We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good stay very clean and tidy resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good stay very clean and tidy resort”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

my friend and i had 3 days with paul and michelle we found them good hosts the food was good especially the bbq night the pool was great but i did have issues trying to get out the first time i used it slipped and broke the skin on my shin not the best for us older ladies we stayed in room 2 which was lovely especially the bathroom only issue was the soundproofing between us and room 3 this was around dawn more likely sign of when it was built that soundproofing was not the same issue as it is today but it didnt stop us from enjoying this resort keep up the good work paul and michelle your hard work paying off

Room Tip: our room quiet no road noise just that muffled talk noise from next unit around 6.30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggymay185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    52
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
142
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were here in August and have just had another week here. What a fantastic location, great facilites, restuarant and bars. Paul and Michelle and their staff are just great. This is a great location and the atmosphere is great. No kids which for us was fine. We met lovely people and really enjoyed the daily happy hours. Paul and Michelle do so much to make our stay wonderful. We are coming back in August this year - three times in one year!

Room Tip: rooms 8 and 9 are the ones nearest the beach which we love
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveMcDowell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Couldn't have asked for more! Great place - much better than the more expensive resorty hotels on the island - mainly due to the kindness and great personalities of the hosts.
On arriving in Raro (from the UK via Auckland), Air NZ had taken my suitcase off the plane as the plane was overweight. N.B this happens a lot from what I gathered after speaking to locals. If you're travelling with a partner, make sure you split your belongings over your two cases in case one gets left behind. Air NZ will give you 100NZD but this doesn't go far in the Cooks when you need sun cream, mozzie repellent, swimwear etc. However, Michelle was so helpful - lending me some sarongs, sun cream etc - it really helped and meant we could enjoy our precious time there. They also upgraded us to a beachfront villa as we only had 2 nights there and were on honeymoon. We missed breakfast one day and Paul very kindly gave us bread, spreads and lovely fresh fruit so we could have it anyway. Villas were great, beach was beautiful. Beach bar was just opening when we were there but looked wonderful. Chinese takeaway opposite is pretty good with generous portion sizes (we ordered 2 dishes but that was enough for 4!). Walk down the beach to get to the Waterline restaurant for a sunset meal looking over the sea. Snorkelling gear is free to use too and plenty of amazing fish in the water.
Thanks so much for a great stay - wish we could be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront is really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BH868841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent 6 days at the Castaway, way too short a time. Michelle and Paul are the most wonderful people, Michelle has a wicked sence of humour, a laugh a minute. Our room was excellent, staff just beautiful, all the guests were made feel welcome and we all got on well. Cant wait to return next year for a longer visit. Hey Paul how's the mud wrestling idea going??? Cant wait to join in. Ha Ha.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just arrived back into the UK after a round the world trip that included staying 5 days at the Castaways. Although the pool was being resealed Paul made arrangements for us to use two other facilities. Paul & Michelle were marvellous hosts and could not do enough for me. yet wish they were not so far away. If I get the chance will certainly be back. have already passed on details to two other people.

Room Tip: I had a studio room which was absolutely ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was the last one after our memorable 2 weeks honeymoon around the Cook Islands. As we had an overnight flight back to Auckland we decided to stay close to the airport in a small hotel. We arrived at the hotel around 5h30pm (from Aitutaki) and the reception was closed. We went to the restaurant/bar and a young lady together with her father (hotel owner) promptly checked us in, sorted out our luggage which was delivered by the hotel that we previous stayed in Rarotonga and confirmed our flights and airport shuttle. They were extremely helpful.
The standard room that we stayed was a family room with 1 queen & 1 single bed perfect for families. Self contained room with all kitchen appliances and crockery. From the back door we had access to the beach and pool. In the evening was quite pleasant having a nap and hearing sound waves before we head to the airport.
We did not use any facilities in the hotel but it looks great, very well maintained.
The hotel restaurant was a highlight of our short time at the Castaway Hotel. We wanted to go to a nice Restaurant to finalize our stay in Cook Island but we were tired, so we decided to have dinner there. Food was delicious; the seafood dishes that we ordered were full of flavour. I am so glad we dined there; lovely atmosphere, delicious local cuisine and delightful staff to talk to.
Special thanks for the hotel owner, his daughter, waitress and the chef; you guys are a sensational team!

Room Tip: Room close to the beach will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, great staff, the best value on the island! Dining was excellent - better than in some of the other more expensive resorts. Lots of improvements being made. Thank you to Paul and Michelle!

Room Tip: I recommend the Beach front apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
6.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Property: Castaway Resort
Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing