh papaya (pawpaw) at the back door
The 2 bedroom villa is upstairs, and self contained studio below.
Upstairs bathroom
Afternoon barbecue on the deck, watching for whales.  Full moon rising soon, what a sight that is.
The cross island trek, which we can easily arrange.
Reef walking in front of the house on low tide
Reef fishing in front of Matangi Moana
The sun deck, looking back from the beach
The sun deck and ocean after sunset
The Needle, during the cross island trek
View from the base of the Needle on the cross island trek
The Cross Island Trek
Cross Island Trek
Reef walk at low tide
New Year fireworks.  Sorry, closest MacDonalds is 2,851km.  Closest local burgers 2km.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jason Y
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attentive and tactful hosts, awesome balcony and living space”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Kelvin and his family were welcoming, attentive hosts and always went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He picked us up from the airport late in the evening, and even went and bought snorkelling equipment for us to use during our stay. We stayed at the property for a month and any issues we had were dealt with swiftly and effectively.

The living space on the upper deck was fantastic, with a nice view of the rocky shore and very comfy chairs and couches. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans and even a microwave.

The beds were spacious and functional. There is no air-conditioning and if you're inclined to the cold like I am, it will take a while to get used to the heat and ceiling fans.

It was interesting to throw out all the perishable food rubbish over the balcony into the massive yard for the local dogs and chickens to feast on. That's what we were told to do as the rubbish collectors come weekly and food spoils very quickly in the tropical heat.

Muri beach is a short car journey away, and it is one of the most fantastic lagoons I have ever been to. The Muri beach food market is also on twice a week, and that also provided some quality evening entertainment and grub.

Be warned that the roosters will start their morning calls early in the wee hours, and that generous use of mosquito coils and repellant are a sensible thing to do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thanks for the review Jason. We are so glad you enjoyed our house. Yes, we do find it best to feed the food scraps to the chickens, much better than filling up our limited land fill with organic rubbish. Waste management on small islands is always a challenge, and we do our bit by encouraging people to use our natural systems, which work really well! Re the mosqutos, usually the cool ocean breeze keeps them at bay on the balcony, and the house is fully screened inside.

All the best,

Kelvin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2014
Thanks Shane, so glad you enjoyed your stay. The rain came down just after you left, so someone was looking after you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mwinchest...
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Want beachfront privacy? Here it is!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This rental is ideal if you want to live like a local and stay in privacy. It is a house on the sea front about 6km out of the main town which means you'll need to rent a car (or rely on the hourly bus outside your door). While it is a seafront house it fronts onto a rocky coral reef, so not really suitable for swimming. But that is what makes this place so private and what we thought made it a better stay as there are no tourists constantly outside your back door as is the case in places where you get a good beach frontage. I highly recommend and wouldn't think twice before booking this again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2014
Glad you have got back home safely, and thanks so much for the very prompt and accurate review. I think you have hit the nail on the head on the privacy aspects of the house. Some parts of Rarotonga are just getting a bit busy these days! Say hi to the family from me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benawa
Lund
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Private! Good kitchen.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife Nancy and I went to Rarotonga a little early to attend our sons wedding. Choosing to opt out of the resort scene, Matangi Moana made us feel instantly relaxed and at home. The Owners Kelvin and Ana quickly became our friends. With a layed back and friendly attitude this house was our haven. Lots of relaxing made easy due to the front and back decks. Always a way to stay in the shade. Very private and with the surf right at the door step as opposed to 100 meters out. The sounds of the surf became part of our day. Great nights sleep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy,large front and back deck.
Liked least: our short stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2013
Thanks for the kind words Nancy. We are so glad you enjoyed our house. And we really enjoyed our trek to the needle with you guys as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pumpkin20
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was a perfect house for our family of 5 adults and a 10month old baby.We rented both the upstairs and the studio downstairs. A big thank you to Kelvin for collecting us from the airport and being such a helpful landlord. And thank you for the delicious passionfruit and bananas! The views from both the decks are amazing. Having a Tex Mart virtually at the front gate was great for our milk and bread supplies. Our 10month old grandson loved feeding the chooks each morning after breakfast. The local dogs were a little noisy but friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having all the family together - but not on top of each other!
Liked least: The dogs - although these are not the landlords.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon21...
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Very helpful owner who got up and met us at the airport in the early hours of the morning and then took us to the airport when we left..Also loaned us snorkel gear and 2 mountain bikes..extremely helpful..Everything was very good. Only one negative and that was the barking dogs next door early in the morning BUT in saying that the dogs were really friendly but if you are a light sleeper you might want to take some ear plugs!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our own privacy and extremely helpful owner
Liked least: Barking dogs and roosters early in the morning (not owners fault!!!)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$148
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing