We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castaway Resort
Nearby Hotels
$351
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$151
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$470
$391
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$397
$386
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$235
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
201
61
6
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
61
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelle and paulbeach barskewersyakitoriwatch the sunsetwonderful hostsother guestsbeach frontgreat couplefishcook islandspool sidetwo bedroom unitwest sidea great staycereal and toasthappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 274 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a booking system fail, I spent my first night in a poolside studio (big, great bathroom but not so private). After that I had the upstairs poolside villa. It was lovely. Very private, large balcony looking out to the ocean, kitchenette and big bathroom. Don't worry about watching TV - reception is poor. I self catered for most of my stay. The store across the road had vegetables and basic supplies, but more food could be bought from roadside sellers, the Saturday market and larger supermarkets in Avarua. There's a small night market held 2 minutes walk away every 2nd Wednesday, which has hot food, coffee, crafts and cake. Great for mingling with the Arorangi locals.

What I really liked about Castaway was the friendliness. Travelling on my own, I never felt lonely. The other guests were relaxed and friendly, happy to chat. Michelle, Paul and Liz were always there for conversation, assistance and to recommend tours. Being only a small resort, there was never that feeling of being crowded. Also, being away from Muri and the tourist hubbub was perfect. I got talking to a few of the locals on my walks, which wasn't as easy in Muri.

The snorkelling off the beach in front of the resort held many treasures - butterfly fish, a starfish and an eel along with other schools of large and small fish. Castaway offers snorkels and masks for free. Watching the sunsets each afternoon was magical - with a cocktail from the fabulous beach bar.

With so little open on Sundays, I suggest you arrive early and/or book a table for the Sunday night BBQ in the restaurant.

Your sleep might be disturbed initially by crowing roosters and church bells ringing (both occur at all hours and all around Raro), but after a few days, they became like the waves crashing against the reef - music to lull me to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the first week of our holiday in Rarotonga and Aitutaki, and it was very friendly , private establishment with it's own pool, its own beach and also a bar on the beach as well as a Dining room and bar. The location was excellent, the beach peaceful, and being small meant the the guests were able to mingle. We had an upstairs villa with a sea and garden view which was very comfortable and as clean as anywhere near the beach can be, and had lovely views to the sea. The sunsets were great. The daily buffet breakfast was good start to the day in the restaurant, we actually had a theme night dinner there too and indulged in the beach bar happy hours. The units are well equipped for self catering options as well. We highly recommend Castaway for it's friendly staff, accommodation , atmosphere and helpfulness of the hosts and staff, and wish to thank them for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robs440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just got back from Castaways Resort and i really loved it!!!!, i enjoyed that its was right on the beach which was quite private and not as crowded as Muri. Saw whales, Fantastic sunsets, newly formed sea pools meant you could swim/snorkle at all tides.Loved the location, great to have a less crowded beach, great beach bar right on the beach deck chairs etc enough for everyone.
Owners and staff all friendly and helpfull, was a great atmosphere. i would defiantly recommend it and want to return!!!!

Room Tip: we had a room on the beach which was great private deck great views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from our one-week holiday at the Castaway Villas and we had a perfect time there. It all started with a really warm welcome from Michelle who was always ready to assist with any questions regarding Rarotonga. The accomodation was perfectly clean and well equipped in case you want to prepare some quick lunches. You are provided with snorkelling gear for the whole time of your stay, there is a kayak ready for you. The hotel beach is really romantic but it is strongly recommended to borrow a motorbike and check the other beaches on the island as well. Some are perfect for swimming, some are famous for snorkelling. (ask Michelle, she can show you everything on the map).
Complimentary breakfest is reasonably rich and it is the right time to talk to the second owner Paul. He is always there to give you some advice or just to talk about life. Another must is a coctail at Wilson´s beach bar where you can see the best sunset on the island, watch whales passing by or listen to live music (Thursday night).
Both bars close at 9,30, so you will get a very good sleep as well.
Honestly, I can´t think off any negative side. I strongly recommend this resort!
Michal

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michal U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just had 10 days at the Castaway Villas. Paul and Michelle are the perfect hosts very friendly and helpful.Would recommend this place if you are looking for great affordable accommodation.
Wilsons Beach bar is a great place to watch the sunset or whale watch !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews