We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing small local friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing small local friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at Castaway Resort for our honeymoon for 5 nights and I wish we had stayed longer. Michelle is the most helpful person ever and is a great owner who goes out of her way to help you. Paul had many travel tips and knew everyone staying at Castaway.

Castaway is very well priced compared to other beach side accomodations and is very clean and comfortable while being cheaper and more friendly than luxury resorts. It's very small (12 rooms) and you can get to know the other guests if you want but there is also the privacy to just stay to yourself if you'd like. The rooms aren't directly on the beach but they are just steps from the beach and each room has at least a small balcony or porch. It's small enough that you can always find a beach lounger or pool lounge chair.

Castaway is directly on the west side of the Island and is the perfect place to watch the sunset or to go out later to watch the stars. Paul and Michelle offered us rides, gave us champagne and have a great staff at Castaway Resort. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere this is a great place to stay. The food is really good as well even though we went out for many meals to other places and also cooked a lot in the kitchenette in our room too.

There is a Chinese takeout place directly across the street as well as a small grocery store right across the way. There are multiple groceries within a mile and the tourist bus stops right out front.

Rarotonga is a small island and everything is pretty accessible and we were very happy to stay where we did at Castaway. It was cleaner, more friendly and nicer than many other similiarly priced places that we visited.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 and it was great and had a private balcony. All of the rooms have A/C but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    52
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
140
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Paul and Michelle were wonderful hosts and took care of all their guests. The resort was at full capacity, however very quiet and relaxing. The noisy Roosters have been taken care of, which makes for a restful stay. Great beach bar to sit back and watch the sunsets.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved it at Castaways, our hosts, Paul and Michelle were extremely helpful when it came advice
About what to do and where to go. It was like a post card setting. Absolutely beautiful. We will go back, the best short break ever. It was very relaxing and we were amazed by the tropical fish right at our feet, so beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We absolutely love this little hideaway. Very small and simple with lovely garden to walk through on the way to the beach. We did not stay here but looked over the room details while visiting the beach bar/restaurant and would definitely plan a stay here. It's a very special little spot. Dropped by for a sunset cocktail and were greeted and welcomed very graciously by the proprietor. We happened on a night when the bar theme food was pizza. We ordered the meat lovers pizza and it was fabulous! Cocktails were delicious and we loved listening to the two musicians. An added plus for us. We were not expecting entertainment. The sunset . . . well just look at my photos. Spectacular. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowbirds259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

great beach access and good food. very help full staff. bus stops right outside so no need for rental cars etc if you don't want to. air conditioning and local restaurants around who will pick up on a night time. can be a little noisy sometimes at night with local dogs etc

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloverNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a beautiful destination. I was abit apprehensive as I don't do lazy holidays and thought I would be totally bored but quite the opposite. If you love the sea and good food this is the place to go. Castaway Resort is like nothing I have stayed at previously. So laid back and relaxed and nothing was a problem. Michelle and Paul are the best hosts. The food at Castaway is A+. Fresh and plentiful. Snorkling out in front of Wilsons Bar was the best we came across on the Island. We even had visitors in the form of dogs, chooks and a cat, not a problem. Had a beachfront apartment which was just superb. Live music on one night at Wilsons Bar was a bonus and the sunsets just beautiful. You can mix with other guests or have a quiet drink on your own - your choice with no hassles. Seriously, if you want R&R this is the place to go. Would highly recommend Castaway - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Returned from this amazing part of the world last Saturday. This review has to begin with what made this one the most memorable holidays of our life. It was our wonderful hosts Paul and Michelle, they are a wealth of knowledge regarding Raro and we left feeling like we were leaving friends. We travelled with another couple and were in beachfront villas 6 & 7. If you want direct beachfront ask for 7 or 8. The resort is comfortable and the swimming pool is always sparkling and inviting. Breakfast was always a laugh with Paul and talk of the roosters. The snorkelling at the resort is great. Forget the snorkel the fish come for a look as soon as you enter the crystal clear water. We ate there for the BBQ, Mexican and pizza nights and food was really good. Beach bar is good and sunsets to die for. Thank you again Paul and Michelle we will be back for sure. Aussies get to Raro it is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: For beachfront units select 7 or 8. 6 and 7 are more like ocean view - still awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Property: Castaway Resort
Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing