We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food & Great staff.”
Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was the last one after our memorable 2 weeks honeymoon around the Cook Islands. As we had an overnight flight back to Auckland we decided to stay close to the airport in a small hotel. We arrived at the hotel around 5h30pm (from Aitutaki) and the reception was closed. We went to the restaurant/bar and a young lady together with her father (hotel owner) promptly checked us in, sorted out our luggage which was delivered by the hotel that we previous stayed in Rarotonga and confirmed our flights and airport shuttle. They were extremely helpful.
The standard room that we stayed was a family room with 1 queen & 1 single bed perfect for families. Self contained room with all kitchen appliances and crockery. From the back door we had access to the beach and pool. In the evening was quite pleasant having a nap and hearing sound waves before we head to the airport.
We did not use any facilities in the hotel but it looks great, very well maintained.
The hotel restaurant was a highlight of our short time at the Castaway Hotel. We wanted to go to a nice Restaurant to finalize our stay in Cook Island but we were tired, so we decided to have dinner there. Food was delicious; the seafood dishes that we ordered were full of flavour. I am so glad we dined there; lovely atmosphere, delicious local cuisine and delightful staff to talk to.
Special thanks for the hotel owner, his daughter, waitress and the chef; you guys are a sensational team!

Room Tip: Room close to the beach will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, great staff, the best value on the island! Dining was excellent - better than in some of the other more expensive resorts. Lots of improvements being made. Thank you to Paul and Michelle!

Room Tip: I recommend the Beach front apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartinML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed at Castaway Villas over NY's 2012/2013 and absolutely loved it! Paul and Michelle are amazing and made us feel so at home. They gave the best advide on activities to do and went out of their way to help us have the best holiday (paul even picked us and multiple other guests up in a mini van on NY's night!) The room's were very clean and tidy and the staff worked hard to keep this maintained everyday. The restaurant had extremely nice food, some of the best we tried on the island & also some of the cheapest - great value for money. We would be happy to recommend Castaway Villas to others and would definitely stay here next time!! Thank you again Paul and Michelle...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank IsabellaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our 6 day stay here a Castaway.  We originally booked a beachside villa but were given the choice of 1st floor apartment (room 11) which we ended up choosing.  The room were clean and in good condition, with a lovely balcony facing out to the beach/sea.  The shower in the bathroom is powerful and the room has everything you need in case you want to cook during your stay.  We checked out the beachside apartment also and it looked in good condition also.  The swimming pool is a nice feature and is large enough to swim around and do short laps if you want to.

The resort is going through a small refurbishment at the moment, which is not to say it is not in good condition already. It's just the owners have some good ideas on how to make it better (like creating a bar right on the beach, building a Japanese style BBQ and generally sprucing up the place).  We noticed no disruption while the work was going on and all the interiormwork is now complete and the majority of the outdoor work should be done in the next couple of weeks anyway, so it should not affect your decision to stay here.

The food at the resort is excellent.  Paul & Michelle have hired a top chef who used to work in one of the larger hotels and the pizza night (live music on a thurs), seafood night and BBQ night were some of the best food we ate while on the island. The owners are exceptionally helpful and friendly and could not have done more to make our stay an enjoyable one. 

Top tips for your stay on Rarotonga:
1. Hire a scooter.  The roads are quiet and its the best way to get around the island. There a clockwise & anti-clockwise bus which also provides transport but its hourly.
2.  The best snorkelling without an organised trip is at fruits of Rarotonga, then near the rarotangan resort and at black rocks.  However, we also heard very good things about the organised day trips. We did one on Aitutaki via 'Teking Tours' which was a highlight of the trip.
3.  Go to Aitutaki if you can for a few days.  In contrast to Rarotonga's mountainous beauty, Aitutaki and the surrounding islands in the lagoon have stunning beaches with the best snorkelling/diving I have ever done.  It's expensive to get here but worth it. 
4. Friday/Saturday night are the best nights for going out. Trader Jacks has live music on a Friday then people head over to whatever bar then rehab.
5. If you're going to do the cross island walk, best to go with a guide.  We did it without and after speaking with other people I think you'd get more from it with one of the colourful guides.  Beware, it is thick jungle in parts and pretty steep so may not be suitable for everyone.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank neila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife tracey and I were 1st time travelers,we could not have had or wished for a better place to go.Paul and michelle made us feel like we were old friends.the room was very clean and tidy,meals were great and not expensive,all staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.A very relaxed atmosphere.we both can not wait to go back asap.A big thank you to paul and Michelle for ane awesome time

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just stopping by for a meal, the warm welcome from Paul and Michelle made us feel so welcome. More like we just came home for dinner rather than going out. Fantastic food, fantastic company and fantastic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaribouGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here over the Christmas break which happened to be my birthday. My partner had been in touch with Michelle prior to this to organise a birthday surprise for me which by all accounts Michelle went out of her way to help him with. The room was functional and extremely clean. Loved the spacious balcony for a drink in the evening. Also enjoyed the beachfront seats for the sunset. Continental breakfast in the morning was a lovely start to the day. Would love to return here some day and would highly recommend to other visitors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
3.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: $125 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FINALIST IN THE 2016 AIR NEW ZEALAND COOK ISLANDS TOURISM AWARDS Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing